We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 390 hotels in Seoul
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Stayed at Park Hyatt last year and it thoroughly disappointed. The JW Marriott Seoul has numerous dining options from a deli with croisaant and sandwiches to the JW Grill with white linen table cloths. Rooms have been updated and are comfortable. Service is attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    246
    49
    12
    10
See reviews for
122
128
57
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel, very conveniently located right next to metro station (the name of the station is Express Bus Terminal. Tip: try to remember the way you enter, so you will know where to exit. Your exit is number 3, your rough orientation- line number 7. Seoul metro system is superb, very clean, safe and comfortable, quicker than taxi. Plus, if you are a tourist – this is interesting!).
The hotel itself is exactly what you expect from JW Marriott from all points of view: cleanness, service, design (well, except for the white goat heads everywhere, which gives a feel of shaman house (associations: death, ritual killings, fear, unsafety – definitely a wrong message for the hotel), and absolute dissonance with a general hotel style).
Rooms are comfortable and clean, everything as you expect from your JW Marriott. My only complain is noisy locks in the bathroom, so it will not give you opportunity to use this room and lock-unlock the door if your roommate is sleeping. The same situation is with the entrance door.
Executive Lounge will serve your business needs (no scanner, however) and to serve good food. What you probably will not expect from BL is a number of children at the breakfast during a weekend. Korean parents seem not to discipline children at all, so they are noisy and misbehaving. I do not really understand why small children are permitted in Bl at all – but this is a different question. The lounge was very busy anytime, evenings and mornings, sometimes with no place to sit. Overcrowded all the time. Some other JWMs offer breakfast at the restaurant, knowing the situation. Hopefully, the management will read my review and start thinking about it. Well, maybe if to get rid of prostitutes in the Lounge it gives some additional space for the guests as well? Just a though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family was stranded in Seoul on our return trip from China to New York City due to Hurricane Sandy and we decided to stay 2 days in Seoul to wait for our re-booked flight. We picked a familiar name, JW Marriott, to stay. We booked a concierge room for $480 a night. the room was nice and had a great river view. I would have given the hotel a 5-star rating but for this little petty hotel policy: The hotel charged us 25,300KRW (about $25USD) for a small tube of toothpaste! Motel 6 would have offered us free toothpaste. I laughed out loud at the casher behind the check out counter, but she doesn't seem to know what was so funny.

Make sure to bring your own toothpaste if you stay in this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

There are many reasons this hotel is numero uno in Seoul!!! From my first encounter with the hotel staff, a welcome note from Ashley, to the goody-bye from Peter, the Guest Services Manager, every one at this JW tried to make sure this would be a memorable trip - and it was. The staff are uniformly friendly, yet very professional. The staff in the lounge wrote directions for us, in Korean, just in case we got lost. Every detail was attended to. The room was very comfortable and immaculate. Love the Toto commode - getting one for our house! Offerings in the lounge were excellent quality and introduced us to Korean cuisine. The Marquis is the best fitness facility I have ever used. The location is perfect - above a subway so you do not have to sit in traffic. My husband and I hope to be able to return. To the entire staff: Kamsahamnida!!!!

Room Tip: high floor give best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had a short stay at the JW Marriott Hotel recently.

The hotel is conveniently located for central areas of Seoul, and sits right above a subway station. Options to and from the airport are a bit more hit and miss, but a taxi is not too expensive.

The room was very well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was of a good size and well fitted out.

It was the service though that made this stay for me. The concierge was excellent, and when my door handle broke it had been mended within minutes.

Marriott Rewards members can get free wifi - something many places still charge through the roof for. This worked fine in the room.

I'd certainly choose this hotel if I were to be in Seoul again.

Room Tip: Choosing a high room may offer a decent view. I was at the back though; assume the front would look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights on a business trip, we didn't spend that long in the hotel during the trip, but I will give my experience of the aspects I did see.

First, breakfast - this was pretty good even by international standards I thought, wide range and good quality ingredients.

The room was ok, medium sized and well appointed. Took a couple of minutes to figure out that one of the lights could only be controlled from the alarm clock (which itself was a bit dated and not as modern as most hotels now offer). The bed was very comfortable, there was a fairly standard selection of TV channels and there was good connectivity to the TV with cables provided to connect your laptop etc. Bathroom was large with lots of mirrors and a control panel on the side of the toilet which was new to me!

The bars - mixed bag here, fairly expensive but pleasant. In the piano bar in the atrium there was a live pianist and double bass combo on the first evening who were quite good. This bar closed at 1, and bar rouge downstairs closed the latest at 2, I was surprised that a hotel of this level didn't have a 24hr bar.

