We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended- Excellent Staff, Location, Price, and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doo guesthouse Bukchon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Doo guesthouse Bukchon to your Saves list
Doo guesthouse Bukchon
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   15-6 Gye-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-800, South Korea (Samcheongdong / Bukchon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended- Excellent Staff, Location, Price, and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I loved my stay at Doo Guesthouse and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in experiencing a traditional Hanok.

The staff is outstanding; they are efficient and helpful. They address any concerns or questions you have quickly and effectively, and try to help you the best they can.

The guesthouse is also conveniently located within walking distance to major tourist sites, restaurants, mini marts, and the Anguk subway station (10 minutes.)

Lastly, the guesthouse offers comfort and a reasonable price. It is clean- the shared bathroom is cleaned frequently and towels, soap, and shampoo are constantly replaced. In addition, a basic breakfast of toast, tea, and coffee is offered everyday. It's also nice that there is a shared fridge, so you can buy your own groceries.

I look forward to staying at Doo Guesthouse again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
8
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse is a 5 minutes walk from the train station. A comfy hanok experience that shouldn't be missed for first timers to Korea like me. And the owners are very helpful whenever we needed guidance on directions or where to find food! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed in Doo Guesthouse for 4 nights.. It was a good experience that to live in the korean traditional house which I have not being try before!

Furthermore, you may take the chance of borrow their traditional clothes to have photo session outside the room which will made your korean trip more memorable :)

Staff are friendly, speak good english, helpful and give us advice when traveling in Seoul. Also, the dog is very funny and cute!

There is some small towel, shampoo packs provided by the guesthouse. Thus, there is no worries if you forget to take your personal amenities.

Location is great in the Seoul Hanok area, a lots of restaurant, convenience stop with just 5-10 minutes walking distance!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I like the fact that Hanok was located in the Bukchon area and that it is nearby Angguk station but near enough if you have a heavy luggage!! Be prepared for a slight hilly walk. There were also a lot of choices nearby for food, coffee shops as well as convenience stores. It is also within walking distance from the two main palaces, Changdeokgung and Gyeongbokgung, the National Folk Museum and Samcheondong cafe street. The heated floor was warm enough for cold nights and there was also a tv in the room although you won't use it much.
They also let you try on the hanbok for pictures taking. If you want someone to recommend what to eat, you can check with Donnie, Nate or one of the two Mins. Doo also provides laundry services if you are planning on a long term stay. Food is not provided but they have a kitchen where you can make yourself a simple breakfast of bread with jam/peanut butter, coffee and tea. You can even buy your own groceries to cook if you want to. They are a slight distance away from the main road so it's pretty quiet at night but the room walls are pretty thin so if your next room neighbour is a loud snorer, you will hear it!
Overall, I would recommend Doo to anyone who is looking to experience a traditional stay within a convenient location.

Room Tip: The rooms are all similar but try not to bring luggage that are too big or there won't be enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Once, one of my korean friends told me about the traditional korean-style house.
But, I wasn't interested in it at that time.
Few months later, I just started to be fascinated with Korean culture and wanted to experience it when I visited Korea.
Therefore, I decided to visit Bukchon Hanok Village that my friend recommended.
By chance, I stopped by Doo guesthouse during walking.
I could easily get info from one of the workers who was really kind and passionated.
I heard that they opened a new branch nearby.
At that time, I also made a reservation for a double-room with private bathroom in the third branch.
We stayed at there for three nights and also tried to put on the korean traditional dress "Han-Bok" for free.
All the rooms were well decorated with props.
In my opinion, the locaton of Doo Guesthouse was so perfect that I could easily reach tourist attractions.
Thanks to staffs in Doo Guesthouse!
I didn't know how to use transportations and had no plan without any info.
I will visit Korea again and Doo Guesthouse^^

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

staying here for 2 nights , the room is big , comfy with private bathroom,
able to have hanok experience , and are able to try on the traditional hanbok for taking picture too
the owner and staff is very helpful and friendly , they can speak good english too .
the mini mart and restaurants very nearby open at night too ... so if you are hungry in middle of the night can just go out for a grab of food ,,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in the first weeks of November to try the traditional hanok experience.

We chose a double room with private bathroom. It was a nice experience but I would recommend it for a shorter stay of maximum 2 nights not for 6 nights as we did.

The room is clean but 6 nights sleeping on the floor is not very comfortable. We had a private bathroom but it had no windows and a bad smell entered the room where we slept. Also, the shower was attached to the sink and no shower cabin. This meant that there would be lots of water in the bathroom all the time.

Although outside it was very cold, the room was well heated with a heated floor.

The location is good, in Bukchon Hanok Village. There are two locations of Doo GuestHouse in the area so make sure you make yourself understood where you want to stay. I went to the reception in the main location but my room was in the other location, which I didn't really appreciate.

It was a nice experience but I would recommend it for a short stay of one to two nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doo guesthouse Bukchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doo guesthouse Bukchon

Address: 15-6 Gye-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-800, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doo guesthouse Bukchon 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Doo guesthouse Bukchon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doo guesthouse Bukchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.