We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More signage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Statue of Sejong the Great

Statue of Sejong the Great
Sejong-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 382 Attractions in Seoul
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Attraction details
Busan, South Korea
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
198 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“More signage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I wish there had been more signage for why he is famous (I know some, but a refresher while standing in front of it would have been nice, given all the other famous things I saw that day). Impressive statue, and a great place to have your photo taken if you can get either the mountains or Gwanghwamun in the background too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    39
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“See it if you are in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Well what can i say about the great King Sejong. He is a legend in Korea, and for goodreason. There are several reasons but what he is most famous for is the introduction of the Korean language system :Hangeul" in 1492. He is on the 10,000₩ notes and is the most popular thing apart from Kimchi and Soju here.

It is impressive the statue at night, however only visit if your in the neighbourhood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not sure why this is an attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I respect that this may mean a lot for the local.
As an oversea visitor, I have no idea why people dance around it.
We spent good 15 mins in front of the statue, that's a bit too much for my interest.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Interesting story behind the Korean writing and how it was started. Very impressive statue and a beautiful place for photographs

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“If you're in the area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Sejong comissioned the scholars who came up ith the Korean alphabet. . . he's a hero to the country, and this statue does him proud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Statue of Sejong the Great also viewed

 

Been to Statue of Sejong the Great? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Statue of Sejong the Great, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.