We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KARMA - Excellent Performance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KARMA Theatre

KARMA Theatre
1F Gusegun Bldg., Chungjungno 3-ga, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul, South Korea
02-336-1289
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 614 things to do in Seoul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Exotic performance“KARMA”is produced with graceful Korean Dance and Martial Arts. It is further enhanced by the production of elegant black and white Paintings produced live during the performance. It has been performed in U.K., Dubai, China, Latin America etc. and received tremendous and overwhelming international response. In addition to this, “KARMA” has been awarded a prize for ‘The Best Non-verbal Performance’ by Korea Tourism Organization.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“KARMA - Excellent Performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This performance is a non-verbal show so knowledge of Korean is not necessary. It would be very helpful to visit the Website (http://www.karma.kr/en/) to obtain a synopsis of the story which will increase your enjoyment quite a bit. The dance though advertised as ballet, I felt covered many aspects of dance, including Modern Dance, Rhythmic Dance, as well as Martial Arts. There is also a portion of the play, in which drums are used an a very artistic way. At the end of the performance, do not leave until you pose with the actors in the lobby. You give your camera to an employee of the show, and they will get a couple of photos with you and the cast. There is no charge for this. The location is very easy to get to by Subway Lines 2 (Green) or 5 (Purple) at Chungjeongno Station. Take exit 7, and follow the signs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was sceptical about the show - not too many reviews and nobody knew about the show, so...It was worth it. The cast begins with a small "Clown" act in the beginning that leads into the start of the show. This show has everything - ballet, comady, art, martial arts, and a Korean drum special at the end. Do not purchase the VIP Seat, get seats on the outside, VIP seats only put you in the middle of the stage, which is not really necessary, other seats can see just as well. IF you are tired of Nanta and Drum Cats, see Karma. By the way, this is the only show that the cast appears at the end of pictures. HIGHLY RECOMMAND

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great combo of martial arts, dance, and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This show is great and definitely you don't need to know Korean to appreciate as nonverbal show. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Awesome~~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I love non-verbal performances. I have been to so many different ones in and around Seoul. Karma is by far the best one I have seen so far. The costuming and backdrops are incredible. The show was a little more than the others but totally worth it. If you are looking for something interesting and new then this show is a must~~ I loved it and plan to see it again~~

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansan, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Karma Show A wonderful Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have a wonderful opportunity as K-Performance supporter to attend the KARMA Show last night.
KARMA SHOW: 10-05-2012 (8PM to 9-30 PM)
KARMA Theater: Chungieongno Station Exit- 8) Seoul
Me and My Friends: Amanda (USA) & Umair Khan (Pakistan)
It was so nice to be there and enjoy the performance of the lovely artists. Every Character amused us with their awesome performance. Every person was perfect in his/her role. I like the Role of the servant of the king very much. He was so devoted to the royal family of his nation. The Gods of goodness really impressed me with their loyalty towards the queen and their land. The devil character was also the best in his role. The collective and long waited effort by all to restore the dignity of their land and the queen was itself a good lesson. The way they perform was really impressive and we feel like a part of the show all the way till the end.
The best part of that night was a group photo with the performers at the end. I will never forget it.
I would suggest every boy to go and watch this awesome performance by super stars. I hope you will like it. Here is a pectoral visit for you to the wonderful performances we have last night.

Thanks to KTO for such nice opportunity.. 

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KARMA Theatre also viewed

 

Been to KARMA Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KARMA Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.