We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sejong Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sejong Inn to your Saves list
Sejong Inn
51-10 Chungmuro 2-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-861, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 589 Seoul B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 20 Reviews
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The best thing about Sejong in is its location - about 10 minutes walk from Myeongdong Station (I forgot which exit) and the airport bus stop. We got a standard double room. Beddings were okay and we were given the basics. Breakfast was composed of toast, jam and milk. We were assigned to a room on the 5th floor and they had no elevator so it was quite an effort bring our luggage up and down upon arrival and departure.

The room was just enough for the bed and a bit of room for luggage and moving around. We stayed sometime October last year and weather was somewhere between 5-12 degrees C. Their heater was enough to keep us warm :)

Pet peeves: They didn't clean the rooms and we had to take our trash outside the room door for them to pick up. We had to ask for new towels in order for the hotel staff to change them. The comfort room was small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
4
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very close to Myeongdong station and can be reached by grabbing the 6011 Airport Shuttle bus that goes from one of the bus stops directly outside Incheon International Airport and getting off at the last stop.

What are the pros? Well, it's cheap, they do offer breakfast for free, WiFi available throughout the hotel. Staff were generally quite helpful.

Any cons?

Well I do have mixed feelings regarding the location. We do believe that since Myeongdong is the shopping district that it would be easy to find the shops everywhere, however, that's not quite case and requires orientation and time to reach those areas. Please keep in mind that because Seoul is so big, the clubs, shops and universities are generally not in the same area. If your planning to go clubbing, don't stay in Myeongdong; stay in Gangnam or Hongdae. Otherwise you'll pay a bomb for the taxi home. For shopping during the day then, the subway is good enough.

Some of the staff don't speak English but generally speaking it wasn't a problem.

There were a few problems with the room. The air conditioning unit in the room wasn't very sophisticated and had to be left on for a while before you could actually feel a difference. Out of the 3 places i stayed at on the trip this Summer, that A/C was definitely the worst.

A big design flaw in the bathroom meant that it was prone to flooding and indeed did so which meant that relocating to another room for a night was necessary; which I wasn't best impressed with. With regards to the attitude of the staff towards the flooding, they weren't very apologetic and insisted that I "understand their situation" as rooms were filling up and the staff were often busy. They tried to help but I would say they were powerless.

So is my overall rating of "Poor" fair?

Well to the answer the question we need to consider the seriousness of the aforementioned cons. The predicament of the flooded bathroom is something I do not feel guests should have to negotiate, whether budget hotel or otherwise. Perhaps what was more frustrating is the lack of power possessed by the staff to remedy the situation. Obviously, they can't refurbish the bathroom but that is not the point. There is no lift present to aid guests to their rooms. The breakfast is limited and takes place in a small pseudo-kitchen at peculiar hours. Location is debatable because although the hotel is not necessarily very close to the shopping or bar districts, the convenience of the Seoul metro means that it doesn't need to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

small budget hotel. limited breakfast option and is located in a small room with just enough space for 4-5 persons, better to start early. Located very near to Myeongdong train station, about 5 mins walk. Its located a bit off the main road but sign-posted from the road. easy access to the shopping district though not many restaurants nearby. Airport shuttle stop is also located nearby. it takes about 20 mins to walk to the cable car terminal for N-tower though the better option is to take the bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Best thing about this hotel is the price and location. I needed a central place to stay for 1 night and found this place. It is not the Four Seasons, but it is right for the price and location. It is within walking distance of Myeong dong (10 minutes), Seoul Station (25 minutes) and near Namdaemun (gate and market, 20 minutes) and also within walking distance to Cheonggyecheon and Dongdaemun (30 minutes each).

The room is basic, bed, TV, small bathroom. There is a basic free breakfast (coffee, cereal, toast). There is also left luggage room. Best way to get there is to goto Myeong dong station, exit 10, and walk east. You will cross intersection and see a Dominos Pizza. Walk past that and then you will see a parking lot. Make a left after lot and then take the first right into small alley and you will see the hotel.

Also can go to Chungmuro station, exit 5 and walk west.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The first budget hotel I stayed in and it was a good experience. I stayed in a triple room for 3 nights though there were only 2 of us.
The room had a double and single bed, it can fit 3 people but if you have very large luggage it might be cramped. Bathroom is a bit cramped but all facilities function and they have free shampoo, soap and toothbrush.
The hotel is clean, very conveniently located and has free Wi-Fi.
The staffs are friendly and helpful, even though their English is not the best.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I were there for 6 nights in October. The best thing about the inn is the location, which is only 5 mins walk to Myeongdong station and Chungmuro station. The staff helped us carried our lugguages to our room and also helped us find information about Nami Island. We loved using the internet and the water dispenser with hot and cold water at the pantry. Our room was quite clean and tidy although it was a little cramp but it was cozy. Overall it was a value for money and pleasant stay except for one issue, the water pressure (our double deluxe room is at the top level) was very low and inconsistent, making our bathtime a hassle.

Room Tip: ask for a room at any levels except at the highest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have stayed for 1 night. The room is too small and narrow. The owner is kind and friendly, but the manager didn't show his hospitality or being helpful. He let us bring and lift up our own stuffs when we checked - out. We were surprised when we came to check in, the manager was quarreling with some guests emotionally. He was rude. The yoghurt for breaksfast was stale.

Room Tip: The room has a heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sejong Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sejong Inn

Address: 51-10 Chungmuro 2-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-861, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 589 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sejong Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sejong Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sejong Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.