We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daebak! Thankful to have stayed at Studio 41st!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio 41st Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Studio 41st Hostel to your Saves list
Studio 41st Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   32, Seongmisan-ro 22-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 121-869 , South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 336 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
5.0 of 5 stars 184 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Daebak! Thankful to have stayed at Studio 41st!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Me and my mom had stayed here for 8 nights in May and we are more than satisfied with the level of service provided + the well equipped room which makes you feel that u're definitely been well look after by.
Any queries that u have, just look for AJ or Moon or any one in their office and viola it's answered.
Missing Studio 41st breakkie which served real fresh veggies harvested every morning, their simple brekkie is well enough to prepare us for our long day ahead...
Always having a bright cheery smile on their face to welcome us back from our tiring day out ^-^
Staying here just adds on to our wonderful and fantastic memories that we had of Seoul!

Thank u so much for the utmost kindness and hospitality shown :-)
Will definitely choose Studio 41st again if we were to be back!

Take care lots to team of Studio 41st!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Zhen Qi!!!!
This is AJ, a manager of Studio 41st Hostel ^^
How are you?
Team Studio 41st are really miss you, especially me!!!

I hope you have precious time in Korea, especially at Studio 41st hostel.
We always try our best to provide best service and friendly atmosphere.

Also, We like to hear from all our customers ^^ like you.
With your help we can develop even better service in the future!!!
Such as preparing events with our guests ^^

We value your feedback and pride ourselves on working collaboratively.
Thank you for your review and hope to see you next time.

Take care until then ^^

From
Your good pal, AJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    42
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We ( Little Family ) stayed at Studio 41st only 3 nights , but we already miss you !!!
The managers, AJ , Moon ,Sol were super friendly and nice to us ,
Always smiling, really helpful and friendly and asking us where we're going that day so that they can give us more suggestions and offered help when we needed it.
(especially the 1st day we met AJ who run to meet us when we lost way , it was really memorable moment!!

We would definitely come back to Studio 41st when visiting Seoul in the future.

Thank you Studio 41st for making our stay really comfortable and memorable as well.
We had an awesome stay with you. 

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi! Sweet Little Famliy ^^
This is AJ, one of you guys best friends in Korea ^^
Thanks for your awesome review about us.
We really appreciate it.
Our first meeting also unforgettable memory to me ^^
Also, I really miss Little's cutie smile ^^
Thanks for coming studio 41st Hostel.
We miss you all!!
From. AJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hostel is in a quiet area on the opposite side of all the bars and clubs of Hongdae.
Yeonnam-dong has a lot of small restaurants and cute cafes.
Close to the hostel there are groceries shops, cafes, restaurants, hair dresser, bank, bars, etc.
In the night time, it´s very quiet and the shops are all closed, if you are still hungry, use the delivery service.

The staff of Studio41st is very friendly. They are helpful. Open-minded people, and talk a lot with their guests. Eventhough I travel alone, I enjoyed my stay there.

The rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, shower..kitchen, TV, Internet, ( wifi ), clothes hanger, laundry rack, shoe cabinet,some kitchen utensils to cook your own meal, the beds are very comfortable.

they provide soap, detergent, coffee, sugar etc. If you don´t have it in the room, you can just ask the manager. Next to the office, they have a "second-hand" free shop.. where travellers left their things at the hostel (like shampoo, lotion, tooth paste etc )

The breakfast is from 8.30am to 10.30am.. If you wake up early, 8.30am might be late to eat breakfast. The breakfast is served in the common room, which is very nice. There, you can meet many people from all over the world.

I like this hostel very much and I go back to the hostel every time I go to Seoul.
The price is cheaper than a hotel, and better service ( like free breakfast, free internet, free TV )

The hostel is 1 minute away from the Taxi drivers stop. It´s easy.
It´s a 10min walk to the subway station "Hong ik University " exit 2.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi!! Veronique!
This is AJ, a manager of Studio 41st Hostel.
Thanks for your sweet comments about us ^^
We really appreciate it.
Also, glad to hear that you had a great time with us ^^
Thanks for coming back to Studio 41st ^^
hope to see you again ^^
and Take care yo b-girl!!

From AJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My bf & I travelled to Seoul to visit our friend & have a good Spring holiday. We were offered a stay w our friend in his Gangnam apt but after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to give Studio41st a try!

We stayed in the hostel for nine nights & this is probably the first trip we spent so much time in the hostel. The weather was too epic & we fell sick! AJ, one of the hostel manager kindly drew up the map & indicate in Korean writing about illness for the family doctor. It was quite an experience since we don't get injection all the time in Singapore! I had my very first hip injection for cold & eczema!

We love the hostel managers! They really made the whole Seoul experience. The night hostel managers, Jin & Sol spoilt us badly with the awesome oven-baked chicken delivery that is so good till we had it twice. Jin is really meticulous, he knows my bf need his rice for dinner to go w the chicken, he printed out a 'CJ' rice pack for us to bring to the convenient store to purchase.

Not to mention the ladies, AJ & Moon, greeting us sweetly every morning & we made them worried after we tell sick!

