We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chosun Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Chosun Seoul to your Saves list
The Westin Chosun Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location and nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice overall stay, with many of the benefits of a western hotel. Rooms are a good size, and beds are comfy. Restaurants are good and the staff is very helpful. They helped me set up a great tour of the DMZ, which was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    438
    93
    28
    21
See reviews for
273
260
137
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I visit this hotel from time to time for business for 2-3 nights each time and I always speechless from the amazing service, rooms and everything that you looking in hotels.
The location is good for the north side of Seoul but if you need the south area it's far.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Westin Chosun would be at the top of my list for a return visit to Seoul. I stayed there on two occasions, first in an older room and the second time in a newly refurbished room. Both stays were excellent, although now that I've experienced the newer room, I would insist on that. But, I found the older room to be perfectly adequate.

The service is top notch and the staff all speak pretty good to fluent English, making it very easy for an English speaking traveler. While others have called the rooms small, both of mine were as big as I needed them to be. Both were spotlessly clean and had nicely decorated bathrooms, although the newer room's bathroom was a clear cut above.

The location near City Hall is excellent and within walking distance of a number of tourist sights such as the Gyeongbokgung Palace, Deoksugung Palace, several art museums, Insadong, and the Namdaemun Market and Gate. It also has access to underground shopping malls and is right next to the Lotte Department Store. The KAL limo bus stops there regularly and metro stops are a very short walk.

The only drawbacks were the obnoxiously high prices for room service, the hotel restaurants, and the in-room wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear our guest,

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Travelling to Korea was not my first experience, but i guess i made a wrong decision when i decided to try another hotel beside Grand Hyatt, Lotte and Park Hyatt.

One of my consideration is location, i have chose Westin due to my meeting appointments will be around this hotel at this time

My flight was arrive in the morning, taking 1.5 hours from Incheon to the hotel, but by the time i arrive there still around 11am which i understand that the room is not ready! However, what surprised me that the one of the girl at front desk giving me advise to wait at the Starbucks which attached to the hotels instead of allowing me to wait at any restaurants or lounge, i was even asking whether i can use the gym or pool so i can rest for a while but she said so unfortunate we cannot allow any guest before check in, no solutions at all!

Most of the front dest staff is not friendly at all, never smile, i don't know if this is their culture or?

Another worst part, since my trip is a business trip, the company is equipped me with dollar cash, and for myself i won't use my credit card since i found there is always discrepency for the bank currency rate! Anyway, out of the room charge with 21 tax service, there is additional approximatelly US $ 200 for other expenses! This is so ridiculous, despite i chose my room rate package included Breakfast and Internet Access! i guess if somebody come for business trip, they will spend most of their time out of the hotel! Even at Grand Hyatt and Lotte they only required US $ 100/day!

I guess i have to think twice again to stay here, location wise is good but the room seems so tired, small, only thing impressed me is their lobby, gym pool are newly renovated. Food and Beverage, Laundry, you better prepare yourself to PAY more, or adjust your budget because this hotel ridicolously EXPENSIVE!

I probably wanna see experience the Plaza Hotel which is the opposite of this hotel, looks nice and location wise is perfect!

Room Tip: * If you travelling with limited budget, don't even try to stay at this hotel * Location is per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear our guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.
And I would extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with, especially for the front desk and extra charge for laundry and restaurants.
Your comments have been copied to the front desk manager and we will seek to the best solutions for this as soon as possible and the front desk staffs will be trained again.

Once again thank you for your brining these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is well located for walking and public transport. The rooms are very nice. The service is excelent . The breakfast is great. Internet is free in the lobby but quite expensive in the room. We stayed twice last October and will stay again in our next trip to Seoul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear our guest,

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here but I struggled to get the temperature right in the room. The breakfast is fantastic, among the best.
The room was good and don't you just love the heated toilet seats !
Location was good for business and shopping.
Good barbecue restaurant right next door.
There is an iPhone in the room to help stay connected. Take it with you to avoid the problem of your phone and blackberry not working.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear our guest,

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. Thank you for bringing your blackberry matters to our attention and all your comments have been reported to our management. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

i recommend this hotel especially during winter...very close to Lotte Department Store, Myeondong and underground shopping. There is a Starbucks right outside the hotel . It is very convenient because the airport limousine stops here every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear our guest,

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Chosun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Seoul

Address: 87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#5 Family Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#17 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Chosun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Seoul Hotel Seoul
Westin Chosun Hotel Seoul
Westin Seoul
Seoul Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chosun Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.