We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shilla Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Shilla Seoul to your Saves list
The Shilla Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202, Jangchung-dong 2-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-856 , South Korea   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 835 Reviews
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. The service impeccable. It's a close walk to shops and restaurants. The evening snack buffet makes for a full dinner. The breakfast buffet is fresh and tasty. I just love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    254
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
210
170
63
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had been staying at this hotel extensively while living in Hong Kong and visitng Seoul. Now I am living in Seoul but I still visit this hotel quite often for meetings. Shilla reminds me of Okura Hotel in Tokyo. Both hotels are landmark hotels known for great services and aging facilities. The hotel lobby is very impressive with traditional Korean ceiling but the rooms are in bad need of refurbishments. They may be comfortable, but hardly luxurious, especially compared to newer rivals such as Park Hyatt. If you expected some "Wow" factor from the price category it belongs to, you may be disappointed.

The location of this hotel, Jangchung-Dong, is in the middle of nowhere. You could take the ever ubiquitous Seoul taxi and travel easily to everywhere, but you are not exactly within a walking distance from any particular attractions. Climbing up to the front lobby area from the street level would take a good exercise. This is a huge hotel located at a hill top.

The strength of this hotel lies in services and restaurants. The Japanese restaurant is one of the very best in Seoul at least, with great sushi and sashimi dishes -- I guess the chef must be a top one from Japan. Services are impeccable. There is a nice duty-free shop in the hotel site as well.

There is an inhouse French brand spa ("Guerlain") with very nice views from the windows and facilities, but I was less impressed with the techniques of the therapists or the results especially considering the steep price. This is a decent spa, but there are better brand spa options in town such as the famous SKII spa (I have written a detailed review on this spa) if you do not mind travelling to Gangnam area.

All in all, I would rate this hotel between 3 stars and a half and 4 stars. With some renovation, this hotel has the potential to become much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Shilla is a very stylish and nice hotel.
The hotel is very nice and clean, the service was fantastic, the rooms all seemed to have a nice view and the gym/pool/spa was top of class.
I came on business and took the business package option. The extra price was very reasonable and deifinitely worth the extra money.
Next time around, I will stay at the Shilla again.

Room Tip: They are all good, but if you are travelling in connection with business, I recommend to choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is my first review on tripadvisor. I usually don't leave any reviews due to my laziness however I felt obliged to write something about the Shilla hotel.
My husband and I stayed there sometime at end of July in a club room. I would like to believe perhaps it was the school holiday period that the hotel reminded me of some kind of busy market place.
First of all the hotel still uses the old key system and they declined my request for an extra key/card for us.
I didn't understand why every single staff dressed up as CIA agent with earphones was constantly following me around and asking me where I was going and that I should be somehow directed everywhere I wanted to move inside the hotel until I realized that the hotel still uses this old key system so they were trying to control people from basically going up to the club floor.
The entire staff kinda annoyed me like hell with their pretentious smile as if they were trying to help me out by controlling every single move I was making inside the hotel.

Here is the list of the rest of the things that made my stay at Shilla as annoying as possible.

1. At the time of check we were told that the room was booked for one guest only. Fair enough this can happen. We sorted it out then when we got to the room and we realized that we had an extra bed made for us. So total 3 beds.

2. Since there was no card system the house keeper entered into our room without even knocking on the door twice in the afternoon while I was trying to get some sleep.

3. The swimming pool reminded me of an overcrowded public pool jam packed with screaming children and their parents. The pool area was invaded by the families with children from top to bottom.

4. Instead of having one large club lounge for all the guests the Shilla club lounge is kinda available on every club floor so the lounge is quite small and was ALWAYS full (even with young children). My husband and I had to go up and down the floors to find a lounge that had empty seats available.

