We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chosun Seoul

Save Saved
You added The Westin Chosun Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 388 hotels in Seoul
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed there in early September and found it to be an excellent hotel. Comfortable rooms, great service and good (although expensive) food. Heated toilet seats too. One tip ... if you fancy a beer in your room there's a couple of convenience stores close by which saves a lot of money...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home .

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    392
    88
    27
    20
See reviews for
249
236
127
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

There is absolutely nothing to criticise at the Westin Chosun. Staff and service are outstanding. The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated without going over the top - in other words, you can actually sit and work at the desk etc.
Some of the usual downsides mentioned by others are easy to avoid - the price of food in the hotel is typical in Seoul, and there are plenty of great eateries nearby, including the very handy Lotte foodhall and Lotte foodcourts. The location in this part of northern Seoul is handy for business near Euljiro, Seoul Station etc, though if you are working or visiting Gangnam or parts of the south side, it is quite far to travel. Overall, an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

It was our pleasure you stayed with us.
Thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home .

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very covenient location for shopping! Nice rooms, clean but expensive. Club lounge was filled with diplomats and always crowded. Slightly chaotic breakfast scene, machine brews one cup of coffee at a time, which created back ups every morning. Limited fruit choices, and a little stingy with the amount of food on a tray, which created long waits for the desired items.

Would stay there again due to the clean rooms, and the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a Shrine view room, quieter......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul.

Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

All your comments have been reported to our management, and all the corrective actions have been made accordingly and I would extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with us.
To enhance the satisfaction for our guests all staffs are committed to improving the services.

Thank you again for your bringing these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun Seoul, associates will truly welcome you again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

There are a number of the previous reviews that speak to the hotel description and aesthetics. We stayed on the lounge level. The services available were great and the staff was very customer-friendly. There were a number of comments in previous reviews about the breakfast and happy hour being overcrowd. Please keep in mind that the hotel is located in the center of the business district. You can expect the lounge to be busy, but we were never rushed and were always accommodated. It's a great hotel and great place to stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

All your comments have been reported to our management, and all the corrective actions have been made accordingly and I would extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with us.
To enhance the satisfaction for our guests all staffs are committed to improving the services.

Thank you again for your bringing these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun Seoul, associates will truly welcome you again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed in Westin Chosun because we are having a business briefing in the hotel hence i didn't had much time in assessing all the aspect of the hotel. But here are some of the positive pointers:
- Great location
As most reviewers mentioned, the Myeong-dong shopping street is just 10mins away.

- Great service (staff)
From my brief experience with the staff at the front desk / concierge or customer services - they are professional, helpful and able to converse in decent English.

- Room (average)
Ok, here's aspect that pulled down the scoring. Given the price, the room isn't the most impressive. Its decent but didn't wow. BUT, they had a nice in-house coffee machine (you can be your own barista) and nice layout of their toiletry set.


Conclusion: Yes - the rate is steep (but Korea isn't the cheapest holiday destination), but i still think the hotel is worth every dollar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home .

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The room and public spaces were adequate but lack charm. Housekeeping was somewhat slapdash, e.g. they forgot turndown service one evening and the bathroom counters were never cleaned. The breakfast buffet on the 20th floor was noisy and too crowded. On the other hand, the gym and swimming pool were very nice. The location is convenient but Seoul has an excellent subway system and taxicabs are plentiful. We'll choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.
And I would extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with, especially for the housekeeping.
Your comments have been copied to our executive housekeeper, and we will seek to the best solutions for this as soon as possible. Careful room inspection should be made from bed linen to the every corner of the room, carpet to ceiling.

Once again thank you for your brining these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The luxury hotel is situated at a fantastic location and next to City Hall subway.
Within walking distance from the hotel is the famous tourist attraction, Myeong-dong Fashion District and also the Dongdaemun Market which is a few subway stations away.
Within walking distance, you will find many fashion shops, shopping centres and eating shops which is awesome.

Hotel room cleanliness is tip-top, service of the staffs are great, room amenities are plenty and Wifi speed is fast in this hotel but chargable.
There are many restaurants within the hotel to choose from but we choose to eat outside around the hotel. Access to the Incheon Airport by Kal Limousine is easy, comfortable and affordable. (1hr 10mins)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Carol Choi / Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Chosun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Seoul

Address: 87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#9 Family Hotel in Seoul
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Seoul 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Westin Chosun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Seoul Hotel Seoul
Westin Chosun Hotel Seoul
Westin Seoul
Seoul Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chosun Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.