We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Choice for ALL travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Seoul Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Seoul Times Square to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Seoul Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Yeongjung-Ro, Yeongdeungpo-Gu, Seoul 150-798, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Parking
Ranked #15 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 433 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Super Choice for ALL travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Glad i chose this over anyother hotel in Seoul. New hotel, everything is just next door. From a fancy shopping mall to 24hr super market, makes this hotel an ideal location for all the travellers. There are plenty of banks to change your forex, a subway station is attached to the mall as well and there are plenty of eating options available in the mall. Rooms are bit small however i got upgraded to executive floor with free internet and access to business lounge. Breakfast was part of the deal too but not enough variety. Mall only opens around 10:30 so if you can wait, you can enjoy breakfast in the mall. Hotel doesn't provide 24hr room service and in any case the room service is limited. Overall i enjoyed the stay and would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    183
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
75
54
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I came away from this newer Courtyard hotel with a very positive impression and can easily see why it earns such rave reviews from other travellers as it offers a very high quality for a excellent value.

My room was 1201 and was a king bed room that was quite well appointed with a sleek, modern & contemporary feel to it. The glass bathroom is different at first but staying alone means not having to draw the privacy blinds or close the sliding bathroom door. There was a shower only, no tub, but it was a large walk-in shower stall with not only a shower hand massaging wand but a ceiling mounted rainfall shower head that I really came to appreciate during the stay as it's less of a blast of higher pressure water on you as you get from the nozzle than a more of a gentle shower and it made for a great way to start the day. Not much of a view from this room but there's really not much around the hotel save the Times Square shopping complex which Courtyard is lterally part of as it's in the same complex, not set apart.

The hotel is a little different in that when you arrive on the ground floor you must enter from outside the shopping complex, then take a elevator to the 5th floor which is where the actual hotel lobby is located. From there you go further up to the guest room floors. The effect means when you're heading out each day you day one elevator down to the lobby level then walk through the lobby and take another to ground level. Normally this isn't very noticeable until you encounter a group of 40-50 guests all checking in at the same time and have to wait for several elevators at each level to get everyone and their trunk size luggage to the right floor. The touch card operated elevator is a little annoying at first but luckily I managed to pick up the way to do it after the first day.

As this hotel is still quite new, roughly a year old, I would grab a card with the name and address in English & Korean as it's not widely known and could come in handy if you were lost or trying to tell a taxi driver where you wanted to go. The hotel is a short way to the nearest subway stop Yeongdeungpo but the line it's on, line #1, takes you directly to "downtown" Seoul without having to make any changes so quite quick & handy. Yes, the Courtyard isn't within that downtown area so maybe not as convenient as other hotels but I didn't find the location that much of a challenge as the city has a wonderfully user friendly subway system well signed in English making transportation a breeze. Hint: buy a T-money card upon arrival and load the equivalent of $20 or $30 on it as it can be swiped upon entering the subway and deducts the less than $1 cost and is much more convenient than buying a one-trip ticket from the vending machines or fumbling for coins each time.

I did use the business center a few times and at KRW 1430 or around USD$1.25 for 10 minutes an incredible value compared to other hotels. I checked out the fitness facility and it is large and open & welcoming but I felt I was getting enough exersize walking around Seoul I didn't need more time on a treadmill.

One note to pass along that even while the staff speak overall excellent English it's best to slowly & clearly provide your room number when using the extra charge ammenities. Once when I used the business center I told the attendant I was in room "twelve oh one", rather than saying it as "twelve zero one" as I noticed she wrote down 1210 on the sheet the guest signs and I had to correct her. That type of miscommunication may've come into play later as when I checked out as there were two breakfasts in the Momo restaurant I hadn't had and so disputed the charge when I was given the summary of charges on my room bill, one brekfast for that same morning. The clerk walked over to the restaurant and I guessed checked the name & signature on the bill and came back to apologize for the mix-up and removed the incorrect charges from the hotel bill without any further fuss. Overall the staff were very polite, friendly and acknowledged you when you walked through the lobby or entered at the street level so it was a very warm welcome and a high level of customer service.

