We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional korean home in the center of old seoul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KunDaeMunJip

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seoul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KunDaeMunJip
124 Gye-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 523 Seoul B&B and Inns
israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“traditional korean home in the center of old seoul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

i wanted some thing special and i got it big time!!! beautiful location and the best in the city!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed two nights at KunDaeMunJip and had the most wonderful experience staying in a traditional house. I love the owners. They were very hospitable, friendly and helpful.
The location was excellent - about 5-7 minutes to the nearest subway station (Anguk). Along the street there were many eateries and convenient stores. The KAL Airport Limousine pickup point was next to the subway station. Best shopping place was at Insadong where there are many shops selling souvenirs. There are also many stalls selling yummy local snacks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

It's very expensive and the Hanok is very modern and new.The Hanok expansive is not inclusive in the accommodation fee. Don't have the traditional feel as all. Toilets are also very modern. They serve English Breakfast, which totally disappoint me. The place is clean, and the location is good, it's still not recommended to stay in this Hanok.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

spend a night at kundamunjip! the host are really friendly and speak Very well english.
We went out and got home really late, when the taxi driver call them to asked the location, they still pick up the phone and explain to the driver how to get back. we stayed at room 105, a seperate house can accomodate all of 5 of us. Great place clean and I love the dog!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Spend a week in Kundaemunjip and it was fabulous! The hosts were very accommodating and nice. Very clean and tranquil surrounding. My family and I have a wonderful time!Would recommend strongly for those who wants a quiet place in Seoul. Its location is wonderful too! Walking distance to Insadong shopping belt and Chungdeokgung palace.
Thanks Na Na and Song!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My Wife and I wanted a more authentic hotel experience for my first trip to Korea and KunDaeMunJip was exactly what we were looking for. It is a beautifully restored Hanok with just 5 rooms and the location is great! The rooms are impeccable and they make a wonderful breakfast for you each morning as well as Tea in the afternoon. The owners really make you feel at home and speak perfect English as well as Korean. I highly recommend staying at this wonderful Inn and exploring the great neighborhood full of vintage traditional style Korean Hanok's. It was the highlight of our trip! I am already planning my return visit...We miss
KunDeMunJip!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KunDaeMunJip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KunDaeMunJip

Address: 124 Gye-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 523 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KunDaeMunJip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added KunDaeMunJip to your Saves list