We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for business 4 nights. Before you can even get to the front desk or concierge, someone walks up to see how they can help you. Eating or drinking at the hotel (ie $200 sashimi platter, $23 US martini)is uber expensive, but top notch. Buffet is worth the $ and lots of high end seafood. There are great casual eateries connected to the hotel through a short indoor walk. Train or upscale bus (about $15 US) go directly from Incheon or Gimpo airport to the "Express Bus Terminal" right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    244
    49
    12
    10
See reviews for
120
128
57
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are big and comfortable. The bathrooms are also very comfortable. The hotel is next to a luxury department store. It has also a good location. The restaurants are excellent. The concierges are kindly and they are so helpful. They help me with one tour that I requested at the last moment and with my luggages. The front desk people are nice, they also explain you anything from the city and from the hotel. The lounge is located on the 30th floor so you also can have great city view. The breakfast time at the lounge is small but it is ok and if you are in a hurry it is the best way to get your breakfast. The only thing I didn't like, it is that it is far from the airport, I arrived at the rush hour and it took me more than one hour to get there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This JW Marriott is located perfect for our purposes:
** located within walking distance of the bus limousine stop - so even though we were first-timers in Seoul - we could take this mode of transportation without any worries
** walking distance to the subway
** located in a shopping area that had a mix of high-end retailers and a Korean department store with an awesome food court in its lower level. Food selection was extensive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was upgraded to a Junior Suite for 2 nights with my Platinum status. The room was extremely spacious, clean and enjoyable. The hotel is conveniently located above Shinsege (huge departmental store), Express Bus Terminal subway station which connects you to Lines 3, 7 and 9 on the subway and there is a non-stop airport limousine bus stop 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Hence, it is relatively convenient if you wish to explore the tourist attractions at the Gangnam area, such as N Seoul Tower, Insadong, Garosu-gil, Coex Mall, Apgujeong etc.The executive lounge served a pretty good spread of breakfast. Hotel staff that I interacted were all extremely nice, pleasant and helpful with good proficiency in English. My only lament was the lack of a kettle in the room. However, the staff were prompt in bringing me jugs of hot water whenever I dialed "At your service" and eventually gave me a kettle when one was available. It was a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Request for a room on high-floor with a view of the Han River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stay in the JW Marriott if-

1. You have access to their executive lounge.
This resembled a sort of airport first class lounge but was excellently stocked with a wide range of food for breakfast, snacks and evening food. The open bar was appreciated by many (read: we saw whisky being carted out secretly in paper cups!).

2. You have a family with children.
We had a very spacious junior suite. The bed was firm and comfortable, the living room was large enough for a roll away and sofa. The bathroom was large and everything was kept to a very clean standard. Housekeeping came very promptly, no one stinged on towels or pillows or blankets or bottled water. The only downside was the carpets and sofa were worn- clearly showing signs of age (faded and soft sofa).

3. You value efficiency.
The staff spoke very good English and we had no problem communicating our needs.

4. You need easy access to food outlets/ a mall or prefer to not have to take a cab out each time you need something.
The hotel is connected to a large mall and a Shinseage Department store. With small children in tow, in the middle of winter, it was a a relief to be able to simply put on a sweater and walk over for food or to window shop. The Department store pretty much has everything you need as well... or if you a luxury good shopper in search of brand names you might like this too.

5. You value indoor activities such as the use of an incredibly huge health club, indoor 25m (?) heated pool, indoor jacuzzi, table tennis and games court, indoor driving range....This was by far the most amazing health club we've seen in our extensive travels!!

Some pointers, or perhaps think twice about staying here if:

1. You don't like having kids running around the lounge!
The place had a lot of children rummaging at the lounge buffet and even changing the TV channel from CNN to Cartoon Network. One irate guest called for the Manager to complain about the number of kids with access to his "business lounge".

2. You are bothered easily at night by sounds
There was some music filtering over from a night club somewhere for a couple of hours each night. Not sure where the night club was but we could hear it from the 28th floor. We also could hear some sort of rumbling from our room, which sounded like an underground train.

We stayed previously in the Banyan Tree Seoul as well a couple of years ago and this was definitely a much better choice hotel for a family with young children.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from the rooms- we overlooked a bus terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My last night of a long 2 week trip Asia trip ended here. The front desk folks upgraded me to an exec suite which was fantastic. New furniture, multiple flat screens, extremely comfortable. The dinner in the lobby was expensive but the staff will make you just about anything you want. Wait people in the buffet resteraunt were very good. The lobby is getting a little dated but my room was fantastic. Service level here is high. Bed was supremely comfortable. Platinum guests get complementary overnight suit pressing and shoe shine, exactly what I needed after a long trip. Pressed my shirt as well overnight for less than $10. A great executive style stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was ten nights in this hotel attending a workshop. The hotel has all the conveniences expected from a 5 star hotel and is situated besides a department store and mall, which is great given that there is no other places to walk around. The hotel is distant from downtown, about a 10 to 15 minute cab ride. There is a subway station at the hotel though.
During my stay, service was excellent. As I am a Marriott member I enjoyed the free wi fi and access to the executive lounge in the 30th floor. I found the executive floor an excellent place to have business meetings. They offer meeting rooms for up to three hours, free of charge.
The hotel's gym is awesome. Very well designed in a circle overlooking the swimming pool. I was surprised to see the gym offers shorts and tee shirts to work out, which is very convenient.
The room was large, with good natural lighting and very nicely decorated with excellent work space (very ample and comfortable desk) and very good lighting. Definitely, a good place to stay for a workshop or business trip where you need top quality working conditions both in your room and in the hotel. Perhaps the only down-side is its location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Seoul
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#8 Family Hotel in Seoul
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within Central City, Korea's most extensive multi-purpose complex, featuring a prestigious Shinsegae department store, Go-To Mall underground shopping arcade, a large multiplex movie theater and more and with three subway lines directly linked, the JW Marriott Seoul is in many ways the new heart of Seoul. St. Mary’s Hospital and Banpo Hangang River Park lie just a short distance away and the expressway leading to Gyeonggi-do Province, the heart of Korea's semiconductor industry, begins just next to Central City. JW Marriott Seoul is perfect for discerning travelers. Boasting large, luxurious guest rooms and free internet access for Marriott Rewards members, the hotel houses one of Asia’s most comprehensive fitness centers, the Marquis Thermal Spa and Fitness Club, spanning three floors. With multiple restaurants and bars, versatile meeting rooms and banquet spaces also, the JW Marriott Seoul has so much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.