We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seoulwise Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seoulwise Guesthouse to your Saves list
Seoulwise Guesthouse
197-29, Donggyo-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 336 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 45 Reviews
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is my fourth stay in Seoul, and my second at Seoulwise Guesthouse, and we will definitely be back again.

The location is great. Hongdae is easily reached from the airport by AREX train and airport limo bus (we prefer the train), and the area has plenty of great options for dining. The Hongik University train station is also well connected to a couple of lines so its a good base for exploring. We love the vibe of the Hongdae area.

The ensuite room has everything we need - ensuite (of course), comfortable bed, air con, lockable storage for large items, no smoking (very important to us), clean and fast, free wifi. Great value too. Breakfast is provided and its a good chance to catch up with other guests and also the host, Young, who is happy to help with any advice you need and help plan your day.

On our most recent stay, it was raining when we had to check out so Young drive us to the train station in his car which was GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks once again Young, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gwangju, South Korea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This excellent guesthouse is my new favorite place to stay in Seoul. It's located very close to the Hongik University subway stop which means it's in a trendy, fun neighborhood and very convienent to the subway and airport train. The Hongdae area is full of hostels and guesthouses but Seoulwise is the best I've found because it's comfy, clean and quiet and the owner is incredibly friendly and helpful. I stayed both in one of the dorm rooms and in a private, twin room with a friend. The rooms here are converted studio apartments so each room has its own bathroom. I recommend paying a few thousand won extra for the 4 person dorm instead of the 6 or 8 person dorm room because the wooden bunk beds in the 4-person room are much sturdier. Mr. Young, the owner, went out of his way to help the guests and to provide information and recommendations. The other guests were quiet and courteous, the lounge area is nice, the free breakfast of toast, cereal, juice and coffee was great and the wifi is reliable. Basically, this place has everything you could be looking for in a low-budget accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here on September 2011, it was possible to do late check-in with prior notification.
Located 5 minutes from Hongik University Station.

Booked double (or twin) ensuite room, the room and bathroom is clean and spacious.
Kitchen available to have breakfast and there's library consisted mostly of traveling books/guide. Wifi available with a very good connection (even in the room).
The owner (Mr Young) is very helpful, asked about our itinerary and gave advice about the best route to take. He's also lending us the Seoul City Pass to use (so we don't have to buy one, because it's non-refundable once bought).
Would love to stay here again when we return to Seoul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Seoulwise Guesthouse should have been on the top 3! The guesthouse did feel home every single day. The rooms and amenities are clean and easy. Each room is equipped with an ensuite bathroom which is important to me. Wifi is excellent everywhere even inside the room. The shower has good water pressure and can adjust temperature. The house/room key would make you feel secured even going home late at night (well even the neighborhood). Basic but filling breakfast is available for the guests. The common area is very homey and it's an area of opportunity to chat with Mr. Young and with other travelers to share ideas and ask questions. Every morning, Mr. Young prepares the breakfast himself and asks you where you would be going for that day, asks why and how we're going to get there. He's more than what you can expect from an owner. He's fantastic! He is a world traveler so he knows and understands exactly what your needs are. He's generous with information and of his time and service especially if it can provide convenience for you. The guesthouse is a 5-minute walk from the station which goes to and from Incheon airport directly. There's also a bus stop, just a little across from the station where it can bring you to Incheon airport. There are nearby restaurants, bakery, grocery and convenience store where you can charge your M-Pass Card easily. Very convenient! Reserving a room is easy. No need for down payment and Mr. Young calls a week before just to confirm your reservation. Our trip to Korea had been made more pleasant by staying here. I definitely recommend and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Mr. Young was up until nearly 1AM waiting for us to arrive and check in on our first night and was still friendly and helpful. Upon check in, he handed us maps and even lent us subway cards to use during our stay, saving us each the 2500 won on the non-refundable card deposits. He also asked us if we needed an outlet converter. During our entire stay, he and and the other staff were always very quick to answer any questions we had about the city and offer advice. Many guesthouses don't bother with this kind of service, and this is where Seoulwise stands out.

The rooms are clean, but very basic, and are good value for Seoul at 50,000 won per night. Ours was heated well and we didn't have any problem with hot water in the bathroom. The lights in the room are kind of harsh and there's not much in the way of decoration, so it's not all that inviting a place to hang out, but Seoul has so much to do that you'll likely spend very little time at the guesthouse anyways and the common area is comfortable.

Seoulwise is a very good option at this price range and I'd definitely recommend it to others, especially for the handy knowledge and assistance Mr. Young and his staff are able to offer.

Room Tip: Room 303 had a problem with the door that even when shut properly, wind would cause it to rattle in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My review is a little bit late but my friend and I stayed at Seoulwise last April 2012 and Mr. Young was definitely the best. I got to Seoul at an earlier flight and since our room was not available he offered me to stay at a dorm room to rest and even offered me some breakfast. Also my friend came at a late flight (at around 11pm) and Mr. Young was so kind as to accompany me in his car to the train station since it was raining and cold that night. He speaks good english and offers good advise to travellers particularly with food ^_^. Location wise it was really convenient as it was near the Hongik University area. The rooms were clean and spacious for a twin room and the beds were really comfortable. My friend and I will definitely miss Minnie in her hanbok and walking around Hongik (minus the rain). Hopefully we'll get the chance to go back there again :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Korea is one of my favourite countries that i've ever visited.Since it was my first visit to Korea, i think Seoulwise was a very comfortable place to stay. Mr Young, the owner was very nice and he provided us with some maps near hongik and Seoul. Those informations provided were really helpful. It made us easier to explore Seoul, the location of the guesthouse was near with subway station(hongik university station). Beside the information, he also provided us with healthy breakfast. Since it was winter, the weather was extremely cold and it's really a new experience for me to explore the city which i've never gone before and of course it was really unforgettable moments spent in Seoul. We stayed here from 29th Dec- 3rd January, the private room was really clean, completed with heater and we felt really warm. Thank you Mr young for setting everything for us and I'm absolutely going back to stay in your guesthouse since it's really recommended one to stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seoulwise Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seoulwise Guesthouse

Address: 197-29, Donggyo-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 336 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you been looking for clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a friendly, cozy and quite environment? You have come to the right place. Seoulwise is a Clean, Safe, Convenient, Comfort, Friendly, Informative guesthouse to make your trip a never to forget experience. 'We aim to be the best guesthouse in Korea.'- One of the most vibrant locations in Seoul - Hongdae(Hongik University)Seoulwise is conveniently located at the culturally rich Hongdae(Hongik University) area, the center for Seoulites in their 20s and 30s and indie artists. This area is packed with restaurants, bars, shops and clubs. It is one of the most vibrant and enjoyable places to explore in Seoul. Also we are easily accessible by all types of transportation including Airport railroad, metro, city buses and airport limousine buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Seoulwise Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seoulwise Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.