We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Seoul strictly for leisure, this is not the place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Seoul to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off on Junior Suite
Ranked #15 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 786 Reviews
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“If you are in Seoul strictly for leisure, this is not the place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We were in Seoul strictly for leisure. While this hotel was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel could not be in a worse location. It is on the opposite side of the river from the main tourist areas. Even the taxi drivers were unfamiliar with the hotel.

The hotel itself, was clean and beautiful. The rooms were spacious and were made available for an early check in. However, the restaraunts were unreasonably overpriced ($36 for breakfast and $11 for a beer plus tax and service charge making the cost of a beer in excess of $15.00) The hotel was not located in an area you could walk around in and the attached mall was extremely expensive for items you can purchase in the U.S. for less than 25% of the cost.

The hotel is attached to a bus station and food was more reasonably priced although no English is spoken. We explored by taxi which we found reasonably priced. There is a lot of traffic surrounding the hotel so trips tended to take a long time but the good news is taxis don't charge for waiting time, only per meter travelled.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    276
    56
    12
    12
See reviews for
136
136
60
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mybeach101
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This hotel's location is perfect. Huge shopping center downstairs. Walking distance to popular clubs. Work out facility is the best I have seen in a hotel.

Rooms are spacious and elegant. Service is top notch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The J. W. Marriott in Seoul was an outstanding hotel in every sense. The location is wonderful (with subway and bus stations within the complex), the staff is excellent, and the rooms are fabulous -- very spacious, clean, and quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Seoul. The restaurants are rather expensive, but that's to be expected in a major hotel in a major city. But there are plenty of other excellent dining options nearby or in the Central City complex itself. All in all, this is a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Great Marriott style and class, wonderful restaurants and superb rooms but getting someone to help you in English got to be painful at times as they run away, look scared or just end up ignoring you. Be patient!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for 10 days in December of 2010.
We loved this hotel. One of the best hotels I've been in.
Good size room, huge bathroom. Excellent modern deco. Great service. Great location.

Separate shower and bathtub, complimentary bathrobe and bottle waters during stay were all very nice touches.

Fit for 5 star hotel, I'd say.

Lobby area is huge, modern, and very well decorated.

Our room was facing the city overlooking Han-river, Namsan Mountain, many many buildings, and etc.

I think the other side is facing some mountains which I'm sure is lovely as well.

Every staff we encountered was very courteous. Front desk and Concierge staffs spoke good enough English.

Not excellent but enough to get your point across and get answers.

The location of this hotel couldn't be better especially if you are willing to use subway system.

Seoul has adout 10 subway lines (http://www.smrt.co.kr/english_smrt/index.jsp) so it literally takes you everywhere in and around the city. It's cheap, clean, convenient and safe. One of the cleanest subway sysem I've used.

This hotel is connected via under grould to 3 different subway lines.

It's also connected to malls, theatres, restaurants, and etc.

Some days, we didn't even go outside. We just walked around in the mall (http://www.shinsegae.com/english/dept/dept_store.asp?STORE_CD=17), ate there, shop there in short sleeves (in December!!) since we didn't have to go outside to get here.

This hotel also had olympic sized pool. 2 hot tubs, dry sauna and steam sauna by the pool which is all free of charge for hotel guests. They even provided work out gears like shorts, t-shirts, and socks. Shampoo, conditioner and soap are provided free in shower room. Locker area has necessary toiletries like lotion, hair dryer, and etc.

The restaurnats on site are very expensive so know that before trying any of them out.

I think a cup of coffee at the lobby area lounge was over $10 USD...then there's tax and tip so you'll basically pay almost $15 USD for a cup of coffee. I didn't try so I don't know how awesome their coffee is.

You don't pay separate tax and tip in restaurants in Korea. Everything is included in the food price. So if your soup is 5,000 WON (approx. $4.50 USD) then that's all you pay. But hotels are little different I think.

I heard the Buffet restaurant at this hotel is awesome too. We didn't get to try it.

But I think for dinner, it was about $60 USD per person which includes tax and tip if I understood them correct.

Overall, we enjoyed this hotel very much and definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's visiting Korea.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I traveled to Seoul with my husband who was on business. The staff went out of their way to help us with business arrangements, custom snafus and our general comfort. I was able to experience the local culture with ease. I asked for help in registering for a cooking class and visiting an obscure shrine,both of which no one in the hotel ever heard of. My original info came from the local English newspaper. They were so happy to get on the phone, make the arrangements and then make sure that the taxi drivers understood exactly where to take me. They also made tour arrangements and made good recommendations for restaurants and a show. The staff in the gym and restaurants were also extremely kind and helpful. The people were the highlight of our stay. The hotel facilities were all beautiful and the food was delicious. We had breakfast each morning there and were taken to dinner at the Italian restaurant one evening which was also very good and a little respite from the delicious Korean food of the area. I recommend tea time in the lobby to relax a bit before dinner and to people watch. The bar is a nice place to end the evening with nightly entertainment.
The city is so huge that it is hard to comment on location. This location was near to some of the offices my husband visited but others required a train ride. A nice thing about the location was its proximity to the river side park which has a good walking trail if the air isn't too suffocating. Luckily the hotel has a beautiful gym.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the JW. Everyone's English was excellent. I liked the fact that the hotel is connected to Shinsegae Department Store and a subway station. There's tons of food options at the department store and the bus terminal.

I tried both breakfast buffets at the JW. The buffet that was for business travelers was good (free for me) but not as good as the one at the Cafe. The buffet at the Cafe had such a huge selection of Asian and Western food. Needless to say, I ate a LOT that morning.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean, spacious, and modern.

Although I do get annoyed at having to pay for Wifi/internet, it was ok since the Krispy Kreme in the basement near the entrance to the subway station had free Wifi for me to check my email every morning.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Seoul

Address: 176, Sinbanpo-ro, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-040, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Seoul
#6 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#8 Business Hotel in Seoul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within Central City, Korea's most extensive multi-purpose complex, featuring a prestigious Shinsegae department store, Go-To Mall underground shopping arcade, a large multiplex movie theater and more and with three subway lines directly linked, the JW Marriott Seoul is in many ways the new heart of Seoul. St. Mary’s Hospital and Banpo Hangang River Park lie just a short distance away and the expressway leading to Gyeonggi-do Province, the heart of Korea's semiconductor industry, begins just next to Central City. JW Marriott Seoul is perfect for discerning travelers. Boasting large, luxurious guest rooms and free internet access for Marriott Rewards members, the hotel houses one of Asia’s most comprehensive fitness centers, the Marquis Thermal Spa and Fitness Club, spanning three floors. With multiple restaurants and bars, versatile meeting rooms and banquet spaces also, the JW Marriott Seoul has so much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Seoul
Marriott Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.