We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Seoul COEX

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Seoul COEX to your Saves list
InterContinental Seoul COEX
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-975, South Korea (Formerly COEX InterContinental Seoul)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 767 Reviews
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has some great facilities. Their health club is the only one I have seen that provides workout clothes (even socks) for guest use. This is especially useful on a business trip where you might be carrying limited number of clothes. Their breakfast spread is palatial and awesome. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped.

The hotel is connected to the COEX exhibition center and the COEX mall. It is also adjacent to the Samseong subway station which can be used to easily get around the city.

I have now stayed in three different hotels around the COEX exhibition center. The Grand Intercontinental seemed more luxurious. The COEX Intercontinental is cheaper but more suitable for a business stay whereas the Oakwood Premier is best suited for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Specifically request a non-smoking room if you prefer having one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    357
    88
    17
    12
See reviews for
83
61
87
449
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Situated in the fashionable Gangnam district of Seoul, one of the two hotels linked to the COEX exhibition centre, makes this place a no brainer if you have to attend a convention. A bit of a walk through the COEX to get to Samseong subway rail transit stop gives you access to the pretty extensive subway system (which has signs in English everywhere, making it a breeze to travel throughout the city centre). So, the location is excellent. The hotel is efficient, friendly and the restaurant (Brasserie) I tried out had an excellent spread for a buffet lunch (pricy, but worth it). Breakfast was a little less impressive but pretty much up to par with the other Intercontinental hotels. The bed room was great, with a comfortable bed, and a warm quilt. Spacious, with a view (Room 2576), with an ironing board, iron, and shoe horn, well equipped bathroom, and a warm toilet seat with auto bidet functions. The staff made you feel very comfortable. All in all, a great stay. If you cared to wander, just a few stops away at Gangnam there are some cool streets to wander through for Korean noodles and Barbeques frequented by the local populace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I really enjoyed the one week stay in the standard suite. From excellent (and numerous) food and restaurant options to a room with all the amenities (including a complimentary smart phone to take with you while exploring).
Very friendly staff and plenty of high-end shopping just outside the door.
My only complaints would be: high priced food & the bed was too hard for my liking. Otherwise, great place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel. I had a much larger room in 2011 - perhaps I was upgraded. The hotel is one of two (I believe) that services the large COEX exhibition centre in Seoul and is often very busy with delegates who are attending conferences/exhibitions in the centre. One morning I had to wait about 10 minutes for breakfast due to the large number of people at the hotel. However, staff were very pleasant despite being so busy. From the hotel lobby you can access a vast shopping centre underneath the hotel and the exhibition centre. It is easy to get a quick meal in one of the many cafes, restaurants in the shopping centre. It is about a 10-15 minute walk through the shopping centre to the nearest subway station.

Rooms are good, no major issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Located in Gangham, this hotel is a business hotel connected to a huge convention center. Perfect location if you have meetings t the COEX Center, which I did. If you want to see Seoul, feel culture and " typical" Seoul, this is not the best location. The hotel however is great, food good, service could not be better. The people ( from doorman to concierge) are ALL service dedicated with smiles! Would highly recommend for business trips to Korea. Room was large, clean, and classy. Wifi worked fast...which is important when you are a day away. Breakfast was included...and literally had choices for Europeans, Japanese! Chinese! Kids and Americans. All good...and real coffee.

Room Tip: I did not stay on the "View" side, and still had an ok view of the city. This hotel is tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights in October 2012, in a room on 20th floor. Not sure if this was an upgrade or not.
Room was great, with full height and width windows which I liked.
I tried the various bars and restaurants, they were all good too.
I really enjoyed the vast choice at breakfast.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.
My only word of warning is location. This hotel was great for me, but seoul is a vast sprawling city and you should try and stay near where you need to be.
I hope to return to seoul soon and have no doubts about where to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for one night which I'd bought through their website. While my room preference wasn't honored, the staff made sure I was happy with the replacement.

Someone else mentions the green carpets being somewhat like a golf course. Whoah...they weren't kidding. It seems like the hotel is in the last stages of being fully refurbished and Intercontinental is doubling-down on green as a signature color. It's everywhere. That said, it's not unpleasant, just distracting.

The room itself was very well appointed. Lots of storage space (drawer space etc.) which is very welcome on a longer trip. The smartphone in the bedroom is a nice touch for international visitors. It gives you flexibility to leave the hotel and make calls, etc. without needing to rent or roam. That said, the prices for the calls are very, very expensive. So be careful.

Overall I probably wouldn't mind staying longer here but I'll likely experience somewhere else first to see if it's a better fit. The rate is just too high when compared with alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Seoul COEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Seoul COEX

Address: 524 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-975, South Korea (Formerly COEX InterContinental Seoul)
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Seoul
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#28 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Seoul COEX 4.5*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Seoul COEX is part of the massive World Trade Center Seoul, the country s one-stop business destination. You ll walk to COEX, Korea City Air Terminal and the COEX Mall s underground 16-screen theatre and more than 200 shops. Well worth a short drive are the Namdaemun Market, the Namsan Hanok Village and the Korean War Battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Seoul COEX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Seoul Coex Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Seoul COEX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.