We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL GS

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HOTEL GS to your Saves list
HOTEL GS
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5-5, Donhwamun-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea (Gwanghwamun / Jongno)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked this hotel after all these good reviews on Trip Advisor, it was definitely a perfect stay with what you paid for. Although the room was small, but you have everything you need, very clean and tidy. Surprisingly, there was a computer inside the room and you can use the internet for free, and wifi is free too!

The location is pretty hard to find, the hotel entrance is hidden in a small lane with just a small sign at the entrance of the lane. We asked a few people on the street and no one seems to know about this hotel. Eventually, we went to another hotel and asked the staff there, they were nice to show us the way and we finally got there.

Breakfast are included, there were bread, cup noodles, cereal, coffee and milk. Everything you need for a simple breakfast.

We stayed here for three nights, in one of the nights when we got back at around 9pm, the reception staff was so nice and gave us a pack of sushi. Although we were not that hungry but we accepted and gave the staff a big “Thank you”. It’s the little things that count!

I would strongly recommand this hotel to everyone who are on budget and looking for a clean room to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    69
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
43
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its location (near subway 8mins walk, Insadong 15mins walk & Meyoung Dong 20mins walk) and price (40% lower than 4-5 stars hotel for 3 persons). We had extraordinary experience after staying for 6 days:
Location: At the middle of 2 big subway junction stations. The main door is actually inside a small lane, but just 10m away from the main road. I did researches on Google and Konest maps and could easily locate it even arriving at night.
Room: Better & brighter than shown on the pictures. Room was small but expected. Housekeeping was clean. It had a big TV, PC, wifi and basic amenities. Refrigerator was filled with 3 kinds of canned drinks + bottled water daily. We brought our own shower holder to place the shower head at a lower position for our daughter. The shower curtain was just tall enough to keep water from spilling onto the electric toilet.
Service: Unlike standard greeting from big hotels, here's very warm. We asked for shower caps and they were provided free of charge. The staff were friendly and gave candies & biscuit when meeting my daughter. English was enough for communication and they greeted us using limited Chinese. Breakfast was free but it provided all most people need (toast, cereal, milk, juice, banana, baby tomato & cup noodle). It's just next to the reception.
Overall: It's a small hotel (6 floors with 30-40 rooms) but it provided warm service & comfortable stay. Before the trip, my daughter didn't like this hotel because the pictures looked dull but she gave a thumb up afterward. She liked the free apple juice daily and the soft pillow. I think they have done the best at this price tag.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The GS hotel is reasonably priced, very clean and the location is perfectly convenient as it's close to a major subway hub and the airport bus station (but difficult to find - read the other comments for detailed directions!). There is a CVS nearby and if you walk into the direction of Jongak station you will find all kinds of restaurants, shops and bars. The staff spoke good english and the size of the room was ok. It had A/C, a comfortable bed, lots of amenities, a huge TV and free WiFi, so no complaints there. The breakfast is very basic but still better than nothing.

Drawbacks were that we had a room without a window - the lack of daylight made the jet lag even harder! Also as mentioned by others: there's no shower curtain and you'll flood the whole bathroom. Hint: Try to find the dehumidifier option on the A/C remote control. It is useful to get rid of the steamy air when you can't open the window.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a real window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinan, Shandong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location of the hotel isn't obvious, but it is well worth finding. It is located very close to Jongno 3 station and in a thriving business district that has everything from street food to fast food giants in a short walking distance.

The room was very comfortable and had a desktop computer and a partially stocked fridge. There was no honour bar to have to deal with. The water and juice in the fridge was complimentary. The 24 hour front desk was great too. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even making the calls for me to try to attend a baseball game. They also went over a map with me to show me that Dongdaemun Market and Myeongdong Markets were easy to get to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puriri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Airport limousine bus is easiest option from Incheon, drop-off/pick -up is just around the corner (see other posts for directions to hotel). The hotel rooms are small but very clean. Fast wifi. Simple breakfast is provided (we just grabbed some fruit on our way out the door in the morning). The reception staff are EXCELLENT! Extremely helpful and friendly; making phone calls to clarify entry fees and directions, looking up websites for us and writing down addresses in Korean for taxi etc.
We loved the food stalls that pop up outside in the street in the evenings - don't bother comparing the menu's between stalls, they are all the same!! Great for mingling with locals and people watching. The hotel is walking distance to great food and shopping areas (eg Insadong).

Room Tip: If you are feeling paranoid, maybe check that your room has a window that opens wide enough to fit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A short walk south from the Jongno 3 station. A mini-mart located nearby, a movie theater, street food vendors. The Cheongguecheon river is about 50 yards from the hotel(south).
A desktop computer is in the room along with free complimentary water, soda, and juice every day. Easy to get in and out since the hotel is only 6 floors high.
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is great if you want to walk to the old palaces, Insadong shopping and eating street, the Cheongguecheon stream, and there is also a subway station on the corner. The friendly staff were very kind and helpful, lending me an umbrella when it rained, giving directions and advice. They also kindly arranged to clean a vacated room very quickly so that I could check in early after arriving on an early morning flight, and offered me breakfast while I waited. The room was extremely clean, with a very comfortable bed, and lots of helpful inclusions, like tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries, cold drinks and fast wifi. The breakfast was basic but ample. The hotel can be a bit tricky to find, down a little side street, so it's helpful to look it up on google maps (or similar) first to know where to go. Absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOTEL GS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL GS

Address: 5-5, Donhwamun-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HOTEL GS 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your HOTEL GS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL GS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.