I stayed at another Marriott family of hotels brand in Seoul, the Renaissance Seoul, and while it considers itself a more luxury hotel I much preferred the more modern Courtyard and know it's a far better value for what it delivers. Perfect it isn't but they do try and come closer than many, many other hotels I've stayed at over the years and I wouldn't hesitate for a second to recommend this hotel to others and would stay again if finding myself back in Seoul. Courtyard's overseas are not the mid-range business hotels they have become in N. America and are more upscale and offer enough luxury to be pampering without being over the top at some astronomical price. Call it "luxury lite" or "value plus" whatever but I'm sold on the brand and look forward to other stays if this is the norm.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango-Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The hotel little hard to find by bus, When giving directions hotel is directly across street from Fire Station..Time square mall is close and just down the lift. Staff are (****) they are great.. Mr David at front desk has it going on.. the guys at desk are very helpfull they take the time to show you how to get here and there, subway, walk, bus, taxie..Room are contemp, I liked them, rooms run little warm check your thermostat. Pay the extra $ to get the 15floor lounge and breakfast and internet if it is inportant to you..Zelda loved it, Zelda scale is 0 to 10 an "8"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunfish Lake, MN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I travel quite a bit and have posted a number of hotel review. I am a tough reviewer and seldom rate hotels "Excellent". This one clearly earns that rank. It is the second best hotel in which I have stayed. (The now temporarily closed Palace hotel in Tokyo is my favorite.)
If you go there, be sure to take the executive option. At about $50, it's worth it. You get free in room high speed internet; free high quality breakfast, room on a high floor, free access to the executive lounge, and access to the lounge's "Happy Hour" from 5:30PM to 7:30 PM with free unlimited drinks and enough free food to comprise a perfectly adequate dinner, if desired.
What's to like. It's only one year old, and so has that "new" feel. The staff is exceedingly courteous, and in general speaks good English.
The bathrooms and showers are very nice, and the water temperature is absolutely stable
The TV actually has some HD channels, and absolute rarity in hotels these days.
He hotel is attached to the equally new Times Square shopping center, which clearly is these place to be these days among 30 year olds. It's now the largest center in Korea with 100's of stores and restaurants.
The internet download was 50 Mbs, which is higher than available in the US except for fiber optic and T1 lines, which most of us don't have.
With the executive option, my price was about $240 a night..Given that it effectively includes lunch, dinner, and drinks, it's something of a bargain.
What's not to like. (1) It is not convenient to the financial district. To get to, say, the Seoul Financial Center by subway, one must take two trains and be prepared for a 30 minute trip. It is a good block walk to the #1 subway line, and that line is not very good in providing information in English. It's a 2 long block walk to the #5 line. (2) The hotel adds a 10% "Accommodation Service Charge" to the bill that is not included in the price quotes. There is also a 9% tax that also is not included in the price quotes. So, in short, be prepared to pay 20% more than expected. (3) The elevator service can be a little slow. (4) While there is an exercise room with good aerobic equipment, there is only sparse resistance equipment. (5) The design of the shower is not perfect, so one must reach through the water from the hand-held showerhead to switch to the overhead showerhead. Also, water can drop out into the regular bathroom.
But those are minor. This is, in sort, an absolutely fabulous place to say. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Pretty much all has been said already. I just returned (Sept. 11, 2010). My wife and I spent three days two nights at the hotel. Took the #6008 bus from Seoul (ICN) airport. It took about an hour and 20 minutes. The price for the bus has gone up. It's no longer 8,000won per person, but 9,000. The bus drops you off about a block away from the hotel. It's the easiest way to get to the hotel.

Front desk staff were helpful. Spoke perfect English. Made check in a breeze. They advised on the surrounding area, where to catch the metro train, and provided a bus schedule for returning to the airport by the #6008 bus.

The hotel room itself was clean and modern. The location is good for catching the metro train to downtown Seoul.

We ate at the hotel restaurant once for dinner and twice for breakfast. The breakfast buffet was good but pricey for what was served. Dinner had a good selection, but REALLY pricey.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

A good business hotel with a very competent and well trained staff. Advantages: good location for shopping and moving around, metro stations and bus tops nearby. Disadvantage: not a good location for evening activities (i.e. bars and restaurants)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This hotel is not in the center of the city, in fact it's quite far from the city central. So why did I give it a 5 star for location? Because it is part of the Times Square. Hypermarket is underneath the hotel in the basement floors. Shopping mall is also part of the building. Paris Baguette is across the street. It is very close to a subway station too.

This is the second best hotel of my Korean series tour (the best being the one in Daegu). This hotel is like what is normally expected from a 5-star Marriott hotels. Great atmosphere, nicely designed hallways/rooms, see-through bathrooms. When I stayed there, this hotel was in its 2nd or 3rd day of operations if I'm not mistaken, so everything really looked new. Breakfast was nice (not the best though), I miss the chocolate muffin, I couldn't get enough of it during the 3 nights of stay at this hotel.

Security was good, had to use the access card on the elevator to gain access to the designated floor. No free Internet connection though, such a shame for a 5-star hotel. The available paid-for Internet access was ridiculously expensive too.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Seoul Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Seoul Times Square

Address: 15, Yeongjung-Ro, Yeongdeungpo-Gu, Seoul 150-798, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#11 Business Hotel in Seoul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#24 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Seoul Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Seoul Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seoul Times Square Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Seoul Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.