We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for non-Korean speaker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chosun Seoul

Save Saved
You added The Westin Chosun Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 388 hotels in Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay for non-Korean speaker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Trip with mother who is unwilling to travel on a package tour to HK, and is fussy about everything.

Since parent wanted to go sightseeing in Seoul and Mt Seorak, concierge is key.

Tried getting Grand Hyatt and Westin Chosun concierges to give some advice before booking (no status in either); the Hyatt concierge never returned my emails, the Westin concierge set me up on day tours. So Westin it is.

On arrival, the chatty concierge (sorry really should've remembered her name - was it Kiyee?) engaged my mum in conversation and in minutes they've replaced my Kimho car hire to Mt Seorak with a chauffeured car. What a relief...

Rooms were fantastic
- there's even a Korean iPhone in the room - didn't have to hunt down a phone in ICN. Everything there to please a fussy mum - and she didn't even complain about her feared heating (well, she opened the windows)

We didn't get to sample the full extent of restaurants in the hotel because mum got a massive boil under her tongue just before the trip, but she found enough foods she can eat in Aria. Food always a concern because of ongoing stomach problems for her.

This hotel is one of the few hotels that would make her want to visit somewhere she originally was worried about again! On departure day she was already asking Kiyee about the Cherry Blossom season next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    392
    88
    27
    20
See reviews for
249
236
127
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located just right near the subway and the Lotte department store where you’ll need a few minutes walking.
Rooms are clean and comfort. Services are great as they’ve helped me a lot with my personal requests.
If you stay in the suite facing south then you be able to see the beautiful lights of N Seoul Tower in the night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south for the night view of N Seoul Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

In it's public spaces, restaurants, gym, pool, sauna, and art collection this hotel feels more like a four seasons or park hyatt than a Westin. My room was extremely nice as well, but the thing I enjoyed most about the hotel is it's location and service. Lots of Seoul's sightseeing and shopping is just outside the hotels doors. While the park hyatt (the other hotel I stayed at) is in a new city center, this hotel is in the old city center and so there's a lot more to see and do around it.
The third hotel I had considered, the Shilla is probably the most luxurious and refined in Seoul, but it's a bit isolated requiring a taxi or bit of a walk to get to anything not included in the hotel. Depending on what you're looking for the Westin, Park Hyatt, Grand Hyatt, or Shilla are all wonderful options--for the first time visitor, the Westin's location and helpful concierges makes it a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment. We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

When I arrived in Seoul last spring without securing a housing, my firm put me in this hotel. I stayed here for quite some time until I moved to a service apartment in Gangnam area, and I must say that I would recommend this hotel to any serious business travelers.

PROS

1. Location

The hotel location could not be better. It is in the center of all the actions - Myungdong, City Hall, Namdaemun, Kwangwhamun. It takes about 20 minutes to the Gangnam area by taxi.

2. Business facilities

This hotel has almost everything a business traveler would need. The business center would take care of a great deal of paper work - even scanning documents. It is like having your own administrative assistant.

3. Food

All in all, the food is very decent - on the same level as many five-star hotels in New York or Hong Kong.

4. Service

You can expect prompt service even in the middle of the night.

CONS

1. Space

This is a very compact hotel, unlike Grand Hyatt or Shilla, in a very crowded city center. They do have a small garden, but this hotel is not for nature lovers or even relaxed holiday visitors. .Rooms are decent but space is not the forte of this hotel.

2. Atmosphere

If you stay at the lobby on a busy day for a few hours, you will end up meeting almost all investment bankers and foreign corporate lawyers in town. Now you may like the proposition but personally I am not thrilled at the prospect and that is the price you pay for picking the most serious business hotel in town. If you are on holidays or with kids, you may find the ambiance a bit too formal and serious for you.

I cannot comment on the price, since the expenses have been taken care of by my firm. But I would presume it is similar to other premium business hotels in Seoul.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkim7019, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

All your comments have been reported to our management, and all the corrective actions have been made, accordingly.

To enhance the degree of satisfaction for leisure guest with children, various kinds of giveaway amenities have been designed and operation logistics have been studied.

Thank you again for your bringing these matters to our attention, and we, all our Westin Chosun Seoul, associates will truly welcome you again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is in a good location and is typically sold out. As a result, I think they don't have to try to go the extra mile. Kids under 14 are not allowed in the club lounge. They charge extra for double occupancy rather than single occupancy. A child breakfast buffet is approximatley 33 USD, for any child older than 3 years old. For that price, you would expect a very special breakfast buffet, but it was pretty ordinary for hotel breakfast buffet. We were waiting in the concierge line for 15 minutes with free front desk staff, who did not come over to offer to help. We made a special request that every other starwood property in Asia has accomodated, but they said no. I really do think this hotel is geared to the business travler, because even the toiletries in the junior suite (Hermes) smelled like men's aftershave. However, all the employees have been courteous, and I would rate this hotel a 3.5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy서울, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your taking time to review about your recent stay with us.
Your comments have been copied to our management, and we will more than welcome you and your son, even less than 14 years. We decided to build a PDR for our family guest so that family guest could enjoy themselves without being disturbed by others.

And also I would like to extend our deepest apology for keeping you waiting at the front desk for 15 minutes. We will try always to be in alert to provide best service for our guest.

Regarding child breakfast buffet, this also has been forwarded to our DOFB, and we will come to the reasonable results sooner or later.

Once again, thank you very much for your review, and we, all our Westin Chosun Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is very good, in particular:
- Great interiors
- Excellent customer service
- Outstanding views and location
- Amazing breakfast, probably the best I have ever seen

The only comment I have is the price, which is very expensive. Even internet use is charged... but okay..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy서울, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your compliment. And we, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was there at a conference and happened to stay there. The place is quite nice, location is excellent, everything is so close and walkable. Staff is excellent. Service standards are up tp mark. Its a nice big hotel, slightly on the costly side. All rooms have good view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy서울, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your compliment. And we, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again.

Douglas Kim / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Chosun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Seoul

Address: 87 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-070, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#9 Family Hotel in Seoul
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Seoul 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Westin Chosun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Seoul Hotel Seoul
Westin Chosun Hotel Seoul
Westin Seoul
Seoul Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Chosun Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.