We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seoul Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chosun Seoul

Save Saved
You added The Westin Chosun Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 388 hotels in Seoul
Moradabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seoul Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went for a winter holidaywith my husband and child 12yrs old from 25th December,12 to 4th Jan 2013.
The stay at the hotel was excellent. very nice restaurants.we dined at their cantonese,Japnese and italian restaurant.We are allergic to onion and Garlic and they did their best to provide us with the meal at all three .every thing was good,the staff was also too courteous and helpful.There was only one person who was a bit rude at their guest service desk named OCEAN LEE.
either he had some problem with us -the indians or was never too intersted in helping out.his over all behaviour was not welcoming,he always showed that he was busy with something else and had no interest in helping out with our querys.But over all a nice hotel with nice location.Rooms are a bit small for the price and long stay especially if you need an extra bed too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.


Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    392
    88
    27
    20
See reviews for
249
236
127
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
guangzhou
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of downtown and means you can walk around between many of the touristy areas. Rooms are older style, but beds comfortable and all clean. We were upgraded on check-in to an executive suite (we had booked a junior suite, as we needed an extra bed and previous reviews suggested the standard rooms were too small) so that was a great surprise.
Breakfast is excellent, loads of choice. The breakfast room was just a bit too hot in our view, as we were all layer up to explore the city, so a couple of degrees cooler would have been good for us. Staff are great, very helpful and freindly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.


Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on 3-5Jan13 with a good promo rate with free extra bed for my kid and free wifi in the room. Nice hotel with nice location with Myeong Dong and Lotte dept store just steps away which very convinient to get some foods and drinks. Nice staff with quick respond and the airport bus go directly to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.


Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent a long weekend at this hotel from 14th to 18th December 2012 with my wife and friends. Had a suite on the Executive club on the 19th floor, the room was good, bedding nice. There is a turndown service but did not use it.
The Executive club was open from 5.00 till 8.00pm and had all kinds of wine & whisky etc. Self service snacks were nice. Breakfast in the club was very good but for a wider choice the restaurant downstairs is exceptional.
The Hotel is very central and the large Lotte Super store is next door so are some very good restaurants and many shops etc. The open very large market is about 15 minutes walk away.
Loved the Gym and Sauna etc.

Room Tip: Large Central Hotel with 2 entrances, Nice service but a little expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.



Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is my 4th stay at the Westin in as many months and I get more disappointed with every stay.

I travel to Seoul on business and my stays are between 7 and 10 days so some hotel room space is therefore appreciated. It have just arrived for another 10 day say and it seems that the more often you stay at the hotel and the higher your SPG status, the smaller the room they give you. Be very careful when booking as some of the rooms are extremely small, even on the Executive Club floors. I have a wardrobe with enough space to hang 6 pants and shirts, hardly enough space for a 10 day stay. It may be that I have just returned from a stay at the Four Seasons on Hong Kong at roughly the same rate as the Westin, but but the rooms at the Westin feel rather "Hilton" like to me. No proper headboard, no bedside lamps and no curtains. Not what you would expect from a Westin.

The executive lounge and gym/spa is a plus and the service and staff are extremely helpful and friendly, but it's time to move on!

Room Tip: Some rooms are extremely small and certain rooms have no curtains, bedside lamps and soft headboards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

All your comments have been reported to our management, and all the corrective actions have been made, accordingly.

To enhance the degree of satisfaction for SPG elites to our property, we will discuss and study your precious opinions .

Thank you again for your bringing these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun Seoul, associates will truly welcome you again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent a weekend, Friday and Saturday at the hotel celebrating with my wife. The rooms are well furnished, modern, clean and very comfortable. We booked into a Executive Club room, so we had access to the Club Lounge. The snacks during the day in the lounge were sparce, but between 5PM - 8PM, they have a good range of light food and good range of drinks. Certainly makes the premium you pay for for Executive Club, well worth it. Get there early to ensure getting a good table. Breakfast in the lounge is very good, you also get access to the main Breakfast resturant for free breakfast of you are in an Executive Club room, but get there early on weekends, as the main breakfast resturant had a queue when we arrived there at 9.30AM on Sunday morning, and we had to retreat to the Club Lounge for breakfast.

Location of the hotel is great if you want to explore downtown Seoul, with palaces in easy walking distance and the new City Library is just a few minutes walk away. Whilst hotel is expensive, but then is all the downtown 5 star hotels, it makes for a great stay and well worth it if you are celebrating something special with that special person in your life.

Room Tip: Executive Club Floor is well worth the extra cost, ask for room facing the mountains and palaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.


Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Westinn Seoul is remake in the oldest hotel in Seoul.
Wonderfull in all aspect, located in the old part of Seoul is well served by all transportation facilities.
Nice restaurants lobby, gim, pool, bar ect. Litle expensive..

Room Tip: Best for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.


Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Chosun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Seoul

Address: 87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#9 Family Hotel in Seoul
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Seoul 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Westin Chosun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Seoul Hotel Seoul
Westin Chosun Hotel Seoul
Westin Seoul
Seoul Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chosun Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.