We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San 5-5 Jangchung-Dong 2-Ga, Jung-Gu, Seoul 100-857, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 403 Hotels in Seoul
West Lafayette
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is not great as I expected. you know, it's Banyan Tree. The room is spacious, but furniture is relatively old. Great view from the room. The relaxing pool inside made the room really damp. Great location but incontinent transportation if you don't have a car. I stayed there during 'no taxi days' this summer, and really hard to get there by public transportation. The breakfast there was great and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
50
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My Husband and I was in Bnayan Tree Seoul during 25 - 28 Oct 2012.
We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room faced the Namsan/Seoul Tower. Every morning, the moment we woke up, looking the view from our window, it was so beautiful, especially with the Autumn scenery. The room was great, it equiped with a relaxing pool and our very own sauna room facing the Namsan. Breakfast was great too! The service staff are all so efficent and friendly. We will definately come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Some of my Korean friends put me up in this hotel & I completely enjoyed my stay. It is more of a boutique hotel medium sized. The staff is excellent and friendly and the food in the various places was excellent. The room had an amazing view and the property felt very private like an Oasis in the middle of Seoul.

The best part:
The sauna in your room is amazing! Huge relaxation tub and sauna shower. I want to bring my wife back as it had a very romantic feel to it. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the staff was amazing.

The worst part:
Some of the costs were ridiculous. Like the instant coffee machine in the room cost us US 60 dollars at the end of the trip and we only used it 3 times. I felt that was a shame for such a nice property to not offer free coffee in the room. There were other items in the room that cost so much that it was inconvenient to even use them. Even if money is not a problem for you it feels strange when a hotel is charging so much for items that you can get half the price at any other hotel and 1/10 of the price in a store.

Overall:
I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff, the property, the beauty, the food, the sauna, the pools, all are beautiful and I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Any room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice & relaxable. Good location but the service and information was so so. I dont recommend you forcely. Bilit if you want to stay with SPA and Massage. It is worthy to be here. And you can feel in the mid of the forest, NAMSAN

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with a young child, and it was perfect.

We stayed in the premier room with the wading pool and sauna in the room, and it was the perfect way to decompress after a 14-hour flight.

This hotel is a perfect oasis to escape the noise, pollution, and neon of metropolitan Seoul. There are no trendy bars, restaurants, or stores nearby. You'll have to start most of your explorations of the city via taxi.

Instead, the hotel offers quiet, excellent air quality, access to walking paths, access to more walking and cycling paths at the adjacent Namsan mountain, a driving range, and a spa with a pool that admits toddlers. Three available restaurants had good food.

Most locals knew this hotel as the old Tower Hotel, which had a poor reputation. Since then, Banyan Tree has taken the 200-room old hotel and converted it to a 40-room luxury tower, vastly improving the quality and experience. Word hasn't gotten out yet, so most cab drivers didn't know the property, and the KAL Limousine bus didn't stop there.

If you want to be in the center of all the action, then choose either the Hyatt/Shilla or the Intercon at COEX. However, if you want a peaceful experience in good air right in the Namsan Park area, then this hotel is for you. I cannot stress enough how great the in-room steam sauna and wading pool were after a trans-Pacific flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for one week, and we are very satisfied to be there. Vie are living in the Premier room - a big one with a small poolbath and steam sauna inside! The room view is exciting. We tried the Festa Cafe, and Granum Dining restaurant - they offer healthy cuisine. The breakfast is good, buffet offers a wide selections of fruits, yogurt, ect. But, breakfast time is over at 10.30, it is not comfortable for the europinian guests. Good location, big outside pool give a feeling that you are outside of Seoul, but you are not. Spa is over our expectation!

Room Tip: Premier rooms are on the high floor and very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

First of all let me say that we have stayed at Banyan Tree properties throughout Asia and Mexico for the past 7 years a few times every year. With varying success....
The Seoul property is a dream location for us with 3 competitive runners in the family. The mountain and its running paths are fantastic! It is also well located for sightseeing, and as the business is done on both sides of the river it works very well for family traveling. Husband does business meetings and family enjoys!
All the BT properties have wow factors galore, they have amazing architects and finishes each property beautifully. But unfortunately lack in how they see their guests too many times for the amount you pay. Seoul is no exception. They have a relaxing pool in the bedroom, wow! Looks stunning at night when you arrive! But the next day you realize there's nowhere to sit! It also never seems to be hot when needed and working the controls? Forget it! You get 2 (?) towels for the price of a cool $800+ per night (that would be my favorite) and all those facilities that you see on the website?!? You pay extra! Even the outdoor pool is extra! That irritated us no end. Luckily (?) it rained for the 3 days we were there prompting another hugely irritating aspect, umbrellas. They insisted there were 1 umbrella in the room (no, minimalistic, no extras....) and when giving us the umbrellas took great care to tell us they would be charged! Upon returning the guy literally jumped us while still in the car to get the umbrellas of us. Really? How much were we paying? 2 rooms.... And having a history with the BT that clearly they either don't know or don't care about...
Will we go back to the BT again? Absolutely! But you need to be aware and possibly ask more questions about what is included in the price. And also, don't go to the restaurants at the Seoul property. Really not worth the price for the quality you're getting...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul

Address: San 5-5 Jangchung-Dong 2-Ga, Jung-Gu, Seoul 100-857, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Seoul
#31 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#35 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Seoul’s picturesque Mt. Namsan, Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul is Banyan Tree’s first combination of urban resort and membership club. Located an hour’s drive from Incheon International Airport, and just 10 minutes from the lively beat of downtown Seoul, the hotel offers guests a welcome chance to escape the city’s hustle and fast pace, and to simply relax with family and friends amidst the serenity, greenery and natural beauty of Mt. Namsan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Club And Spa Seoul
Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Club & Spa Seoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.