We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Petite Pies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tartine Too

Tartine Too
119-15 Itaewon-dong | Yongsan-gu, Seoul, South Korea (Itaewon)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #899 of 13,801 Restaurants in Seoul
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
Neighborhood: Itaewon
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Itaewon
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced Petite Pies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Got suckered in because of the adorable sized pies in the display window but was disappointed upon the first bite. These pies are overpriced and nothing special. You could buy a full size frozen pie from the grocery store and it would probably taste better. There are other places in Itaewon that are cheaper and better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“They had a butter tart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I came in by myself for a tart and some black tea. It was $11 together...which is a bit pricey, but I enjoyed myself. The tart was fantastic and the tea went perfectly with it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Why Five Stars???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Honestly, this place is pricey, even for Seoul, however not necessarily for Itaewon. Don't get me started on the new shop up past the Hamilton charging almost 5,000won for a chocolate cookie. And for people going here for brunch, one look at the place will tell you this isn't really a restaurant, its a bakery. I wouldn't expect to get a full breakfast here anymore than I would order an omlete at Dunkin Donuts. This menu diversion is just another misguided effort to compete with everyone in everything. (Very common in Korea, where businesses like Samsung and LG make everything from cellphones and cars to toothpaste and toilet paper and millions live in apartment buildings built Samsung and Hyundai.)

As far as the baked goods, they are on the small side for the price, however I will say they are higher quality and fresher than 98% of the nearly 3,500 Paris Baguette franchises in Korea of course like any NON-franchise business in Korea service and quality suffers when the owner isn't there.. Its obvious this place is run by a baker and not just some franchise operator getting prepackaged egg tarts from a factory in Daegu. Service is average for Korea meaning somewhere below a New York Hot Dog Stand, but above the typical Paris Bistro. But still, why the 5 stars? One word.

RHUBARB !!!!! This is the only place I have found in all of Korea where I can get rhubarb pie and strawberry-rhubarb pie. They are small and pricey (although not as much as hotels charge in their bakeries), but when you are the only game in the entire country and you even attempt to make it taste like the way grandma use to make it, that is worth 5 stars!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great place for a coffee and breakfast while you read”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went here for brunch on a Sunday and found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. I loved that right at the top their menu informs you that they cook using bacon fat and that if you are a vegetarian/have special dietary needs you can request that they cook your food in canola oil. The food was good and a pretty good value. I was stuffed and my meal was about 11,000 won. They even had delicious breakfast drinks. I'll definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So Bad It Had To Be Done...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The pies and pastries in this place are (as the other review states) indeed of a decent enough standard that they are worth wandering in to buy (although they are five times the price of your comparative Paris Baguette product, yet still of the same quality). However, if you are considering going to this place for a Brunch, honestly, forget it.

I generally only use TripAdvisor to review places where I have been so enthralled by the excellent food and service that I feel obliged to pass on my compliments to the proprietors and hopefully gain them some extra business. If I receive an average meal in a restaurant I tend to keep it to myself as I figure it could have just been 'one of those days' and I am wanton to potentially impact the hard work of any business owner simply trying to make ends meet in a highly competitive business.

But, when I visit a place like this, which has the gall to advertise a product all over the nearest Subway Station, only for it to be ludicrously over-priced ( about 17,000 Won :O ), ridiculously below-par and served with an astoundingly poor level of service - I feel compelled to share with the world how (in antithesis) incredibly poor it is.

The brunch was, in essence, some luke-warm baked beans, a sausage patty which looked like it had been regurgitated by a dying animal, the driest, most flavourless 'hash brown' I have ever come across which was basically just grated potato, flat-grilled, which somebody had then proceeded to sneeze pepper over, the thickest, fattiest 'bacon' you've ever seen and a salad, A SALAD, to accompany this stodgy, ill-chosen, menagerie of crap which seemingly fell onto the plate by chance before being labelled as a 'brunch'.

Honestly, if you want a good Irish/English/American style fry-up, just walk the extra 5 minutes to the nearby WolfHound (where admittedly the bacon is even worse than here, but the rest of the ingredients are far, far superior) - if you want a 'brunch' like the one served at this place you may as well just stumble blindfolded into the nearest EMart or HomePlus and proceed to bumble around, selecting five random ingredients as you go, before preparing them all in the same rice-cooker. The food served at this place was, quite literally, in one word, diabolical.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartine Too also viewed

Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Tartine Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartine Too, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.