We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should say the "GREEN HOUSE"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue House (Cheong Wa Dae)

The Blue House (Cheong Wa Dae)
1 Cheongwadae-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-820, South Korea
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Blue House (Cheong Wa Dae) like an insider
Top Rated
$531*
and up
3-Night Seoul Sightseeing and Shopping Tour
Ranked #112 of 613 things to do in Seoul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located just past Gyeongbokgung Palace, the Blue House (Cheong Wa Dae) is the imposing official residence of South Korea’s president. This lovely complex is built mainly in the traditional South Korean architectural style and tours are a great way to learn about the country’s history and politics. Tours must be booked via online application at least three weeks in advance.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I should say the "GREEN HOUSE"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just glad that we were able to see the BLUE HOUSE which is the residence of the President of South Korea. Took a picture of it from the distance. That time, we were not sure if admission is permitted to the public. I could see that the compound is very heavily guarded. Even though we were not able to get in, we really enjoyed the vicinity around. I am still confused why they call it the BLUE HOUSE, the color of the roof is GREEN :) I guess I have to do my research.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Close to Unicef headquarters, only visible by binoculars which you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The walk up to "The Blue House" was real nice, surrounded by beautiful gingko trees and secret service agents all over. Maybe there is a scheduled tour you can take, but was only able to see from a distance.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Compound of the Presidential Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Needless to say, we did not enter the Blue House, the official residence of the President of the South Korea, just like only a privileged few were allowed to enter the Buckingham Palace in London, or the White House in Washington. But we still considered ourselves lucky for being able to roam about the compound outside the Palace. That is because the compound was an out-of-bound area for many years due to historical and security reasons. The ground, which is adjacent to the famous Gyeong-Bok-Gung Palace, was opened to the general public less than 18 months ago. Nevertheless, the compound is still very heavily guarded, uniformed personnel could conspicuously be seen everywhere.

Interestingly, the name of the presidential palace is written in the Korean and Chinese languages as "The House with Green Roof Tiles". It is beyond my comprehension how a house with green roof tiles has been translated as The Blue House in English.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I got a free presidential mug but, I did not go inside of any of the buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The grounds were very beautiful and but, you will not be permitted inside of any buildings at all. I was disappointed by that fact.

There were many places you will not be allowed to photograph. I was still glad I went.

You will be security scanned. The start point was difficult to find in my opinion. You will have to cue up to get your passport checked and then stand in line to get on a bus to the visitor/welcome center.

At the center there are bathrooms to use before the tour starts, as there are no opportunities during. You will be given a video orientation and have headphones for your language to listen to.

You will get a great tea cup as a gift when you begin the tour.

The presidential museum was a definite plus...you can have your photo taken the with President and his wife! And also in seated at his desk!

You have to book months in advance and tours start in June.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wish we could get closer. Interesting standing of the guard

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue House (Cheong Wa Dae) also viewed

 

Been to The Blue House (Cheong Wa Dae)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue House (Cheong Wa Dae), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.