We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IP Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added IP Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
IP Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-893, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 388 Reviews
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too short a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

On a two day business trip to Seoul, I was delighted to find this gem of a hotel at a very reasonable price. Excellent, friendly and very attentive service. Modern and mirrored decor in clean and efficient rooms. In hotel restaurant and fast room service. Also, the neighborhood is lively but not too lively and a great area for Korean barbecue restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at IP Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

We appreciate your comments about our hotel.

It was a pleasure to serve you.

Please come back.

Sincerely,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    202
    63
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
124
67
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Positives:
- Modern, clean, stylish and well apportioned rooms.
- Comfortable bed
- Good reception staff - very helpful and friendly.
- Reasonably close to metro/subway station (Itaewon)

Negatives:
- Water pressure was a bit poor - and getting the right water temperature was very hard! It was either too hot or too cold for a lot of the time
- The rooms have no airconditioning (only heating). On the first night, it was 26 degrees in the room, which was far too hot and made sleeping comfortably very difficult.
- In our particular room, there was a bad stain on the carpet which was a bit off-putting.

If you're looking for a hotel outside of the main shopping district of Myoengdong, then this is a good alternative that's still good in quality, relatively convenient to commute from (around 15 mins by taxi to Myeongdong) and a bit cheaper on average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed there at recommendation on of of my local friend. No regrets whatsoever. Glass partitions for the bathrooms were unique, some catchy structures in the lobby shading vibrant colours.. Friendly staff.. Located in the heart of buzzing vicinity of Itaewon, perfect for tourists as eating, shopping and clubbing spots are stones throw away..
All said, rooms were cramped for space with too many things stuffed to restrict free movement..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Overall we had good stay at the IP Boutique hotel. It's in a good location, is a bit different to your usual corporate hotel and offers good value for money. The room was quite funky in design and the bed very comfortable.

We had a few minor issues:

Upon arrival they didn't have enough electronic room keys, so could only give us one despite being a party of two. This was a pain as you need the key to use the lift and have power in your room. So basically if one person wanted to leave the room, the other had to wait in darkness. Anyway, our second day more keys became available so this was resolved.

Throughout the whole of our stay, our shower had little pressure and hot water was intermittent.

On the positive side they have a good buffet restaurant and a small, but useable gym.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a high floor, quite noisy towards street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The IP Boutique is located in Itawon, only few stations to Myeong-dong .

We went to Seoul in Christmas, full of christmas decoration as many foreigner live in that community. Rooms are clean and comfortable and it’s not expensive compared with the similar level hotel. We arrived to the hotel at 6 am in the morning, the hotel staffs are super nice, let us check in earlier so we take a snap after a night flight to Seoul.

Definitely will choose IP Boutique next time when we visit Seoul again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at IP Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

If you like a modern twist to your stay then this it, it doesn't look special from the outside but once you walk through the door you know your in for a good stay. Staff are pleasant and accommodatin eg. my flight gets in early and there was no issue of checking in early. The location is great if you want the night life though its not on your doorstep so dont worry about noise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at IP Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip and your nice comment.

As you said, location is one of our appeal point.

Thank you from all of us here at the IP Boutique hotel.

Sincerely,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was quite convenient to get there from ICN Airport – I took the Airport Limousine Bus (#6030) which took approximately 1.5 hours to reach the Bus Stop called “IP Boutique Hotel”. It takes the same amount of time to return to the airport (pls see the bus timings from IP to ICN in photos area - do refer to the actual info when you are there in case these timings are changed).

The cost is KRW 15,000 per trip. You can purchase the single-journey bus ticket from the Airport Bus booth in between Gates 4 & 5 in the ICN Arrival Hall. The bus picks up at Stop 5B - and 12A as well I believe. (Tip: for the return trip, do have the exact fare ready to be placed in the fare collection box.)

When you get off the bus, face the main street and look to your left. The hotel (blue/yellow/red stripes) is just across the road so just walk a little up the slope and cross at the traffic light.

The reception staff was efficient and friendly. I was given a room on the 11th floor (the hotel has 12 floors I believe). There isn’t much of a view because it is blocked by a building directly opposite. If you look carefully, in the distance you can catch a little bit of the river.

It was a clean, non-smoking room, with a comfortable Queen-sized bed and the necessary modern-day amenities i.e. toiletries, free Wifi, in-room electronic safe, LCD TV, fridge etc. There were lots of mirrors so these did help to give a more spacious feel to the room, which was large enough for a solo traveller and I guess not too bad for two people as well.

The water pressure in the shower was rather low (for hot water) and that’s probably the only gripe I have – otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed my room. It got slightly warm at times in the heated room (end winter period) but that was no issue because there is a curved sliding panel at the windows which can be open or shut to the outside air to help adjust the in-room temperature.

Some travellers have commented on the dark hallways connecting the lifts to the hotel rooms – I was not too bothered about that because I barely took 20 seconds to get to my room from the lift so I thought it was a good way to conserve electricity – why waste all that light in hallways that no one really uses? But to each his own I guess!

The hotel (whose name “IP” actually stands for “Imperial Palace” btw) is about 3-5 minutes’ walk from Itaewon Subway Station Exit 2. The area, which you can read online, is a main street flanked on each side with Western / international restaurants including Turkish, Egyptian, Thai, Japanese ones. There are of course, some Korean restaurants as well. One night, I saw along the road one of those make-shift Korean eating stalls that one sees on K-drama – it was a small truck/van converted to a tarp-enclosed eating area with chairs and tables. The stall served rice wine, oden, and other snacks. There is also an English book store on the 2F of a building somewhere near Hamilton Shopping Center called “What The Book” which sells both used and new books.

Itaewon Station is not too bad a location with respect to the subway system – it may not be the best or most convenient station in terms of transferring between the many lines but it worked fine for me anyway.

For tourist information, there is a booth nearby IP Boutique – just turn left when you exit the hotel and walk around 2 or 3 blocks down the slope. Alternatively, there is also a small office inside Itaewon Station itself (on the left hand side just before you enter the gates into the paid area).

For groceries, there is a small supermarket located near Hamilton Hotel. There is a T-junction immediately outside Hamilton Hotel (Exit 4, Itaewon Station). Walk along this road that is perpendicular to the hotel (i.e. the foot of the T-junction) and at the first turning, take a right. You should be walking down-slope. The grocery shop is just on your right.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at IP Boutique and wouldn’t mind staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to IP Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IP Boutique Hotel

Address: 221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-893, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 396 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IP Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the nightlife, culture, restaurants area of Seoul city, IP Boutique Hotel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 2.Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. For those of you who want to venture out, Itawon Street, Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Itaewon Subway station are just some of the attractions available to visitors.IP Boutique Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Seoul. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including safety deposit boxes, car park, airport transfer, meeting facilities, 24hr room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, IP Boutique Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your IP Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IP Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.