We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical city hotel - comfortable & convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte City Hotel Mapo

Save Saved
You added Lotte City Hotel Mapo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lotte City Hotel Mapo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-Gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #15 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A typical city hotel - comfortable & convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Lotte for about 4 nights in total. I find the location to be very strategic, as it is not too far from the shopping area, and there is a subway station right outside the hotel. the hotel is also attached to a huge department store (which i loved), and exploring for street food & restaurants is quite easy. The room is very nicely done, modern, and completed with basic amenities. The bathroom is interesting, with heated and electronic toilets, and i simply loved the Molton Brown toiletries provided. Overall, it was a very comfortable and convenient hotel, very suitable for business trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your stay with LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
I am very delighted that you had wonderful experience with our hotel.

LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO has big arcade which is included all kinds of restaurants, coffee shop and hair salon etc.
And also location is quite convenience because there are Gongdeok St. which operates 4 lines of subway underneath hotel building.
If you have plan for business, but also pleasure trip in Korea again, I hope to see you again in near future.
If you have any further inquiries regarding hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Have a nice day

Thank you

Best regards,

Raymond LEE
General Manager
LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    302
    37
    5
    2
See reviews for
106
125
72
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We wished we could have stayed longer and brought our swim suit. It was a last minute decision to stay at this hotel because we weren't sure if we were going to fly in on the day we stayed. The airport limousine bus stops across the street from this hotel so it was very convenient.

The place is lovely and is connected to the subway.

Very comfortable bed, robes, and slippers. It was a good way to ease on into Seoul.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your stay with LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
I am very delighted that you had wonderful experience with our hotel.

Please visit our hotel again to enjoy our peaceful and splendid swimming pool.
Your review on tripadvisor.com will be valuable advice for not only the other potential guest to decide our hotel also LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO. I hope to see you again in near future.

If you have any further inquiries regarding hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Have a nice day

Thank you

Best regards,

Raymond LEE
General Manager
LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Staying here for 3 nights during my first visit to Seoul was very pleasant, and I am happy to recommend it. It was essentially new, modern, very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful though their English could be better. I really appreciated amenities such as the bath robes, towels and water bottles for the pool and exercise room. The heated toilet seat was a pleasure but it mystified me that the large bathroom did not have any towel racks. The location is convenient on the north side of the river in a very busy district. The subway is close. The breakfast buffet in the on-site restaurant was just OK and could use a wider variety of western offerings. It is also a mystery to me that almost none of the many coffee shops in area do not open until relatively later in morning. And the room coffee was not good. But overall it is a good choice for the business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay with LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO

I am very delighted that you had wonderful experience with our hotel also thankful you for your valuable advice for our facilities.

As your advice, we are going to discuss with our manager of housekeeping department to improve bathroom facilities and coffee quality. Your review on tripadvisor.com will be valuable advice for not only the other potential guest to decide our hotel also LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO, ourselves.

I hope to see you again in near future.

If you have any further inquiries regarding hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Have a nice day

Thank you

Best regards,

James SUH
General Manager
LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First trip to Seoul and went in January. This was a quick trip so location was a bit out of the bustle of downtown. Due to the weather I would stay at a hotel downtown. However, the subway is connected to the hotel so you can get where you want to go relatively quickly. The room itself is tidy and clean. Not a complete more wine than liquor and closes early. As said before by other reviews food is downstairs with many options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay with LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO

I am very delighted that you had wonderful experience with our hotel.

Your review on tripadvisor.com will be valuable advice for not only the other potential guest to decide our hotel also LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO. I hope to see you again in near future.

If you have any further inquiries regarding hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Have a nice day

