We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel if you can afford to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off on Junior Suite
Ranked #13 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
seattle
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“This is a great hotel if you can afford to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is a great hotel whether you are here on business or here for pleasure. The hotel is located and attached to 3 subway lines (line 3, line 7 and line 9), the express bus terminal and a large underground shopping mall and Shinsagae department store ( which includes a grocery store in its basement). We stayed on the 30th floor with a great view of the river and Seoul Tower and had access to the executive lounge right down the hall. Having access to the executive lounge was such a bonus as we were there every morning for breakfast and every evening for cocktails and appetizers and, later in the evening, dessert ( which saved us bundles and gave us a nice gathering spot with co-workers). It was also nice to be able to use the computers and printers in the lounge to print off directions, boarding passes, etc. we stayed here for 8 nights and although it is a large hotel, the attention is very personal. They remember your face, your name and your preferences and always greet you with a smile. it makes it a nice place to come "home" to at the end of the day. The fitness facilities and pool were terrific and if you forget to bring a t-shirt or shorts, no problem because they have workout clothes available (nice when you want to limit what you need to pack or don't want to shove stinky clothes back into your bag). I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: River view, upper floor, access to executive lounge
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    258
    53
    12
    12
See reviews for
133
130
59
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days. Overall it is good, I definitely will recommend it. Room is spacious and well decorated. Staff services were awesome, speak English, has no problem in communication at all even I don't know a single Korean word except kam Sam mi ta.
During my trips, I order a beef korean dish from the hotel restaurant, may be the beef meat was not fresh or whatever reason, the meat was stink to eat. I didn't touch the whole dish and finished the drink then called for the bill. The waitress saw I didn't touch the dish at all, asked me for a reason, and I told her it was a bit stink. She refunded the dish for me even I didn't ask for it. It was great for her to do that. I was pleased. Another thing, was I booked a DMZ tour
from the hotel, I left my sunglasses in the bus. By the time I got back to my hotel room, I saw
my sunglasses has been returned, isn't that awesome!!
The location is not bad, even though nothing interesting around but it is above the subway station, I can conveniently went everywhere I wanted. And the bar rouge served good wine with good ambience. Overall, I have a happy stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed several times in this hotel during my visits in Seoul and every time I tried another place I end up going back to JW Mariott. The location is very central. The shopping mall offers great variety of F&B options and shops are also quite nice there. The F&B in hotel is also very good. Obviously the room rates are high, which might be quite difficult to justify for business trip options. I am sure you will be happy both with the stay and with the service over all. The rooms are spacious, the service is good and the gym is fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We loved this hotel, the rooms were beautiful,the beds comfortable and the staff were friendly. Its close to the metro and bus station and has a grocery store downstairs that was amazing, Also some good shops conected to the hotel.We enjoyed our stay and did a few trips from the hotel. The gym was spectacular as well as the heated pool. The gym even offers gym clothes so you don't have to dirty your own. Will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Great service, nice huge rooms. Most convenient location ever. Connected to a high end mall and subway.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I traveled for business to the JW Marriot. The staff was wonderful, hotel was in perfect condition, and the location was located centrally between the two districts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room viewing the river - I didn't get this, but my colleague did, and the view was spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at this property after a long business trip in ROK. The facilities are fantastic - however if Marriott is going to have a gym, why don't they use their Club Sports group to manage the process to procure and maintain all the equipment in their higher level properties? It would only make sense, ergo, it won't happen.

This property overall was 5 star - and had wonderful amenities such as a great gym, pool, three different types of saunas, and the staff - with the exception of the Concierge, was terriffic.

Room Tip: Typical suggestions - stay away from the elevators, and suites so that your room is quiet. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seoul
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#8 Business Hotel in Seoul
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#21 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within Central City, Korea's most extensive multi-purpose complex, featuring a prestigious Shinsegae department store, Go-To Mall underground shopping arcade, a large multiplex movie theater and more and with three subway lines directly linked, the JW Marriott Seoul is in many ways the new heart of Seoul. St. Mary’s Hospital and Banpo Hangang River Park lie just a short distance away and the expressway leading to Gyeonggi-do Province, the heart of Korea's semiconductor industry, begins just next to Central City. JW Marriott Seoul is perfect for discerning travelers. Boasting large, luxurious guest rooms and free internet access for Marriott Rewards members, the hotel houses one of Asia’s most comprehensive fitness centers, the Marquis Thermal Spa and Fitness Club, spanning three floors. With multiple restaurants and bars, versatile meeting rooms and banquet spaces also, the JW Marriott Seoul has so much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.