We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best welcome in Seoul!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bong House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bong House to your Saves list
Bong House
117-2 Myeongryun 3-Ga, Myeongryun-Dong, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 110-523, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 336 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 42 Reviews
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best welcome in Seoul!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Travelling to a foreign country can be quite challenging. But if you stay in this hostel you don't need to worry, the kind staff helps you with every question.
I really felt welcome here. It's like visiting friends. The rooms are clean and the hostel is very central.
There is a bar connected to the hostel, which is a great meeting place for people of all nationalities.
No better place to meet nice people in Seoul!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Fun little hostel in a very active area of Seoul. Staff was super friendly and knowledgeable of where to go, what to see and how to get there. Violet is a great hostess.
The kitchen was a bit small and the breakfast say woeful, but better than a kick in the pants. Overall, I'd suggest Bong House to any backpacker!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

i found bong house, thanks to trip advisor and after reading great comments about this place, i figured to give it a try since it looked like a very cost-efficient place to stay in seoul.

if you'd take a cab from seoul station (like we did), you can just tell the driver to go to sungkyunkwan dae hak kyo jeongmun apeuro (front gate of sungkyunkwan university).

* if you do not have a lot of luggage though, you may also just take the subway from seoul station to hyehwa station (line 4, light blue line); only 6 stops away, going north. from there, you can follow the instructions on how to find bong house from their website. walking would take about 10 minutes from the station to bong house.

i figured since the area is near the infamous sungkyunkwan university, it must have a lot of shops, hangout spots and interesting things to see. indeed, if you happen to alight from hyehwa station, you're probably going to like the road covered in brick-like pattern. both sides are full of stores, restaurants and cosmetics shops.

there is a convenience store near bong house as well as a bank so in case you need to exchange some dollars or crave for some instant noodle fix, there'd be no problem.

when we arrived, we were greeted and assisted by mr. bong himself. there were a few misunderstandings with the booking of our room but mr. bong took care of it. he gave us a larger rooms than the one we booked, at the same price.

the first room we got was for 4 persons (and there were only 2 of us), with 2 double-decked beds in it. TV, refrigerator, water heater and hair dryer were all provided. the bathroom had toilet and overhead shower. the room itself being the only one with heated floor, makes the bathroom chilly during our stay (early april). you may want to use lots of the warm water when you take a bath.

the second room was for 7 people so it was really huge and spacious for us. this room has a kitchen as well, complete with stove, pans and utensils which is useful for cooking breakfast or any meal. there was also a washing machine that we were able to use.

bong house is more than a guesthouse since mr. bong and his staff, ms. violet were really warm and accommodating to anything you may need. on our last night, as the banks were already closed, i even was able to exchange with them my dollars as i really needed the money when we travel back to the airport.

when you arrive at bong house's living area/living area, you will be able to meet the other guests (from the world over!) and though you've met them for the first time, it feels like you've already known them for a long time as everyone's really friendly. must be the warmth of mr. bong and his staff rubbing off to everyone! :)

i would definitely go back to bong house and recommend it to my other friends. aside from the awesome location, you truly get value for your money, and more.

Room Tip: if you have large cases/luggage, you may opt to stay in the main house as the rooms in the other hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I enjoyed my 4 days staying there.

The workers there r really nice, Mr. Bong is a nice, competent guy, moving and speaking very quickly; Hyeonju is a lovely lady with a warm heart, you can ask her for any advice.

Impressive goodness: good workers, good shower, folding your bed everyday.
advice: It would be better if the clearner didnt move my stuff on bed to the table.

advice to travelers:

·There're some places not wellknown but worth going near the guest house.
1.the old wall: go towards to south to the main road, and turn left(toward east) about 5min, pass a church, on the left hand, you can see the old stone city gate, on the right hand is the path (steps) you can climb. You can go till dongdaemun, but also can go down in the middle.
2.SungKungKwan University: near the gate there r some really old buildings, which firstly built in 1398, and old trees.
3.seoul daehakro (University Road: many good looking stores.)
·Also some other famous places in Seoul:[make sure if they r open on Monday]
1.bukchon (old houses) and samcheong dong (artistic street)
2.gyeongbokgung palace,
3.changdeokgung palace,
4.the south mountain(namsan) and seoul tower,
5.cheonggyecheon (clear stream through downtown),
6.yeouido island(park, cherry flowers. you can rent a bycicle there, riding by Han river),
7.Hongik univ. and shinchon area (club and having fun).

