We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid hotel even if a little outdated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul to your Saves list
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130, Bongeunsa-ro, Seoul 135-080, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early offer-up to 30% OFF
Ranked #39 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Shanghai, Cina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“solid hotel even if a little outdated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

top notch service but rooms are getting a little old
breakfast is very good, didn't have the time to check much of the hotel facilities
accor platinum member, travelled solo for business for two nights

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear teomatao,

We refurbish regularly.. And will start again shortly. I will pass on your positive comments about the service to our team. Thank you.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    348
    97
    19
    11
See reviews for
103
78
66
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Novotel is up the hill- good location- but to expensive for what it shows. Price/ Performance si not correct.
Extremely positiv the staff on all levels. business Center- front desk - room cleaning and especially the bell captain. Had to carry my huge luggage to subway station ( direct access to Gimpo airport) and tehy offered me hotel bus to station for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear issrock ,

I will share your positive comments about the staff with them and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The customer service at this place was awesome. The health spa was the best I've ever seen. Would stay there again for sure! Great location. Easy to get around. Close to mass transit. Take the Korean Air Bus from Incheon. It's cheap and good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Irandes,

I will share your comments with the team as they really pride themselves on looking after our guests and come back any time we have a room waiting.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a very modern hotel with excellent services and members of staff. The rooms are large with all the facilities you'd expect from a five star hotel! I arrived a bit early for check-in but everyone there helped me out and I was in my room in a few minutes. On the way out they kept the shuttle bus for a few minutes so they could get my bag loaded.

Nothing bad really to write for this hotel as the location is excellent, a few minutes walk from the metro station and close to all the shopping amenities of Gangnam! I totally recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Seoul!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kostas_V,

So glad you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky with our location and I am blessed with a guest focused team. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed for four nights on a recent holiday. Front desk staff were polite, multi-lingual and helped us book a tour on one day of our stay, beyond their normal check-in / check-out duties. Our room was clean, though I thought expensive for its size (which I *guess* can be rationalised when you consider the number of other facilities the hotel provides its guests).

Slept soundly each night, though could never quite work out the air conditioning. No matter what number I plugged into the air conditioning control, the room temperature always seemed to be mildly warm.

Breakfast was plentiful with a wide selection of western and eastern foods - though I'm still not sure which cultural influence has resulted in a chocolate fountain being available for breakfast (not that I'm complaining!).

Location-wise: fabulous. The hotel is minutes from the main Gangnam area, which includes mazes of alleyways with numerous cheap eating options. The nearest subway is quickly accessible and well-connected, and it is very easy to get to all the attractions north of the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear dougalbean,

I really lucked out when asked to live in Gangnam. It is great the restaurants, night spots and just the flavour is young urban Korea. And yes, to take advantage of all this the Hotel is ideally suited.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 10 years of travelling throughout East Asia and have always found it to be a good experience. Some trips have been 4-5 weeks, but this last one was only 4 days in early May.

The Gangnam area in Seoul is very expensive, so I'm not sure that I would stay here if I were on a tight budget. To give you an idea, the room service menu has the option of a club sandwich, buffalo chicken grilled cheese sandwich, a hamburger or a pizza - all for around $36, including the drink. However, that's cheaper than ordering 8 tiny wings and a beer for $44 down the street at the American-style restaurant. There is, however, a street a few blocks down that has many places to eat where I have found more affordable food.

The rooms here are nothing too fancy, but they are clean and well maintained. Most importantly, the A/C works! I stayed on the top floor of the hotel in the Executive rooms and was surprised to find a combined shower/tub instead of a walk-in shower, but there was plenty of hot water and everything worked as it should.

The bed was comfortable, wi-fi was included in the price for the Exec room (not for standard rooms and expensive), and the desk area was large enough so that I could work comfortably after I returned from the customer site in the evenings.

There is a busy street in front of the hotel and I noticed this trip that the taxi/bus drivers have taken to using their horns much more liberally than they have in the past. This made for a bit of traffic noise when I opened the window at night, but the sound proofing in the rooms is good and I didn't notice the noise when the window was closed. Again, working thermostat-controlled A/C is very important.

The staff has always been warm and friendly and there is a shuttle bus in the morning to the area around the Samsung factory, so that saved about $50 in taxi fees each day. There is a Western buffet-style breakfast that is pretty typical for hotels in Asia. By that, I mean the scrambled eggs at the buffet are a bit undercooked, bacon, slightly undercooked sausage, fruit, cereal, toast, coffee, etc. There is a chef available and, unlike some other hotels, I had no trouble when asking for my eggs to be cooked a little less raw. There is also yogurt, salad, a meat and "cheese" tray, soup, pastries, Japanese breakfast and, for the Indian customers, curry chicken. For those who are not diabetically challenged, there is also a large chocolate fountain with bread sticks and marshmallows to dip. I'm sure the kids get a kick out of that.

Overall, I would say that staying at the NOVOTEL is always a good experience. The company I work for recently signed a preferred contract with the hotel next door (not recommended) and I had to fight to book the NOVOTEL room. I'm glad I did.

Upgrade to the Exec level for free wi-fi and evening happy hour. It's worth the extra cost and cheaper if you use wi-fi extensively in the evening and eat a light dinner.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Exec level for free wi-fi and evening happy hour. It's worth the extra cost and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Frank777_42,

Thanks for taking the time and trouble providing future visitors your observations and trip. Reviews, like yours can be of so much assistance. A very glad to read you have a good experience in the hotel and thank you for our loyalty even if it breaks your company policy. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Novotel is a good hotel to stay at, no excessive luxuries but the expected necessities are covered and done nicely!
Mi wife and I traveled with our daughter (5 years old) and our son ( 2 year old ) and found the hotel staff very friendly and service oriented. ( no issues with english language)
The rooms are average Western size (considered relatively large for Asia) with a good size bathroom. The rooms are well noise insulated and the kids were able to relax and play in the room without being able to hear anything from the outside.

Location is good, you can walk 5 minutes (steep downhill) to the subway. ( In my opinion the best way to move around in Seoul) or you can catch a taxi right at the footstep of the lobby.
5 to 10 minute walk (downhill) there are tons of restaurants, bars and coffee shops to choose from. Our favorite was the Korean barbecue which is to die for!
For those missing some fast food joints, they are all 10 minutes away from the hotel walking.
The COEX mall with a huge amount of shops, is also only 5,000 Korean Won ($4US) away by taxi. (10 minutes).

For those of us who like to work out, the gym at the Novotel is 5 star, NICE!
All the latest and nicest models of machines, free weights and accessories you can imagine. The sauna and pool are also quite nice.

We stayed there for 5 nights and feel that the hotel was very comfortable and functional for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Texcoco79,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts to future travelers to Seoul. It’s a great way to share your experience and pass on some travel trips. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that the kids were well catered for.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul

Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Seoul 135-080, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Seoul
#26 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#32 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, Novotel is located near COEX convention centre, and in the heart of in the heart of Seoul CBD. Our 332 rooms, offering suites and Premier executive floors are complimented by flexible meetings, conferences and events options, a mix of modern and classical dining & entertaining choices with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.