5. The staff in the club lounge is again very controlling. You can't get the drink yourself. You have to wait until they bring it to you. If you don't listen to them, you will be told off (in a passive aggressive way). I asked if I could take a can of coke with me to the room, the staff told us that we are not allowed to take any drinks outside the lounge. (very inflexible)

6. Shilla duty free shop next door was like a jam packed night market. I got dizzy after 10 minutes in the shop. Will never go there again.

7. There is an extra lounge area for club guests downstairs. We wanted to check the place out since they had more variety of food. As we tried to enter I was told one of us was not in their system so instead of them trying to sort out what happened to the booking, they told us to kindly go back up and sort the business out before we could enter to their lounge. (pathetic service)

8. My husband was smoking in THE LIBRARY (the bar downstairs), brown colored cigarette and the staff told him he was not allowed to smoke cigars. We told her it wasn't a cigar.

Overall, I just remember being super uncomfortable with the pretentious staff who were constantly following us around and trying to control everything we did. There were more things that they told us they could not accommodate us than anything we were allowed to do.

I really did not enjoy my stay there. No matter how stylish the interior/decor was, they should really learn what 5 star customer service should be. It goes beyond someone wearing a nice uniform and showing off their language skills.

The Shilla is just over rated, pretentious and uncomfortable. Unless someone offered the room for free or change the management system, I would not return there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

As mentioned by other posters, the service was great. Checked in at 3am and still was provided an excellent service.

As an architect and interior designer, i know when i say that the room (or at least the one we stayed at) needs to be refurbished. Compare to the nice looking public areas, the room seem a bit out dated.

Being a fan of cigar, i was relieved to see davidoff store in the lobby, but unfortunately, there was no place for me to enjoy my cigar. Either i take it outside or don't smoke. Understandable, but not enjoyable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Not sure I can add much that hasn't been said about this hotel. The service of this hotel is outstanding, you can tell that all, from front desk to bell hop to the lady in the cigar shop truly pride themselves in service, which is being very rare these days. Even at the top end of hotels, you can always find a little service issue somewhere, but I couldn't find any. They seem genuinely eager and happy to serve. How does Shilla do that?

The hotel is NOT right on the street, but getting taxi was very easy and quick and the taxi here is inexpensive (there are 2 classes, the better class is 2x the rate, but still very reasonable for a big city). Don't expect to walk out from hotel door to right on the street, it's a 5 min walk to the street, but no need to walk, the bell hop is quick to get you a taxi right to front door of hotel. Namsan (cable car), Myongdong area (shopping, street vendors, street foods) and IsoDong area (crafts shops, street vendors and street foods), and also a few of the palaces are all 10 min taxi ride away from hotel.

There are a few issues I have, one is the the breakfast included if you stayed on the executive floors can be a bit of a zoo and the variety is low (compared to Shangri-la breakfast), but the service staffs were very prompt and apologetic when we couldn't find seats (they put us in a conference room next door and apologize profusely). Second is the concierge, although very helpful, wasn't very versed on the details of the National Chuseok holiday schedule, they told us that there were going to be changing of the guards at one of the palace and we went there and waited and waited and gave up after an hour. Finally, some of the furnishings in the rooms we were in were worn and need replacing. The room our children stayed in had heated bathroom seats and ours didn't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A 5 star hotel with traditional korean decoration. The room was not huge but it was way big enough for me by myself. very nice hotel set on a small hill!
I would recommend this hotel if you are able to get a bit of discount.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shilla Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shilla Seoul

Address: 202, Jangchung-dong 2-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-856 , South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seoul
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#8 Family Hotel in Seoul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shilla Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilla Seoul represents the best hotel in Korea, with contemporary design blending well with traditional patterns and style used back in the Shilla Dynasty. Next to the main building stands the former guesthouse that was once used to welcome special guests from around the world. The main building is replete with restaurants offering outstanding international cuisine, a shopping arcade featuring global brand goods, a pool, and a luxurious spa while in a separate building within the property lies a grand duty-free shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Shilla Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shilla Seoul Hotel Seoul
Shilla Hotel Seoul
The Shilla Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shilla Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.