We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Ambassador Gangnam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul

Save Saved
You added Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130, Bongeunsa-ro, Seoul 135-080, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #50 of 396 hotels in Seoul
Bochum, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Novotel Ambassador Gangnam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location is nicely convenient. It is close to Gangnam shopping center, restaurants and bar streets. Check-in is easy. The concierge staffs are quick in helping. The room is clean, the toilet and bath is clean, the basic needs in the bathroom is provided without further payment.

Wired internet connection and wifi are not free. No breakfast included,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear anneleigh03,

Thank you for your balanced cretique. As at 01 Jan Wifi will be complimentary in all areas of the hotel and we do after rates that include breakfast.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    274
    82
    14
    10
See reviews for
85
60
57
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

At a cost of about £150 a night you do expect a fairly good standard of service. The hotel is well located in Gangnam, and is on the KAL bus route to the airport. This makes it a sensible choice. But the price is extortionate for what you get as an overall package. There are no extras at all in the room, not even a toothbrush!
You do get a reasonable breakfast. That is the only good thing I can say of this overpriced and underwhelming hotel. Try to avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Nemo149 ,

I would appreciate any further details as we are normally credited with great service, location and facilities. My email is mbrown@ambatel.com.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Our company often have business visitor from oversea thus, we need to hire room often and they often stayed in this hotel. This time, we had 8 guest and hired 5 rooms, thus, we had to take van. However, this hotel charged for parking for 1 car of our company.

They recently changed policy and charging guests for parking.

Thus, if you have friends or biz partner to help you visiting seoul, don't stay here. With expensive parking fee, you can stay at better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sungjoon C,

Whilst I empathise with your confussion that we are now changing for carparking, it was a necessary action to limit long stay parking. As a regular booker of our hotel I would be happy to discuss parking arrangement with you. Mike Brown.. mbrown@ambatel.com

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is decent enough. However, the room I was given smelled very strongly of some sort of cologne/perfume and smoke. The towels and bathroom reek of smoke. I asked to change rooms but there are no rooms left because they are entirely booked so told I would be given a room change tomorrow. That's great, but in the meantime I'm stuck for the night coughing and hope my stuff doesn't smell when I leave. Beware if you have asthma like I do.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear A M ,

My apologies, it is so important that this or any request is communicated to our team at reservation stage. In a busy hotel we can't always assure guest of getting the room they want on check in.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A good predictable brand, like McDonalds or Ikea, no matter where you are in the world, you know what you are going to get. Rooms are clean and the staff is Korean efficient and helpful. Location is great, and compared to the other major hotels in the Hannam (south of the river) area, it's just a little bit cheaper ($250/night, or so). Location is great. At night, walk along the side streets (Teheran-ro Gil 1 and 2) running parallel to Gangnam Dae Ro for lots of food choices and great people watching. If you are looking for something light to eat (something other than meat BBQ), explore the side streets and look for dumpling and soup restaurants. Can't really go wrong with any restaurant that displays the "recommended" sign on the front door (white and blue sign with a white flower). The area is extremely safe, so try exploring behind the hotel for some surprisingly hip (and quiet) little boutiques and cafes serving interesting "fusion" dishes. Don't be shy to stop a young person and ask questions, most people will welcome the chance to practice english.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room on the left side of the hotel. Right side of the hotel is exposed to the entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Nat55nat ,

Not my preferred analogy but I do appreciate the sentiment and above all you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Novotel Ambassador while I was in Seoul. I have stayed here before long time ago, but since prices had gone-up I had gone for more economical options. However, being letdown twice in other hotels in Seoul recently, I gave Novotel Ambassador another try.

The hotel is located with the Gangnam CBD. Very good access by KAL limousine bus from the airport (stop directly infront of the hotel).

Rooms, lobby and common areas are clean and tidy. Breakfast Buffet at The Suqare was great (although not that cheap). Also tried the "Bistro" on the lobby level, which served great food.

Service was attentative, polite and prompt at all time.

Very happy with my stay and definately will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Frequent_Traveler_DE ,

Great to hear we get you back staying with us again.. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul

Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel
Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Seoul 135-080, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#33 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#37 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, Novotel is located near COEX convention centre, and in the heart of in the heart of Seoul CBD. Our 332 rooms, offering suites and Premier executive floors are complimented by flexible meetings, conferences and events options, a mix of modern and classical dining & entertaining choices with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.