We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value with the warmest service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Zaza Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Zaza Backpackers Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   32-3, Namsandong-2ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-042, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 338 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 101 Reviews
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best value with the warmest service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hostel is a hidden gem. Excellent location -- minutes from subway station, the heart of fashion street of Seoul and all types of restaurants. I stayed in this hotel with my son two years ago, in August, 2011 (yes, I am slow-acting). Clean to my taste (I am picky). Laundry service (washed and DRIED) was a relief with a minimal charge -- no more carrying around sweaty clothes.

Their service level can be summed up with the front desk person's comments, "The owner told us (employees) that we must remember our guests go through a long planning for their trips to this country. We want them to experience pleasant stay."

I just made a reservation for a week stay at this hotel for our visit in June this year (2013).

Review by Kim E., Washington, D.C.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room on the street side. It was not too noisy. I think all rooms are okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Second time staying in zaza. Didn't have better experience as compared to the first. Rooms were small, bathroom clogged for days and heater wasn't working well.

However staff were friendly and location is unbeatable. Just 5 minutes from the shopping haven myeongdong

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I found out about Zaza in tripadvisor. My friends and I stayed there last December 2011 and found it very convenient and delightful! The location is very near one of the best shopping districts in Seoul, Myeondong. It is also a good walking distance to Namsan Tower!

We had such a great time that this became my favorite hostel choice in Seoul. Rooms are clean and have airconditioning/heater and heated floors on winter.

We loved the idea of a loft in the family room. It made the room feel less crowded for a group of 4. The bathroom was spacious unlike other hostels in Seoul. My only complaint is that the walls were opaque (at least in the family room) so your shadow can be seen from outside. There is a tiny tv, hairdyer provided and you can always ask for toilet paper refill.

Staff was very helpful. My friend needed a needle and thread to fix something and the staff went out of his way to find one for us!

My friends and I stayed here again on December 2012 and we got the same family room. We had a last minute room change weeks before our arrival but the email exchanges we had with Zaza were efficient and helpful.

As a frequent traveler to Seoul, this would be my number one choice to stay in.

Tip to travelers here: There is a stoplight just a short distance from the bus drop-off from Incheon that you don't have to bring your luggages down the subway just to cross the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Far overdue review, stayed here during autumn September for 15 nights (Used Seoul as base) They have a 6 nights and get 1 night free so it amounts to roughly 15% discount, which is a plus. Arrived in the night and allocated a room. Room was spacious, plenty of space to put out my luggage. Toilet was clean and there hot water was working well. Hostel staff were friendly, they wrote directions in Korean when we had difficulties. No breakfast, although they had coffee and tea etc.

Room Tip: Had a room on the outside of the building of zaza1, with its own flight of stairs. It's very pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The nearest subway station is Myeongdong, and the location of the hostel isn't exactly far, but walking uphill takes a bit of exercise. We stayed in the new wing, and they don't provide breakfast but have free coffee, tea and a water dispenser for use.

My main gripe is the lack of soundproofing. Sounds of people in the hallway, slippers coming down the stairs, people opening the electronic lock were very disruptive.

Other than that, it was fairly clean, came with an in-suite bathroom and the room was new.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sibu, malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed in zaza backpackers for 5 nights in October during my trip to Seoul. We were allocated a room in zaza backpackers II so there wasn't a lot of interactions with their staff. Generally, in terms of location, this will be definitely a very good choice as it is just opposite Myeongdong, the shopping heaven. Furthermore, it is really conveniently accessible to everywhere from the guesthouse. However, do not expect a spacious room though, and the design of my room is somehow a mistake though, as there are some piping exposed which i think it was initially intended to be a basin or water outlet, but eventually i guess the idea was aborted, so the exposed pipings were covered up with a small bedside table. The toilet is really small, and no toiletries provided. In fact before our departure to Seoul, i enquired if they provide towels for guests and the manager told me they did. I assumed that they were providing bath towel, but only upon arrival we found out that they were supplying face towel instead of bath towel, ended up we had to try our best to dry up our body using the small towel. Sound-proofing is not so good, you can hear anyone in and out of the main door or shouting next to your room. Anyway, it is a nice place to stay, with the price that we pay. The staff can speak good english and on and off they will throw a rooftop party for their guests. If you have a chance to access to their rooftop, please do go, it will be a nice spot for night scenary and Namsam Tower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Both of us were given a family room for four persons. Room is spacious, bathroom is clean and pressure is good. Many eateries out there, and please try the two two fried chicken! It's crispy and not oily at all!!

Zaza is located just right opposite to myeongdong shopping district, easy access via myeongdong subway exit 4,5 & 6. You can take bus 6001 or 6012 airport shuttle bus to myeongdong, the bus station is located in front of Sejong Hotel which located opposite to zaza.

Many thankful to the zaza staff in advising us on the transport arrangement. We bought too many things and were panic how to carry all stuff to the airport. 3 male staff had giving us advices and one of them even help to carry our bag and walk to the airport shuttle bus station with us, make sure we wait at the right place. Really appreciate!

Will definitely stay at zaza again for my next visit to Seoul!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaza Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaza Backpackers Hostel

Address: 32-3, Namsandong-2ga, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-042, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 338 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zaza Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Seoul in the district of Myeongdong, Zaza Backpackers is a wholesome lodging facility great for visitors coming to Seoul for shopping, tourism, or on business. Several room types are available perfect for families, couples, friends or solo travelers. Each room comes with its own bathroom and is equipped with air conditioning and heating for a comfortable and pleasant stay. Maps, travel information, free internet and refreshments are available in the lobby and multilingual staff are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Zaza Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaza Backpackers Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.