We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location bring a compass to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cats Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cats Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cats Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87-1, Nakwon-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 387 hotels in Seoul
san francisco ca usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great location bring a compass to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I booked this hotel online and finding it was a major hassle. It is located in the Isadong area, great area of Seoul. The hotel is off and alley and you really can't see it until you are on top of it. The I notice that when I go to my room it has a huge bathtube in the middle of the room- how was I to know this is a "love" hotel but not at all seedy actually after they moved my room to one with a huge bathtube I found the hotel to be very comfortable plus in a great neighborhood

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
13
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Great location, however the area does feel rather dodgy at nites. There's lots of late nite eateries and it is within walking distance to Insadong, Jongmyo shrine etc. The train station has 3 lines and it's also close to the main Jongno road thus very convenient and accessible.
Nice touch- free ice cream and coffee at lobby, and sometimes breakfast snacks. Wifi is only at the lobby, computer in room is impossibly slow so don't count on it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Quite a stylish hotel and good value. Good first impressions despite evasive front desk staff. Our room even had a bath/jacuzzi in the bedroom. The place has a strange air about it, though. A little like a place that couples might rent by the hour.

I accidentally dropped something down the side of the bed and discovered a nasty hoard of used condoms when I pull it away from the wall. Yuck. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Good location, all the attractions are easy to reach by train or walk. Its better to take a taxi when you arrive since the hotel is not easy to find, hiding behind another building! But once you've found it, it's a good value for the price. I stayed with my husband in the junior suite which i recommend since the price is good and you have a pretty big room and a very comfortable bathroom with a huge jacuzzi tub.
I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: If you can, choose a suite, it's a very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We arrived at Cats Hotel after some long transit from the airport (if you have luggage, do not take the subway, navigating the labyrinth of stairways and few escalators would not be a good start to a relaxation trip. Choose the airport limousine bus instead that goes to Jongno, which stops at 5 minutes walk away from the hotel). The hotel staff at night did not speak English and could only understand "Checking in" and our agoda hotel voucher.

We understood what a love motel is and have appropriate expectations. We chose Cats hotel because of its price point, location, alleged tasteful decor and cleanliness that we read about in reviews. Unfortunately on the last 2 points, the stay fell very short.

We were given a very small room on the business floor that was very dimly lit. We requested for a change of room after repeating ourselves several times in basic English and hand gestures but they simply grunted "no more room". The room looked nothing like the condition in the booking sites.

Given there wasn't any closet to hang our stuff in, we had to be living out of our suitcases -- this was a big hassle when there was no space to even lay open our suitcases. The chairs in the room were grimy and one even had a questionable stain on it (it's a love motel :D). We started to itch after sitting on them for a while and resorted to using one of the hand towels provided as a seat barrier (!!!)

Bed was very very hard, we laid very straight and were afraid to turn as we may break something. I didn't sleep a wink that night.

There was one LAN-connected PC provided in the room but is running on IE6 and a very old system, it took ages just to load a page and hung repeatedly. Note that Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby.

This is definitely not a businessman friendly hotel, there were no accessible power sockets at all, everything is hidden behind a panel or fixed furniture, probably for aesthetics but the hotel has simply failed to provide a basic requirement for travellers. We need to charge phones, cameras, laptops, why make it so difficult?

Big tv, and 3 can drinks and 2 bottles of water complementary in the mini-fridge as other reviewers stated, but this could not make up for the horrible experience. We checked out early and agreed to pay a one-night penalty (we had booked for 5 nights but only stayed 1).

To our dismay, when we got back, Agoda informed us that the hotel claims we stayed 2 nights and have charged us for 3 including the one-night penalty. And Agoda took their word against ours. We had no receipt to prove time of check-out because the hotel staff in the morning, who spoke a little more english, assured us that the key card was all they needed to check us out and they do not provide receipts.

We have little recourse but are still trying to get 1 night's room charge back. Did the hotel staff simply not check us out till the next day or lied to gain one more day's charge? Either way, a truly unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hotel is hard to find, but once you are there it is well located to either walk around the old downtown district, or walk / train to the new downtown. Jungno-3 train station is quite large and one of the entrances is literally a street away. This connects to the central downtown line.

This is a fairly bohemian area with possibly Seoul's only gay bar up the street, tasty street food of an evening, cinemas (movies mostly in english), and bars. The hotel itself is quiet, well appointed, clean and well suited to couples (not really recommended for families). We had no complains at all.

For Seoul standards our room was fairly large and well heated (we were there in mid-winter), free wi-fi in the foyer and free coffee machine. The room had a very trendy fitout and designer toiletries however the beds were a little hard by western standards.

A fantastic hotel, we will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The room is suitable for couple and single person. Their rooms are small but clean. They provide each room with 3 cans drinks for free everyday. Check your mini bar. I suggest for those who have low/mid range budget for staying here. Beside that, this hotel is very near to subway station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cats Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cats Hotel

Address: 87-1, Nakwon-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-320, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 387 hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cats Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cats Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cats Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.