Thank you

Best regards,

James SUH
General Manager
LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Lotte City Mapo from the 28th Dec 2012 till the 2nd of Jan 3013 for 5 nites over the festive holiday break. From arrival from Incheon International Airport, it was very convenient to get to the hotel as there is a direct airport bus to the bus stop across the hotel. The hotel itself is conveniently located beside Gongdeok station but our family didnt really explore that option for the airport commute as we had an elderly grandma travelling with us and much luggage in tow.Though the Lotte Mapo is less illustrious than the main Lotte Hotel Seoul and the Lotte World Hotel nothing in terms of creature comforts was compromised.From the moment we checked in the reception was pleasant, travelling as a family we even got adjacent rooms for convenience.The rooms were up to standard and had heating during the winter climate. Travelling around Seoul was also a breeze, we bought the public transport "tap and go card" which you can purchase or top up easily at most convenience stores or train stations. The only blemish to our trip, which befounds me is the attitude of taxi drivers in Seoul. One nite we were out till 11 plus and missed the last connecting train. Heavy pours of snow came down and we trying to hail down cabs. None were willing to take us as our ride to the hotel a 20 min drive was deemed too near for them. The worst part of it we spoke little Korean and it was a horrible situation to be stuck in the snowy and blizzard conditions with a elderly grandma in her 70s. Lucky for us I managed to seek help for a young guy at a convenience store.He kept making calls for us to cab companies which apparently had the phone lines engaged perpetually, we even made a call back to the hotel in hoping to get a car to pick us up but the hotel simply said they didnt have an available car at that point. It was after numerous persistent efforts from the korean guy that he stopped a cab van and "lied' we had luggage to carry back to the hotel that the driver relented to send us back.He even negotiated an agreed price for the trip so that the driver would not overcharge us. He is a real ambassdor for Seoul unlike the selfish senior cab drivers who purely care for making an extra $. Honestly i also wished the hotel could have done more. The harrowing blistering night affected my grandma so much(we were stuck for more than 4 hrs in -14 degrees celcius hard snowy conditions) that for the last few days of the trip she just stayed in her room refusing to go sightseeing with us.But for all its worth, I will still return to the Lotte Mapo because it has all the upkeep of a competent hotel but i will nv ever take a cab in Seoul again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for spending your precious new year's holiday with LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO.
And also Thank for giving us good comments regarding our hotel facility overall.

First of all, I am very sorry for your inconvenience regarding the taxi.
Actually, it is very hard to make a reservation in Seoul when weather is very bad. But we should assist until you catch the taxi. I do apologize for your inconvenience.

As your advice, we are going to discuss transportation such as taxi or shuttle bus for guests’ convenience even though bad weather.

Thank you for your valuable advice for LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO.

I hope to see you again in near future.

If you have any further inquiries regarding hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Have a nice day

Thank you

Best regards,

James SUH
General Manager
LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a Lotte hotel at a budget price. The lobby is very sleek and smart. The elevators require smart card keys to get to guest room floors. The location is right over Kongdok station which is a stop on the airport commuter train line, very convenient. Cost to the airport is only about $6. It is close enough to Seoul Station and Myongdong; you can get there by taxi or subway. There is a taxi rank in front of the hotel.

The rooms are modern and well furnished. Bathroom toiletries are high quality. There is a robe to use. There is also a work desk. The cable TV unfortunately did not have any English news channels. The wifi worked well.

The breakfast was fantastic with Korean, Western and Japanese choices, all high quality food.
The restaurant is also nicely done with a great view. I thought the price of the breakfast was on the high end.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your stay with LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
I am very delighted that you had wonderful experience with our hotel.
Your review on tripadvisor.com will be valuable advice for not only the other potential guest to decide our hotel also LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO, ourselves.
Now our hotel is providing CNN, ABC and CNBC for English TV Channel.
We should prepare for more TV Channel for all foreign guests.
Thank you for your valuable advice for our facility.
I hope to see you again in near future.

If you have any further inquiries regarding hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Have a nice day

Thank you

Best regards,

James SUH
General Manager
LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Lotte City Hotel Mapo Oct.18-23, 2012. It was our first trip to Seoul so we weren't sure what to expect. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very courteous. I've read in other reviews that there weren't enough towels in the bathroom but when we noticed water dripping from the sink after we used it, we asked for extra towels and it was brought to us. The room was spacious, very clean, the beds so comfortable. When housekeeping staff passed by us in the hall, they would greet us. We enjoyed trying all the restaurants downstairs, including the French bakery. The supermarket was very convenient to have downstairs, and the location to the subway was unbelievably convenient (just a couple minutes away via the doors near the supermarket ). We used the subway for all our sightseeing (including Gangnam, transportation to the War Museum and the USO tour to DMZ, shopping malls, Gyeongbokgung Palace, etc.). We used the KAL bus from the Incheon airport to the hotel. We weren't sure where to catch the KAL bus on the way back to the airport and the hotel concierge came outside with us to make sure we knew exactly where to wait for the bus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your stay with LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
I am very delighted that you had wonderful experience with our hotel.
Your review on tripadvisor.com will be valuable advice for not only the other potential guest to decide our hotel also LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO. It will be also honored to assist you again in LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO.
I hope to see you again in near future.

If you have any further inquiries regarding hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Have a nice day

Thank you

Best regards,

James SUH
General Manager
LOTTE CITY HOTEL MAPO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotte City Hotel Mapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte City Hotel Mapo

Address: 109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-Gu, Seoul, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 399 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotte City Hotel Mapo 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Lotte City Hotel Mapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte City Hotel Mapo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.