Back to the hostel rooms, we stayed in all three room categories. They r all well equip w kitchen, washing machine, TV & computer. Most imptly, floor heating & room shower heating mode. The rooms r so cozy that we even said that our apartment has to look like this!

The hostel is tucked within the quiet neighbourhood of Hongdae, away from the buzz and nightlife but it's definitely charming with the local residential activities & good cafes around. You can get a double shot latte @ USD2.50 just round the corner. Three supermarkets & a convenient store down the street! Lotsa local eateries & a Korean fried chicken place, Maru Chicken.

Btw, this place seems really popular among Singaporeans. Rest assure fellows! You'll like this place. :)

Thanks so much AJ, Moon, Jin & Sol. I'll remember Seoul with many great memories of Studio 41st & u lovely folks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello!! Jia yi! Khuang yong!
This is AJ, a manager of Studio 41st Hostel.
Thanks for your sweet comments about us ^^
I'm so glad to hear that you guys had a great time at here, Studio 41st Hostel
It was really nice to meet yo guys.
I hope you have precious time in Korea, especially at Studio 41st hostel.
We always try our best to provide best service and friendly atmosphere.
Also, We like to hear from all our customers.
With your help we can develop even better service in the future!
We value your feedback and pride ourselves on working collaboratively.
Thank you for your review and hope to see you next time.
Sincerely,
-AJ-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the hostel during our trip to Korea in April. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They were efficient in providing help when we purchased the tickets for Nanta from them and when we asked to order in instead of eating out. Breakfast was provided in the common room, in the morning from 0830-1000 and a phone to make international call was available. The room is adequately furnished with a hairdryer, a washing machine, a rack for drying your clothes, and others. Although we were rarely in the hostel because we were travelling around Seoul, the place felt like home after the first day. I won't hesitate to stay in Studio 41st the next time I visit Seoul!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello!! Fer!
This is AJ, a manager of Studio 41st Hostel ^^
Thanks for your comments about us.
We really appreciate it. Thanks ^^
I hope that we will meet again at here, Studio 41st Hostel ^^
Also, Glad to hear that you have precious time in Korea, especially at Studio 41st hostel.
We always try our best to provide best service and friendly atmosphere.
Thanks, Fer.
and See you again ^^
Bye~~ Take care
-AJ-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friend and I were totally appreciated and enjoy when we were staying there. All staff are kind. The hostel is not far from Hongik station, just walk about 10-15 mins. It locate in good area.
Hope you guys do not hesitate to have great experience with Studio 41st.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi!! Jane!!!
Thanks for your comments about us!
We really appreciate it ^^
I hope that everybody are doing well.
and hope to see you guys again~~

We always try our best to provide best service and friendly atmosphere.
Also, We like to hear from all our customers.
With your help we can develop even better service in the future!
We value your feedback and pride ourselves on working collaboratively.

Thanks,

-AJ-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place is a gem. If you dont mind the slight walk from the Hongik University station, this place is probably the best value for money in all of Seoul.

The room is adequately furnished, clean and has all that you need, including a stove, washing machine (no dryer), drying rack, utensils, water dispenser etc. The common room is a great place to hang out and meet people, and cook your breakfast. AJ and Moon were excellent hosts and they run the place really well.

PROs:
1. Near Hongdae, great place to hang out
2. Room comes with everything you need
3. Clean
4. Friendly
5. Located in a residential area and you feel like you're actually staying in Seoul
6. Surrounded by shops that sell Soju
7. Room comes with PC
8. There's just too many....

CONs:
1. No elevator
2. No wardrobe. Gotta use the coat rack which can sometimes be insufficient if there's more than one person in the room or in my case if you're wearing many layers in winter

Room Tip: There's no elevator so if that's an issue, inform the staff and ask for a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello!!
Actually, I remember all of you guys ^^
Thanks for you guys sweet comments about us.
I hope that you guys had a great time in Seoul and Sokcho ^^
Also, we really glad to hear that you guys had a good time in Korea and Studio 41st.
With your help we can develop even better service in the future!
We value your feedback and pride ourselves on working collaboratively.
Thank you for your review and hope to see you next time.
Bye~
-AJ-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Studio 41st Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 41st Hostel

Address: 32, Seongmisan-ro 22-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 121-869 , South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 336 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 41st Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful, quiet residential area and still within walking distance of Hongdae in Seoul Korea. Studio 41st offers a memorable experience that will be imprinted on your mind for a long time.Studio 41st is an ideal place for families and friends who seek a family-friendly and friend-like atmosphere. Guests can keep privacy in a fully equipped en suite room, whereas all staff are super enthusiastic about providing one-to-one information about places to go, eat, and see on request. From a welcoming greeting to farewell, guest will experience Korean heartfelt affection, called ‘Jeong(情).’One of its great features is complimentary breakfast buffet, which consists of various kinds of organic bread, fresh salad, seasonal fruit, ham, egg, cheese, cereal, and beverage. Breakfast is served in a big, cozy common room every morning by our staff hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Studio 41st Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 41st Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio 41st Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.