On our last evening we went in to the piano bar at about 12:20 but were almost warned away with the waitress telling us it was closing at 1, we only really wanted a snack and a coffee before bed and figured that 40 minutes was plenty of time but the waitress didn't seem to agree! We were also told that we couldn't order any food as they stopped serving at 11, luckily I had seen the room service menu and knew that all of the items on the bar's snack menu could be ordered 24hrs a day to your room, and after offering to go to my room and order the food to be delivered to the bar they relented and allowed us to order some food. They didn't have coffee on their menu though and refused to get it from anywhere else.

Room service - I ordered a burger one evening before we went to the basketball, when ordering they forgot my coke and couldn't give me any more of an idea about how long it would take other than reading out the "up to 45 minutes" line that I had already seen in the menu. The Marriott Burger was really good though, as were the chips that accompanied it. It didn't seem too expensive either considering.

The view - in a hotel this tall I expected it to be pretty amazing but there is no bar/public area on the higher floors of the hotel so staying on the 10th floor (out of 34) I was a bit disappointed with the view. A bit of exploring turned up a window in the stairwells at each end of the hotel and although this is a bit obscured on the 24th floor it's fine on the 33rd floor. Not really anywhere to sit and watch it, but enough to see it and take a couple of photos.

Sports facilities in the basement were impressive with a large pool and gym. Shorts and t-shirts were provided too which was new for me.

Check-in was fast enough and I was enrolled in the Marriott Club so I could get free wifi at the suggestion of the assisstant which was a good touch. Check-out was smooth too, although there was no option for express check-out by e-mail or paper like many hotels have these days.

Overall, the hotel is probably worthy of 4/5 but the service let it down so it only gets 3/5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I lived in Seoul for several years before leaving in 2004 and have been back multiple times. We decided to stay at the J W Marriott because it was actually cheaper than the other comparable hotels. The quality of the rooms are on par with the Chosen, Shilla, Intercontinental, Hilton, Hyatt. The service was excellent, a concern because in general I felt that customer service in Korea overall had fallen... From taxis to dining. The staff's English ranged from fair to excellent. Only rarely did I have to use Korean in order to communicate.
I called in advance and was able to have flowers ready for my wife, a rollaway bed was prepared as requested, and the wifi was free with a Marriott membership, with sign up at the front desk.
The location is difficult to beat, aside from the hotel restaurants, the hotel is attached to Shinsegae department store... Very upscale... And to the Seoul Express Bus terminal with all of the smaller shops, coffee houses, cheaper restaurants and convenience stores. There are some nicer Korean restaurants (but not overpriced) in a neighboring building. The only thing missing is a casino and a duty free shop. If these are more important to you, you can stay at the Lotte (lower quality hotel), the Intercontinental ( in the convention area, more expensive, smaller rooms) or the Sheraton Wlaker Hill / W (way way out of the way). The Marriott is located south of the river a short distance away from both the COEX convention areas and the downtown / cultural / shopping area in the other direction. For military folks, it is just across the river from Yongsan base... Not more than $3-4 taxi ride.
The only negative thing I can mention is the exchange rate at the hotel is pretty bad... You know it's bad when the rate is better at the airport and at the casinos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Seoul, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Hello this is Matthew Cooper, new General Manager at JW Marriott Seoul. I appreciate your time to share your comments with us and look forward to your return in the future. Please feel free to connect with me before your next stay on contactus.jwseoul@marriott.com.

Kindest regards,

Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Luxury, Airport...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Lotte Hotel Seoul
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#4 of 390 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Restaurant, Qui...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Seoul D Cube City Hotel
Restaurant, Qui...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Ro...
Show More
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
#17 of 390 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.5 mi away
THE PLAZA
THE PLAZA
#11 of 390 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Spa, Free inter...
Show More
4.6 mi away
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Seoul
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#7 Family Hotel in Seoul
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within Central City, Korea's most extensive multi-purpose complex, featuring a prestigious Shinsegae department store, Go-To Mall underground shopping arcade, a large multiplex movie theater and more and with three subway lines directly linked, the JW Marriott Seoul is in many ways the new heart of Seoul. St. Mary’s Hospital and Banpo Hangang River Park lie just a short distance away and the expressway leading to Gyeonggi-do Province, the heart of Korea's semiconductor industry, begins just next to Central City. JW Marriott Seoul is perfect for discerning travelers. Boasting large, luxurious guest rooms and free internet access for Marriott Rewards members, the hotel houses one of Asia’s most comprehensive fitness centers, the Marquis Thermal Spa and Fitness Club, spanning three floors. With multiple restaurants and bars, versatile meeting rooms and banquet spaces also, the JW Marriott Seoul has so much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.