We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel in Itaewon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IP Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added IP Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
IP Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-893, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Barre, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Nice Hotel in Itaewon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It looked as if it might be a little far from the subway station on the map, but it was no more than 5 minutes, right on the main street, a bustling international strip with gazillions of all kinds of restaurants, shops, cafes, and clubs. It was a perfect spot for a short overnight between two international flights. The interior is very contemporary, even a little striking. The room was clean with all the modern amenities, including an automatic flushing “washlet”. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom with glass walls and a lot of walls are covered with floor-to-ceiling mirror, which could be a little unsettling. It was ok for me since I was by myself and the glass and mirror walls actually made the room feel bigger. I had a great view of the city from my little alcove. The only thing was that I had a hard time finding the light switches as I was trying to turn off the room lights and go to bed. I looked all over the walls and finally found a small control panel on the bedside table on the window side, the opposite side from where I slept.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at IP Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on your recent experience at IP Boutique Hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    201
    63
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
123
65
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

6 nights in IP boutique - great from start to finish. Our room was ready when we arrived off a night flight. The room was lovely, light and big, with views out to the mountain. Service super and staff extremely friendly. Some of the tech didn't work but on the whole we thought it was super excellent and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at IP Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel and we appreciate your kind words.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest. We hope to see you again very

soon.

Have a wonderful day and happy spring.

Sincerely,

Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinuso, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just a quick note on my stay at the IP Boutique hotel here in Seoul, South Korea.
I stayed for 6 nights and was impressed by both it's service and efficiency.
Because of it's location to shopping, subway system and some really fantastic eateries.
One that caught my attention was a 10 minute walk too the Braai Republic, a South African
hang out where the have great food specials and my favourite Bilton/sudza/and wors,.
All in all I would rate my time here 5 out of 5.
Check it out and happy travels.
Ion Berry

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at IP Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We appreciate your compliments and thank you for rating us with five stars!

We are very pleased to read how highly you valued the hotel’s location and you enjoyed your

stay with us.

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is located right in the heart of one the party places in Seoul, but in a location that makes it quiet at night as it is a casual stroll away from the hustle and bustle. The room was clean, compact but spacious enough, the shower could have better pressure and the taps were super sensitive, great electronic toilets!! The only downside of the rooms is that the walls are quiet thin and it felt like I could hear the people in the next room and the same with the cleaning of the common areas in the morning. The only thing that really soured my stay was on the day of check-out, the reception called at 12.03pm, asking why I hadnt checked-out... 3 minutes is a little pedantic, and then when I did check-out the staff member charged my credit card incorrectly. Apart from those two things the hotel is good, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to Seoul on Good Friday, and arrived at 8 am. One of the main reasons why I booked this hotel was because of early check-in. Despite being full, they had a room ready for us after 1 hour (we basically had to wait for them to clean a room that had been used the night before.) I really appreciated that and was pleased with that type of service. Please keep this up!.

Location was great -- you are near Busan park (walking distance), in Itaewon with expat bars and famous kimchee fries, 10 minute walk to station, and a very cheap taxi ride (or bus) to Gangnam. The room is good value for the location and the type of room you get. Large in size, modern, and clean. Faucet is fascinating if you're into fluid dynamics.

Internet dropped in and out the first day, but after we connected to the right spot, it was quite decent connection. I think the first day was a hiccup.

I loved the room and hotel decor -- the lobby is like a Louis Vuitton luggage.

Two negatives:

1) My partner is 6 feet tall. His head hit the shower head which was very painful and could not be adjusted. It's a fancy rain shower head with spikes coming out of it, so not pleasant. If you are willing to crouch when taking your showers, then it's fine. But he swore it took some blood off his scalp.

2) One thing we didn't plan for -- the trip back on the airport bus was going to take 2 hours according to the schedule that the hotel showed us, so we had to take a taxi for 70,000 korean wan. I suggest you plan accordingly.

Despite my partner losing some skin in the shower, we both agreed we would happily come back and this hotel was one of the best during our trip to Japan/Korea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I do like IP boutique hotel A lot. I took the trip alone but feel homey while staying. The location of the hotel is perfect. It close to subway Itaewon abt 5 mins walking distance, but doesn't feel annoying by street noise. Shuttle bus is just opposite the hotel (6030) to Inchon air port. Along the street , there are various of cousine for choosing , fantastic & yummy food. I've been travelling in Seoul for couple times in 2 year, I will come back to stay at IP boutique next time. Can't wait for next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you are looking for a location near to bars, restaurants and the subway, then this is a good choice. My partner and I were very happy with the amenities nearby and how quick and easy it was to travel to the main sites/attractions.

The hotel itself is welcoming, clean and professional. The rooms were small but certainly "did the job", were brightly decorated and suited the fun weekend we had in mind!

As in the other reviews, the corridors were SOOOOO dark! But it wasnt a surprise as I read the reviews and again it added to the quirkyness of the hotel. I would however suggest getting a torch key fob for any late nights out as coming in drunk it may be a challange to find your room!

One final point.... The "glass box" bathrooms require a relationship/friendship to have reached a certain point! My boyfriend found it all very disturbing and insisted that we take turns leaving the room when one of us needed to use it! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at IP Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us.

We hope to have you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IP Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IP Boutique Hotel

Address: 221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-893, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IP Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the nightlife, culture, restaurants area of Seoul city, IP Boutique Hotel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 2.Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. For those of you who want to venture out, Itawon Street, Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Itaewon Subway station are just some of the attractions available to visitors.IP Boutique Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Seoul. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including safety deposit boxes, car park, airport transfer, meeting facilities, 24hr room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, IP Boutique Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your IP Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IP Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.