We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some CONS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tria to your Saves list
Hotel Tria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   677-11 Yoksam-dong Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-915, South Korea (Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Bayern
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with some CONS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

First of all, finding the hotel after using the shuttle bus (Line: KAL3 - getting off at Renaissance Hotel) isn´t that easy, since the short walk from the Renaissance Hotel isn´t described anywhere. CHECK MY PHOTOS, I UPLOADED A MAP FOR YOU. All in one the hotel is very modern and offers good rates.

What we liked:
- modern furniture
- super fast internet (every room has its own wifi hotspot)
- nice shower (water pressure & great cosmetics)
- sitting area in our room (large sofa)
- surrounded by bars and restaurants

What we didn´t like:
- because of the bar location it is very very loud (the whole day music and disco sound)
- WHY there is a glass door and wall in the toilet area? Who wants to watch someone else sitting on the toilet?
- there is no breakfast or room service
- the location is not very central
- the lights and AC is hard to coordinate, because of the fancy but not good working remote and buttons

I uploaded also a video of room No 605 (Category: Suite)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    54
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
29
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Tria was a very small but cozy boutique hotel located quite conveniently. It is not on the main road but is just a short walk away from teheran road so it is easy to get a cab or ride the mtr. There is a taxi stop right by the corner. There are some restaurants, cafes and convenience stores within walking distance from the hotel.

The room we stayed in was very well- kept and was very clean and spacious. I like how light can go through during the day and how the sliding doors can cover the windows for a good night's sleep.

The bathroom had a very nice rain shower and was spacious.

Service was discreet and efficient. There are some love hotels, as they call it in seoul, but this does not affect the service and quality of tria hotel.

I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I had a terrible time finding a hotel that wasn't booked for a weekend stay-over before a business trip in August. Finally, I found the Tria on AsiaRooms.com and booked a room for a little over $100 usd per night. Was I ever impressed! The room was immaculate, stylish and spacious, especially the bathroom. Great bed and the hotel is quiet to boot. When I went over to the Hyatt near Itae-won for the business part of my trip, it actually felt like a step down in comfort and amenities, and it was much louder.

The big knock against the Tria is its location, but thanks to a reviewer on booking.com, I knew how to get there. Just take the KAL bus to the Renaissance Hotel, walk around to the back and go down an alley until you see the sign for the Tria -- about 100 meters in all. Pretty easy to find if you know where to go.

Also, the Tria's location in Gangnam is a little far from the touristy sites in Bukchon/Insadong, but it's an easy walk to the subway, so I wasn't bothered much by this.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Tria Hotel is located on a very small side street - a little tricky to find. There is a map on the website that we recommend printing to orientate yourself. To get to the Tria Hotel, you can take the airport shuttle and request the Renaissance Hotel stop - a short 5-8 min walk away. The hotel itself is about a 10-12 min walk to the nearest metro station. There are several restaurants and convienence stores nearby.

Front desk staff spoke very little English and we had several challenging moments during check in even though we had booked online.

Rooms were ok. The walls were purposely made to look like cement slabs and there was one small window which made the place feel like a bunker. We did appreciate the very clean rooms and bathrooms despite the strong smell of tobacco smoke (as with many hotels in Asia). The air conditioning worked well! The computer in the room did not work so well.

Overall, a decent, clean, basic hotel. We would not recommend it if you are looking for anything luxurious with amenities and stellar service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ok, the hotel is pretty nice looking but the Hotel Manager's service is horrifying.
We went to our room and realized the door was already opened and when we got in and tried to close the door, it was stuck and when we try to push it harder the door came out. Yes, the entire door came out!!! And guess what, the hotel manager came up and instead of being apologetic that the door might have hurt me, he blamed us for knocking his door down. And he questioned us again and again how did we bring the door down and made us literally waited and stare at him fixing he door with his colleague without even trying to first offer to find us another room. I had to literally ask him does he intend to make me wait there for another 30 mins to see if he can fix the door before he offers another room. And this is not the best part, he came back and told us that there wasn't other rooms available and he wanted us to go back to my cousin's room and stay there till 11pm so that they can fix the door in order for us to go back to the room in the most rude and untactful manner. He seems like someone who has NOT done ANY hotel management courses or understand customer service to be in this industry.
Also surprisingly none of the receptionists can speak any English except the hotel manager and the hotel is somehow located in a very dodgy area where there are heaps of motels next to it even though it claimed to be in a very cool area, NOT! The rooms are nice but seriously, with this type of service I am totally not impressed and the location is not great as well...will definitely NOT recommend. Oh btw there is NO WIFI in the rooms!!!

Hotels with NO WIFI at this time of the century? Seriously?? They provide a desktop in your room but everything is in KOREAN..how do you expect one to surf the internet???

The worst hotel experience I've ever had.
Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were looking for a budge stay in Seoul and came across Hotel Tria on Agoda. Check in was pretty smooth, staff were friendly and spoke decent english. Rooms were nicely decorated with very modern theme. For us clean bathroom is the number one priority and Tria got our thumbs up on that with a big rain shower bath. Location wise, it's not bad. About 7min to subway. Plenty of eateries just few steps away, there's also a 7/11 just in front. There's also free internet and cable TV in the room. We would consider going back if we are looking for a cheap stay in Seoul again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed here for a week in March on business. I thought it would be fun to try a little boutique hotel. The decor was fun, but in that cheap Ikea kind of way. It's a good hotel for a weekend, but not for longer. Staying in a place that feels like a lounge bar for any longer than that kind of gets to you. Also, typical of most hotels in Asia, you can't get away from the smell of cigarette smoke.

The location was convenient. It is a quick walk to the metro station, near restaurants and corner shops. However, it may also be too close to the other love hotels, and you can hear a bit of rowdiness at night.

Overall, just average. Good value though. You can get a nice sized suite for under $200 USD.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tria

Address: 677-11 Yoksam-dong Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-915, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tria 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.