We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The next choose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul to your Saves list
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130, Bongeunsa-ro, Seoul 135-080, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early offer-up to 30% OFF
Ranked #37 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 693 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The next choose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Really enjoy the stay ,staffs are friendly and professional,only two things maybe can be better,was stay at top primier executive floor,room is little bit small,and 11th floor GSA and be paid by cash.
And lobby bar has smoking area...it's unbelievable.cant really enjoy drinking with friends at smoky bar.
Unless these,everything are excellent.
Hopefully can be fixed next time staying there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Webber H,

You will be happy to know that the law will change on 8 Dec and smoking in the lobby will be banned. We look forward to welcomin you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    349
    97
    19
    11
See reviews for
103
79
66
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It was my 1st time to Seoul and stayed at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam. It's located not far from Subway and that area has so many restaurants. Staff are very helpful and great service. I stayed on The premium floor and non-smoking area plus free wi-if. Room is quite nice and I will look forward to come back again.

Room Tip: The premium floor is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Tamaporn V,

The 'Premium Floor' is good tip, offering inclusions that makes the increased room rate good value for money whilst you enjoy that additional level of pampering.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Located in the Gangnam area next to a lot of other hotels. Spacious lobby with a nice reception. There is a lobby cafe with a rather slow food service, a small restaurant in the corner as well as a bar. Rooms are rather small but includes the essentials. Wifi is available and I measured a speed of more than 10mbs Novotel delivers what you expect, but nothing more

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Knudsen_P,

Thank you for sharing your observations for those future travellers.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 10 days during a business trip. I was most impressed by the level of service provided by the friendly staff, most of whom are quite fluent in English. I stayed in both executive and non-executive rooms, and both exceeded expectations. Everything is clean and the staff will go out of their way to help you and ensure you are comfortable.

The hotel bar is a great place to meet other business travellers and they have a great live band which plays every night.

The hotel is located in the heart of Gangnam making it very convenient to walk to the shopping and dining areas of this upscale region of Seoul.

The morning buffet breakfast is the best I have ever sampled, as is the amazing assortment of menu items for lunch and dinner.

I will definitely be staying at this hotel for all future visits and encourage visitors to Seoul to consider this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Chad G,

Great to see from your comments you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you back on your next stay.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, and this will be definitely be the hotel to stay during any of my other visits to Seoul.
Perfect check-in and friendly staff. Helpful at all times.
Breakfast is a treat, and more than abundant.
Stayed in an executive room. Was the slightly higher price worth it? Definitely.
You get breakfast and internet included and get to enjoy snacks and drinks in the lounge during the early evening - ideal to relax after a day's work in bussling Seoul.
The room itself was more than adequate with enough space, and a little seating area.
Easy connection to and from Incheon Airport with the KAL Limousine Bus stopping just in front of the hotel.

Definitely a a top hotel.

Room Tip: An executive room is well worth the little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear BDeMaert,

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and thanks for the feedback as it isi great to share with the team.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a first-class hotel providing a high level of service, amenity and comfort.

SERVICE

Service is the watchword here and staff generally will go out of their way to help you.

The check-in/reception desk is always manned by at least four team members so even when it’s busy you won’t have to wait around for attention. Everyone knows their job here, they all speak English and you’ll be checked-in in minutes.

Room service is super-quick. We brought our own brekkie at a nearby convenience store and then phoned down to room service to ask for cutlery and crockery. Hardly had we put the phone down then there’s a knock at the door and a smiling staff member is there with everything we asked for.

CLEANLINESS

The whole place is spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained: Not only the rooms but all the public areas as well.

AMENITIES

We made good use of the fully equipped gym and clean swimming pool.

There is free internet in the lobby provided by two Mac computers with huge screens. You can have 20 minutes at a time but if there’s no-one waiting, you can renew for another 20 minutes. Not having our own laptops or tablet with us we found this a very useful and convenient service.

ROOMS

Rooms are decent size, beds are comfortable and there’s plenty of storage space.

Huge TV, easy to operate and with the full range of English language programs.

Functional, clean bathroom with good water pressure.

Lighting though was a bit of a negative for us. There are no ceiling lights, only bedside lights and two desk lights make reading difficult.

LOCATION

The KAL airport bus from Incheon Airport will drop you right outside the hotel. Despite the massive amounts of traffic the ride in took exactly the 70 minutes they said it would take on their website. We left the airport at 6.30pm and by 7.40pm were at our hotel.

Sinnonyeon Subway Station on the newly opened No. 9 train line is a short 10-minute walk. Gangnam station on the busier No 2 line is about a 20-25 walk.

The area around Gangnam Station and the underground concourse that leads to the station are a hive of activity around the clock, especially on a Friday night. But you’ll rarely see beggars, people sleeping rough or drunk and disorderly behaviour. You’ll feel safe here any time of the day or night. And there are also plenty of public toilets in and around the station area.

But I’d say that this is more the business or corporate end of Seoul rather than strictly the tourist part.

The hotel is at the apex of a fairly steep road which makes getting down the hill on foot a lot easier than getting back to the hotel. The road outside is a busy one with lots of vehicular traffic but we were lucky to get a room on the 10th floor that was quiet and we slept well every night (I suspect that the windows are double-glazed for added sound-proofing).

SUMMARY

Although I can highly recommend this as an efficient, well-run, clean and elegant hotel, I think next time in Seoul I may stay north of the river as we did the first time, to be closer to the main tourist attractions. Whilst the subway system here is clean, cheap, safe and efficient, it is a vast network and navigating your way around it all day can be a bit stressful.

But this is probably the ideal hotel for the business traveller.

TRAVEL TIP

An easy, fast and comfortable way to get to the airports is by train.

There’s an express service from Sinnonyeon station to Gimpo Airport station which takes 30 minutes. If you’re flying out of Incheon Airport, all you do after you’ve stepped off the train at Gimpo Station is walk across the platform where you can hop on a fast train to Incheon Airport which also takes around 30 minutes.

We left the Novotel at 9.15am and by 10.45am we were at Incheon Airport but I guess we were lucky as one of the hotel drivers took us to Sinnonyeon station for free, saving us the walk down the hill.

That was just another nice touch from a hotel where they know the meaning of the word service.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor - you'll enjoy the view and it will probably be quieter tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Artfornodriving ,

Wow! What a great synopsis of your stay that will be of benefit to any future travellers to Seoul. We are taking steps to improve the lighting in the room during our imminent refurbishment. Please keep critiquing as this sort of information is invaluable to 1st time visitors or old hands visiting Seoul.

Mike Brown
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Seoul ( Gangnam Style ? ) This hotel is in the Heart of this 24 hour working day metropolis !. Valet parking with a smile,check in with a smile,Please may I help you WITH A SMILE !. These lovely people want to be helpfull.
Restaurant is buffet style But the quality is good as is the vaiety,excellant service (with a Smile).
Rooms are average, Very comfortable bed,ensuite with shower over bath facility (Not my favorite combination) But clean and servicable. Mini bar was appreciated as was the other nicnacs available.
Lovely lounge/bar area with live background music of an evening.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 15th floor so IF there was any noise I did not hear it ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear stevewilly,

I am so glad you were able to see how helpful the team and Koreans in general want to be. They are so very proud of their history and country and really want other people to enjoy. Hope you will be returning soon.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul

Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Seoul 135-080, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Seoul
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#27 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#33 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, Novotel is located near COEX convention centre, and in the heart of in the heart of Seoul CBD. Our 332 rooms, offering suites and Premier executive floors are complimented by flexible meetings, conferences and events options, a mix of modern and classical dining & entertaining choices with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.