We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an excellent hotel to stay in, while in Seoul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shilla Seoul

Save Saved
You added The Shilla Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shilla Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202, Jangchung-dong 2-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-856 , South Korea   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 388 hotels in Seoul
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Still an excellent hotel to stay in, while in Seoul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed in one of the executive rooms (20th floor) which provides separate check in / check out service. Rooms were a bit more pricey this time around (~$300/night) due to several conventions in Seoul at the time and a last minute booking. Rooms are not as modern as in many other Gang Nam hotels, but I am still surprised at how clean and comfortable the rooms are. The service and professionalism at the hotel continues to be second to none in Seoul. Staying in the executive room provide complementary breakfast and happy hour on the 20th floor, but not access to the main morning buffet on the main floor. Did not have a chance to use the spa on this trip, but it is usually good. Location is serene, on top of a hill, but others should note that you really need to call a taxi if you want to go anywhere (although taxis are still very cheap in Korea - often between $3 - $10 for a trip, rarely over $10 even if traveling for over 30 min).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    240
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
195
158
53
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

As part of a work conference, I stayed at The Shilla last month. The hotel has excellent customer service, from the door greeters to the front desk staff to the restaurant staff. It has beautiful decor details, and I especially loved the spectacular chandelier in the lobby. On the hotel premises you can also appreciate a traditional Korean palace-like structure and we also had a reception in the beautiful garden. I also loved the bed and the down comforter... I slept like a baby. My room, on the 21st floor had a fantastic view of Seoul tower. Breakfast was also wonderful, and I especially liked the freshly baked croissants.
My only complaint is that internet was not complimentary. In this day and age, I still cannot understand why properties charge separate fees for internet.
Otherwise the experience was great and the hotel is very conveniently located, a short cab ride to the Dondaemon and Doosan Tower shopping areas. Be advised that if you take the limousine bus from Incheon Airport, it is a ride of approximately 90 mins.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is amazing and the services are even better! I extremely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed at the Shilla Seoul for a short weekend trip and was very impressed with the service. In particular, I reccomend having the hotel car service from the airport. Everything worked flawlessly and we were met by staff as the car pulled up and were shown directly to our rooms. The views from the hotel were most impressive. All in all, they did a fantastic job!! In sum, understated elegance with an impressive service culture.I highly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I was very jet lagged and put the do not distrub sign on my door. Housekeeping called me to ask if they could clean my room and I said I didn't need my room to be cleaned to also have all my calls go to voicemail as I would be sleeping and didn't want to be disturbed. A few hours later they called again and woke me up asking again whether they could clean my room and I again told them I didn't need my room to be cleaned and for them to put a do not disturb on my phone so all calls would go to voicemail.

They charge extra for the sauna. This is the first hotel I have been to that charges guests to use the sauna.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Service at Shilla is excellent and like much of South Korea, efficient, smooth and very personal! Everything from the driver that met me at the airport to check-in and the concierge offered top-notch service 24/7. The hotel has several great restaurants, a very nice library bar with superb live jazz nightly and stores nearby for convenient shopping. A for the location, the hotel lies in the outskirts of downtown. Its however only a short cab ride away or a few stops on the subway (which is located a few minutes away from the hotel). Thus the city is easily accessible from the hotel however still tucked away in a tranquil and quite area of Seoul. I had a room on the 18th floor with great views of the city. I recommend anyone staying at Shilla to get a room high as the views are very nice. The only downside to my stay was that the room I got was not in line with a five-star hotel. The room was old and a little worn and had most likely not seen any renovations for quite some time. The second thing that annoyed me was that breakfast was very scarce. It only offered cereals, bread and yoghurt with coffee and juice. Considering the standard of the hotel, I was expecting more choices for breakfast and not the minimum standard. But apart from that I can’t complain. Obviously the hotel is more business oriented, thus there are probably more romantic choice for couples. But for meetings and dinners with clients, it’s a great option.

Room Tip: Try to get on as high up as possible, the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was recently in Seoul for 5 nights' business, I stayed at the Shilla as we had a company event there.
First, the good - beautiful foyer, fantastic old buildings and manicured grounds. The event hall was also very nice, I was lucky enough to join a Korean rock group performance.
Breakfast buttet on the 1st floor was decent, but with very little variation from day to day, and nothing really exceptional either (I did enjoy the home made muesli though)

Now, the not so good.. The room I stayed in was on the 21st floor, the hotel has 22 floors, so I presume it was a decent 'class' of room.. It was clean and tidy and had all the basics one would need.
However, first impressions - mini bar and surrounding area absolutely jam-packed with things they want to sell you! It was like being in a 7/11 ! Ridiculous.
Amenities provided were quite basic too, soaps and shower gels just barely OK.
Furniture and trimmings also very old, not to mention the peeling and bubbling wallpaper..
This room was in serious need of an update.

How can I forget, the location is terrible too, not convenient for work, nor for shopping or entertainment.

Overall, nice 'fancy looking' hotel, but, look slightly beneath the surface (the public areas) and you will be sorely disappointed (the rooms)

I'll probably stay at the Westin again next time..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shilla Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shilla Seoul

Address: 202, Jangchung-dong 2-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-856 , South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seoul
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#8 Family Hotel in Seoul
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shilla Seoul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilla Seoul represents the best hotel in Korea, with contemporary design blending well with traditional patterns and style used back in the Shilla Dynasty. Next to the main building stands the former guesthouse that was once used to welcome special guests from around the world. The main building is replete with restaurants offering outstanding international cuisine, a shopping arcade featuring global brand goods, a pool, and a luxurious spa while in a separate building within the property lies a grand duty-free shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Shilla Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shilla Seoul Hotel Seoul
Shilla Hotel Seoul
The Shilla Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shilla Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.