We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best balkan food on the peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zelen

Zelen
2F, 116-14, Itaewon dong, Yongsan gu, Seoul, South Korea
02-749-0600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 12,954 Restaurants in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 50 Reviews
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
seoul
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“best balkan food on the peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

took my girlfriend there for her birthday. there was a bit of a mix up with the reservation but luckily they had a free table. food portions were good, location good, interior very traditional, food prices good, quality of the food was excellent. wine was a bit pricey though. got a free shot of grappa having asked if they had an balkan style rakija. great guys who own the place, one of the best if not the best restaurant ive been to in korea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uiwang, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I always found Eastern European food to be bland and this restaurant didn't change my philosophy.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Great food in a great space. Call ahead for reservations if you are going with a group or on the weekend. Must try the Sangria!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for a date night. Reservations required.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Excellent food, atmosphere and reasonably priced, for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding, hearty and flavorful meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect, having never eaten at a Bulgarian restaurant before, but had heard great things so were optimistic. We were not disappointed! Our group of 8 ordered a variety of dishes and shared them all, and each one we tried seemed even better than the last! Portions are very large, prepared with obviously fresh and high quality ingredients, and reasonably priced.

No one was disappointed with their choice so it's tough to make recommendations. That said, the Pile ("pea-lay") Princess was one of the crowd faves, as was the filled, rolled pork fillet (Svinsko Verteno), and Pikantno Pile. The spinach stuffed chicken has a rich cream sauce and is wonderful, but may be best for sharing as the richness can become overpowering. Incredibly, our 10 year old almost finished 2 of her 3 large pork/beef "meatballs" ("Klufte"), which were actually more like small burgers, so even young ones can hopefully find something they will like on the menu (though I note she was the only child in there on this Saturday night, and it is definitely not a "kid-friendly" menu).

The place has a nice, comfortable ambience, relatively simple decor, with artificial vines and greenery decorating the ceiling for a nice touch. There are tables for all sizes of dinner parties, including several small tables, each in their own area by a front window, that look perfect for a romantic dinner for two. They have a limited wine selection and the only draught offered is Krombacher, a German pils, though it's hard to go wrong with any quality German brew!

Desserts were also wonderful. The filled "pancakes" -- essentially crepes -- and very flavorful, and the fondant is a rich and decadent way to end the evening. We will try the ice cream with fresh fruit next time.

All in all, a wonderful meal and highly recommended restaurant that will become a regular destination for us!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelen also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Zelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.