We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but plenty of Soul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Seoul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Seoul Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Seoul Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237, Teheran-Ro, Gangnam-Gu, Seoul 135-915 , South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Old but plenty of Soul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights , this is a rare example of an older hotel that has been carefully cared for. Room style is a bit dated but they are exceptionally clean. Only minor quibble was that the aircon was a bit warm.

The staff are great, feels like they are a family that really cares about guests. Fantastic.

Location was good for me, was working in GFC. I guess tourist may not be so impressed, but Seoul has an excellent subway to get around.

This hotel is has poise and style, despite the fact that it is nearing the point that refurbishment is essential.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    224
    63
    18
    5
See reviews for
45
58
36
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was 8+ years last time I stayed here, it was old then. After 8 years, it is definitely VERY OLD. From the elevator, to room furniture, bed, bathroom, it is obviously over due for a major make over. For the price it charges, which is in the same range of JW or Ritz nearby, it really does not stand out of the competition.
Location wise, it's in the heart of Gangnam, very convenient if you are here for business; however, in such location it means you will suffer from the heavy traffic 24/7. Luckily, subway station is not very far -- about 5 to 10 mins walk. But be aware, it's all up-hill from hotel to the station.
And like most of high end hotels in Korea, the service is very good. Staffs are kind and willing to help. And it has a very good lounge; not big, but the food/drink served are good.
One thing I'd like to point out is it has one of best in-hotel Korean restaurants I've seen in numerous hotels I've stayed in Seoul. My wife is a native Korean and she loves it; there is a restaurant/bar/Karaoke street right behind the hotel, where you can find tons of different Korea food and drinks, which is very convenient. However, do give the on-site Korean restaurant a try if you are here!
Unless you are eyeing its location for business, I'd not recommend it because of the price and being a very old building itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is great for premier members. It has an excellent lounge and several unique services. They will actually press a suit for you in 2 hours for free! The rooms are above average but nothing special.

The service at this place is top notch. People everywhere you turn looking to help. The best part about this place is the top notch fitness center complete with a putting / chipping green. You can walk / jog around it or just observe from the fitness center machines.. Pretty unique and special.

Lastly.. Never take a taxi from incheon into Seoul. There are great limo buses that take you to most hotels for only 15k won, the bus was number 6703. Enjoy Gagnam style!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is easily accessible with bus 6703 from Incheon International Airport since the limousine bus stopped in front of the hotel, making it one of the reasons for biz travelers to select the hotel. The only downside it seems is that the frequency of the bus at a 30 minutes interval which could be unbearable if you are pressing for time. It 's of course not the hotel's fault so no complaint there. It's conveniently located at the Gang Nam area of Seoul and because of that, there are many Korean restaurants around the hotel within walking distance, making dining (and drinking!) an easy feat around the hotel.

Checking in and out of the hotel has to be one of the fastest I had ever experienced with any hotel. The staff was very prompt and did not require much other identification apart from the usual passport and credit card. Upon providing that, room key was almost instantly issued and I must say that I was truly amazed with the service of level over here.

The room was spacious. The only downside, as pointed out by many, is that the hotel required a major facelift almost immediately. The furniture can appear old and slightly outdated. For me, however, this did not damp my enthusiasm with staying in the hotel as I did not mind the rustic feel since it seems to be well-kept and clean. Having said that, a slight modern edge with newer modern furniture might heighten the hotel to a new level.

I had buffet breakfast for one of the mornings and again, impeccable service level by the staff. Despite the large crowd, I was led to an empty table, served coffee and attended to very quickly. Besides, as opposed to what many commented here, I found the selection of breakfast truly varied. Eggs prepared in several ways (including eggs benedicts served in two ways), noodles with multiple soups types, etc. I was genuinely spoilt for choices in a good way. My only regret was not to be able to experience the same breakfast again on the next day since I have to rush to the airport early.

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay with Renaissance Seoul Hotel. Simply charmed by its hospitality, ease and great breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It’s my third visit to the hotel over the last 4 years and nothing has change except from the pricing, where it has become more expensive. On the side road to the hotel is a seven eleven shop use this instead of the minibar. A beer taken in the minibar will cost you up to €10 vs KRW 15,000.
Internet connection work good and the speed are up to date for VPN or TV streaming.
The Hotel has a good standard and the service is good. The furniture is old fashion, but nice room with good space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed three nights at the hotel. Hotel is in a business area but cabs and subway are easy to get to. The staff was very good and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very nice. Gym was well appointed and everything worked and best of all it was open 24 hours a day! The Exec Lounge was very nice and had ok food, often too crowded as it was small. Will go back but prefer the JW as it seems newer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed here many times because of the location. Also on Priceline it was a great deal.
Would like to know why they have a five star rating now. There is no way this place can have this rating. The restrooms are small even for a four star rating.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Seoul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seoul Hotel

Address: 237, Teheran-Ro, Gangnam-Gu, Seoul 135-915 , South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seoul
#28 Business Hotel in Seoul
#35 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Seoul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Seoul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Seoul
Seoul Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Seoul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.