We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful premises, nicest breakfast ever, fantastic spa and gym” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Geneva
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful premises, nicest breakfast ever, fantastic spa and gym”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Staff is extremely friendly and my room on the 18th floor was comfortable, well furbished and very clean. Room 1807 looked out on the river and was very close to the elevator.
I used the gym which was nice...I like running and there was an adequate number of machines...I don't do any other machines and am therefore not able to judge their quality and quantity, however, the gym is very big and I am sure there were places I didn't see.
I also used the spa (a japanese style bath) which was very luxurious, with body, face and hair products at the disposal of visitors.

I particularly liked the breakfast buffet, which was both generous (both Asian and Western style foods) and extremely tasty.

The hotel is right next to the Express Bus Terminal and the bus from the airport brings you in 1 hour from door to door.
Also, two major subway lines meet there and with it it is very easy to reach all parts of the city. Tickets are extremely affordable and one avoids major traffic jams. Since everything is in Korean, I found it useful to orient myself using the station numbers, which can also be found above the doors to the trains ( both the station you are in and the number of the next station are indicated), this way you know where you are and where you are going.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    243
    49
    12
    10
See reviews for
119
128
57
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

This my 5th visit to Seoul but first stay at the Marriot. Location wise, you can't fault it. Very easy to get in and out with tube and bus station close by. I used a hired car. Since the hotel is very close to Han river, you can easily get to othe side of town.
Has Shisegae mall linked to the hotel. Outside the hotel, there are plenty of food outlets and shops to keep you busy. Itewon is 10 minutes away across the river. The Japanese restaurant is very good. Stayed at the top floor and got a fabulous view of the city. The executive lounge is good as in other Marriotts.
Service was exemplary, throughout the stay. We asked a few directions from the concierge and he was very helpful.
Overall, recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I like room decorate and bath room design.Room can see rainbow bridge at night. Breakfast variety..so happy !!!!...I feel good with staff. I hope next year i will back again..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is a great hotel whether you are here on business or here for pleasure. The hotel is located and attached to 3 subway lines (line 3, line 7 and line 9), the express bus terminal and a large underground shopping mall and Shinsagae department store ( which includes a grocery store in its basement). We stayed on the 30th floor with a great view of the river and Seoul Tower and had access to the executive lounge right down the hall. Having access to the executive lounge was such a bonus as we were there every morning for breakfast and every evening for cocktails and appetizers and, later in the evening, dessert ( which saved us bundles and gave us a nice gathering spot with co-workers). It was also nice to be able to use the computers and printers in the lounge to print off directions, boarding passes, etc. we stayed here for 8 nights and although it is a large hotel, the attention is very personal. They remember your face, your name and your preferences and always greet you with a smile. it makes it a nice place to come "home" to at the end of the day. The fitness facilities and pool were terrific and if you forget to bring a t-shirt or shorts, no problem because they have workout clothes available (nice when you want to limit what you need to pack or don't want to shove stinky clothes back into your bag). I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: River view, upper floor, access to executive lounge
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days. Overall it is good, I definitely will recommend it. Room is spacious and well decorated. Staff services were awesome, speak English, has no problem in communication at all even I don't know a single Korean word except kam Sam mi ta.
During my trips, I order a beef korean dish from the hotel restaurant, may be the beef meat was not fresh or whatever reason, the meat was stink to eat. I didn't touch the whole dish and finished the drink then called for the bill. The waitress saw I didn't touch the dish at all, asked me for a reason, and I told her it was a bit stink. She refunded the dish for me even I didn't ask for it. It was great for her to do that. I was pleased. Another thing, was I booked a DMZ tour
from the hotel, I left my sunglasses in the bus. By the time I got back to my hotel room, I saw
my sunglasses has been returned, isn't that awesome!!
The location is not bad, even though nothing interesting around but it is above the subway station, I can conveniently went everywhere I wanted. And the bar rouge served good wine with good ambience. Overall, I have a happy stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed several times in this hotel during my visits in Seoul and every time I tried another place I end up going back to JW Mariott. The location is very central. The shopping mall offers great variety of F&B options and shops are also quite nice there. The F&B in hotel is also very good. Obviously the room rates are high, which might be quite difficult to justify for business trip options. I am sure you will be happy both with the stay and with the service over all. The rooms are spacious, the service is good and the gym is fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We loved this hotel, the rooms were beautiful,the beds comfortable and the staff were friendly. Its close to the metro and bus station and has a grocery store downstairs that was amazing, Also some good shops conected to the hotel.We enjoyed our stay and did a few trips from the hotel. The gym was spectacular as well as the heated pool. The gym even offers gym clothes so you don't have to dirty your own. Will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Seoul
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#8 Family Hotel in Seoul
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within Central City, Korea's most extensive multi-purpose complex, featuring a prestigious Shinsegae department store, Go-To Mall underground shopping arcade, a large multiplex movie theater and more and with three subway lines directly linked, the JW Marriott Seoul is in many ways the new heart of Seoul. St. Mary’s Hospital and Banpo Hangang River Park lie just a short distance away and the expressway leading to Gyeonggi-do Province, the heart of Korea's semiconductor industry, begins just next to Central City. JW Marriott Seoul is perfect for discerning travelers. Boasting large, luxurious guest rooms and free internet access for Marriott Rewards members, the hotel houses one of Asia’s most comprehensive fitness centers, the Marquis Thermal Spa and Fitness Club, spanning three floors. With multiple restaurants and bars, versatile meeting rooms and banquet spaces also, the JW Marriott Seoul has so much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.