We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ahjumma and place ever !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IB Ville Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added IB Ville Guesthouse to your Saves list
IB Ville Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   47, Toegye-ro 20-gil, Jung-gu | IB Bldg., Seoul 100-042, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best ahjumma and place ever !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ib ville has been very nice to me and my friends, they most likely assist our trips and give advices to us. they also took care of me and my friends. very friendly ! -Harris Santoso Kwan

Nice place , best service , and place feels home !!!! - Kevin

I love this place because they very kind and also friendly , and also they tried their best to help me while i am sick...This place also really close to myeongdong station so its easy to go anywhere..thats makes me stay at here..and i would like to recommend everyone to stay at this place if you go to korea.!!!

p.s: I really love the ahjumma and noona here !
-Richar (I will go to KOREA again and will stay here again)!!!!.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights from end of Aug to early Sep - & we didn't have anything to complain about. Location was excellent since it was just minutes away from Namsan tower, Myeongdong & subway station. We were also in very close proximity with cafe, restaurants and convenience stores so everything was in our reach & central.

When we first arrived, rooms were clean and the AC was working perfectly. We were allowed to change towels everyday (self-service) but we had to throw our own rubbish (which was OK). Breakfast was OK - bread with butter & jam, tea/coffee. It was self-sufficient & considered better than most hostels/guesthouses I've been in my life. Also, hot/cold water was available for free near the reception so that was pretty awesome - all the hostels I've been in Europe don't have anything like this.

Overall a pretty awesome stay. The only downside I would say is that the hostel is located along a hill so you would need to trek upwards to reach it. (good exercise for the young but inconvenient for the old) there are also no elevators within this guesthouse so do bring light suitcases if you choose to stay here because it will require quite a bit of work to lug it up if you stay in the upper floors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I can only say that this hostel is only good for it's location and nothing else. We stayed 3 nights in IB ville, there are no lifts and if you stay in condo unit which is on 3rd floor you will have to carry your luggage up or down on your own because the staffs will not help you.

- Room is old and not so clean, pictures are different from actual.
- Breakfast, only bread is provided have to take it to room and eat.
- Staffs are not friendly.

Overall, I would rather stay in some other guesthouse in Seoul.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I booked Ib Ville because my friend who stayed there before highly recommend it to us.
However, I found out that probably my expectations were a little bit too high. My fiancee and I went into Ib Ville using taxi, because we have heard of qualms of climbing the stairs from the nearest train station.
Upon reaching, the guy who checked us in was cold towards us, but he is very proficient in English, so there was no problem communicating. Basically, everything was just done following the book. No extra services or smile.
I am pretty satisfied with the room (double room). The room and the bathroom was spacious. However, on the third day, I found out that the pillow was wet from the air-con (air-con was above bed). I didn't bother to complain because we were checking out the next day, and we really didn't need the hassle with the tiring itinerary we had. I just placed a towel on top of pillow.
The location is extremely good. It was near Myeongdong station, probably 200m away, but I think the street was safe even at night? Because I saw a university student buying some groceries at 1.30a.m walking ALONE in the dark; that would never have happened back in my home town.
It was a good enough stay, only because my fiancee and I traveled out most of the time. We were probably in the room from 12am - 9am; strictly for sleep. Possible to walk to Namsan cable station if you don't mind walking. We enjoyed our walk to the station with the restaurants and sight seeing along the way. Overall, a good enough stay, but can be better. For the money and also service provided, I rather take my stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in ib ville for a total of 5 nights.

Two nights in room 110.
Two nights in room 306(condo unit)
1 night in room 111.
I feel that staying in 3 different rooms have given me a better idea on what this guest house has to offer.

Overall, if not for IB ville stay, my seoul experience would have been perfect. Several reasons are as follow.

1) First night in 110, i realized the curtains were very sheer and could not deflect the light away, hence, we had to sleep in semi light the whole night.
2) The room in 110 and 111 smells of drainage and toilet flushing system goes cranky at times.
3) Beds in all 3 rooms were rock hard
4) Renovation works begin around 9 am in the vicinity every day so if you are in need of a good sleep, please do not book this guest house.
5) The staff were generally nonchalant and does not care for the welfare of the customers.(does not help with bags or provide good tourist information and worst still, wears a glum face the whole time i was there)
6) Every service is almost chargeable ( even a 30 seconds phone call to a friend locally and storage space overnight)
7) Notifications were rude and in-your-face.

The only plus of the guesthouse would be the location and the price.It is near myeong dong station but there's a long hike up the slope before you reach the guesthouse.
Cheap but not worth the stay( i supposed there will be better guest houses around)

if you really feel like staying in the guesthouse despite all i have said, ask for the top floors or the condo units.

So yup. my two cents' worth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Ib Ville guesthouse in June 2012. We booked 3 rooms. The pics posted in their official website and the actual rooms were totally different. It looks much older and the layout were totally different.
Nevertheless, the rooms are generally spacious. The family room comes with a tiny kitchen area. Breakfast is self-service and comes with white bread and jam/butter. There is no breakfast area to mingle and you need to eat inside your room.
Not recommended for families with elderly as there is no lift in this guesthouse and you need to climb up and down the stairs quite alot (for taking the bread during breakfast, for changing of used towels and every time you need to head to the nearby 7-eleven).
Overall, an average guesthouse in a superb location. This guesthouse is within 5 minutes walk to the Myeong Dong shopping district and its a short walk from the subway station-Myeong Dong.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I would say the only commendable part of IB ville would be the Wifi. (which even this went wonky on our 2nd night there)

Ray wasn't very friendly towards us, and seeing us 4 girls, travelling with middle sized luggages, still gave us the 3rd level rooms. and no offer to help us to carry our luggage at all.

Breakfast provided is kinda terrible, and what's worse is that we had to stand in the middle of the corridor to eat our breakfast, while being afraid of disturbing the other people who were staying in the rooms next to the corridor.

Lastly, it has a security system but this creates alot of problem for us as all of us has to travel together. There is only one security card (which we must use to enter after 11pm because the staff would have disappeared) and one set of keys.

Our room was not very clean when we first checked in, and they DO NOT provide room service unless you stay more than 3 nights. Everything else is also chargeable and though that's fine by us, the way that they phrase their notices are very hostile. don't feel welcomed at all in this guesthouse.

I guess if you're looking for a no-frills place, this would be it. but location wise, i don't think it's the best either. Though near Myeongdong station, it is still a distance away from the exit (and uphill)

i would recommend Hongdae's Ann's Guesthouse instead. Pay a little bit more but you get a super awesome place!! and location rocks too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to IB Ville Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IB Ville Guesthouse

Address: 47, Toegye-ro 20-gil, Jung-gu | IB Bldg., Seoul 100-042, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — IB Ville Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IB Ville is a hotel-type guest house in Seoul, Korea located just few minutes away from Myeong Dong and Mt. Namsan. At IB Ville, you are never far from wherever your desire to be. This newly renovated guest house places you near a vibrant assortment of shops, restaurants, attractions, and nightlife - all within walking distance or accessible via subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your IB Ville Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ib Ville Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IB Ville Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.