by Cecilia❤
(from Beijing, China)

Room Tip: better without a snoring person : p
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

First of all i would like to say thanks to all the people Who's working at Bongs house..
specially MR.Bong ,Hyeon, Evelyn, Daniella,and Gauen :D... i have stayed at bongs house
for about 10 days ,, and that 10 Days that i was there.. not a single day
that past by i had a smile on my face! Bec. all the people that works there!! they are very friendly!
and the place is very near to everything! clean rooms ! everything was great! very welcoming people ..i Felt like i was home! !!! i really miss Bongs house ! i Hope soon enough i can go back there ! meet new people again!!! anyway i highly recommend Bongs house if ever you people want to Travel South korea! i Guaranty that you wont be Dissapointed! KAMSAHAMNIDA! TO EVERYONE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Bong House twice. Once last summer and then again for a very extended stay beginning in January. It's a great place to stay and the staff is very helpful and accommodating. Downstairs is the Bong Bar, a place where you get a free beer each night if you are staying there. Of course, other people come in as well. I've met a number of interesting people there from all around the world here. I've made some wonderful friends here as well, just hanging out and talking. The neighborhood where the Bong House is located is very lively, fun, and close to the subway. Also, there are stores and restaurants all around. Check it out!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Bong House for 6 nights. From Gimpo airport, we took the AREX line to Seoul station and then switched to the subway. From Hyehwa Station Exit No. 4, when you come up of the exit, you will see Baskin Robbins right in front of you. Do not cross the road, just come up of the exit and turn left straightaway on that very road, which is paved with shops on both sides of the road. just remember that CGV cinemas should be on your left along that road (its a very tall building, when u exit the station just look up towards your left and you should see CGV further up). Walk along that road right to the end, and on your right across the road you will see Dunkin Donuts. Cross that big road facing Dunkin Donuts and walk on the right alongside of Dunkin Donuts. Continue walking straight till you see Ediya Coffee (never seen the signboard lit up while we were there). Turn left at Ediya and walk to the left lane and you will see the Bong House & Bong Bar signage. Fyi, Family Mart has now changed to CU Mart.

Our rooms were not in the main house, but in a different building just slightly across the street. We were on the 4th floor twin room, which had a lovely outdoor terrace with wall murals, that felt homey and we could see views of the distant mountains as well as the lovely SungKyunKwan University.

Bong was a really jovial and hospitable guy, and brought us for dinner at a nearby duck BBQ restaurant, our first and only duck meal in our 12day korean trip! prices were very reasonable and the food excellent!

Our room had a heating system/heated floor, an aircon, hairdryer, microwave, mini fridge and water kettle. There was cable tv with a couple of english channels, and a bean bag for comfort. plenty of space around for huge suitcases and shopping! what made us really happen was the abundance of sockets in the room for us to charge our electronic devices :)

the room came with a queen sized bed and a single bed, which were comfortable, with firm pillows and warm blankets. the toilet can be quite cold though, but we managed fine. Hot water and shower pressure was perfect. We also enjoyed hanging out at Bong Bar, which was the only bar in the many others we visited on this trip, which had a large pool table and dart machine. Bong Bar's decor is inviting and cosy enough to chill, where you could mingle and get to know other visitors from other parts of the world. the staff there was also friendly uni students who could converse pretty well in english.

we took alot of cabs there, and if you want to go back to the hotel just memorise Sungkyunkwan University, most taxi drivers know Sungkyunkwan so it wasnt a problem for us. We had a lovely stay at Bong House and would not hesitate to come back again in the future when we visit Seoul. Highly recommended. We had rooms 301 & 401, which were perfect. You can buy your korean food products and titbits at Lotte Mart & Core mart just along that stretch!

Room Tip: personally i think rooms 301 & 401 are pretty/homey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bong House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bong House

Address: 117-2 Myeongryun 3-Ga, Myeongryun-Dong, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 110-523, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 336 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Bong House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bong House Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bong House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.