We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are just a bunch of liars! Terrible hotel! Awful service! Dirty rooms!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-1 Jamwon-dong, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-902, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They are just a bunch of liars! Terrible hotel! Awful service! Dirty rooms!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hope, my review will save some of you, who is going to book this hotel. Well, will share my sad experience.
Back home I Have ordered a superior double (very nice pics and description of the room, clean bathroom etc.) When I opened our room I was just shocked! Guys, I have never ever seen anything worse in a lifetime. It was worse than a road motel! Dirty carpets, table, and bed clothes. Terrible smell, black hair in the cup and on the toilet. No promised bathtub or even shower!
When I went down to speak to the personnel of the hotel, I got only RUDE answers and no respect for us at all. Answers like: "Do, what you want, we don't care etc." The hotel manager didn't leave her office to apologise or to talk to me, (they didn't know one of us speaks korean) she said smth like "I will not speak with these stupid ..."
They will not provide you with any refund! I was yelling at them and the personnel of hotels on phone and they sent me a confirmation of the refund of ... 0.84 Euro!!!! Out of 500.
They are a bunch of LIARS. they published on Hotels fake pictures of the rooms.
Be careful! Better find a clean and new motel in Seoul, if you don't manage to book another hotel! About swimming pool and spa :) They have it "only for men", if you understand, what I mean. They are very good to provide some "extra-service" for men

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
8
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

..placed in not strategical position, you have to catch a taxi to move everywhere, this couldn't be a problem because in Seoul, the taxi are cheaper than other city like Tokyo..it represents an ideal solution for staying in Gangnam area if you have business in there..the structure is not huge, it seems modern but the rooms are built in old-fashioned style..I tried two different rooms very different each other..one bigger with a great view on the Han river and the other little with a bad view on the main street always crowed..the rooms are located in the higher floors of the building but there are several floors reserved for congress and wedding..this could represent a real big problem when you have to take a lift..3 lifts aren't enough to satisfy the people inside when there is something arranged like a wedding..there is a night-club aside the building but never tried..the rooms seem good but unfortunately they are not clean, the safety box is old and not working well, big bathroom with its poor kit (there is a lack of body cream), the water is not enough to have a good shower..there is also an electric kettle and the internet connection by cable or Wi-Fi..there are other amenities in the same tower..the gym is good, big, well equiped, with sauna inside but unfortunately the opening hours didn't fit my business hours, there is no swimming pool..the personnel is very kind, available to make flexibile reservations, in case of needing to arrange business trip for only one day out of Seoul..the breakfast is very good, there is a wide range of several food available and sometimes, due to the number of people very hungry, there could be a lack of some dishes..for business reason it is better to open the restaurant 30 minutes before..I never tried to have dinner in same restaurant because I always preferred to have dinner in "some" typical restaurant that you can find everywhere..the prices are aligned to the other hotels nearby..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel definitely doesn't warrant a 5 star rating. On the negative side, the bathroom was mouldy, smelled funny and the water temperature was totally inconsistent. The bedroom itself was an OK size - we just got a standard room which was fine 2 adults + a toddler. It is an old hotel and the rooms are in need of either a really good clean or a facelift!

On the plus side, it's in a great location with the airport bus stopping more or less right outside. It's nearby some great cafes and shops - a great area. Inside the hotel, the kids activity centre was amazing - our 2 year old absolutely loved it.

We got a good deal on our room but we wouldn't stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwangju
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed their for 3 nights at the end of July 2013. Air conditioner shut off every couple of hours. Had to call the front desk each time. Not fun in the middle of the night when you have a toddler. We chose it for the advertised swimming pool and kids play room. Both were under construction and unavailable. The carpets were stained and had burn marks. The bathroom door jam was visibly rotting, and the lock didn't work. The shower head holder was broken. They did fix that after a couple of hours. We did some baby proofing, and all the furniture we moved had trash under it. Won't be back...

Room Tip: We were on the 13th floor. Quiet and a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First of all the location is great. It's just nearby Sinsa station, 3 min walk. There are restaurants and bus station nearby as well.
The bed is quite comfortable but the room is a lil small and old. The water pressure was fine but the cold and hot water was not consistent so you may feel hot and cold while taking a shower. They need to renovate and maintain the rooms seriously. Our room door wasn't functioning properly. It looks like it can be broke in any time. The chain of the latch is not installed properly thus it's not working.
There are basic amenity such as water boiler, lcd tv, fridge, hair dryer.

But their service was fine.. people were really kind and they speak english. Their money exchange rates was pretty good too.

If you just need a place to rest, sleep and shower this is fine.

Room Tip: Rooms above 11 floor might be a better option for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shizuoka, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

How does this place have so many stars on Agoda? LIES! The shower had no water pressure, there was trash in our closet, our door was open when we got there... We were consistently unimpressed. There was wifi in the room which was nice, but the TV was awkwardly placed on a pole in the center of the room. This place gets an extra star for having an amazingly soft bed, but other than that, don't put yourself through it.

Also, don't be fooled by "swimming pool" and "fitness center". These cost over $20 dollars, and the pool is for kids only.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We joined a Five Stars Tour and had to stay for 2 nights in this terrible hotel which does not even rate a 1 star. The hotel is poorly designed especially the lift lobby. There is only 3 small lifts for guests but 1 was being used by the maintenance staff to transport some hotel fixtures, thus the guests only had 2 lifts to use. At the time of our check-in there were other tour groups checking-in so you can only imagine the long queue of people waiting with the luggage.
The room was also not well maintained. The edge of our room door (rm #1002) was chipped, looking like someone had broken into the room. The chain latch on the door was not installed properly but I hear that it's the same in the other rooms. Above the door was a smoke detector/sensor devise that was also not installed properly exposing the electrical parts. There were no duvet skirting for the beds which meant that we could see the plastic wrapping of the duvet, and the bed sheets and quilts seem too small for the beds. The bathroom lights switches off automatically to save energy so it's not advisable to take too long a shower, and the bathroom light switch is not near the bathroom door so it's troublesome if you need to switch on the lights again.
To give a guest a room in such terrible condition not only shows a lack of respect for the guest, but also shows that the staff takes no pride in keeping the rooms well maintained.
This was the last hotel we were staying in before we flew home and it was the worst way to end a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Address: 6-1 Jamwon-dong, Seocho-gu, Seoul 137-902, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riverside Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.