We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte City Hotel Mapo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lotte City Hotel Mapo to your Saves list
Lotte City Hotel Mapo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-Gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. The rooms weren't huge... but it was expected. There was wifi, and also a ethernet cable, as well as a 115v plug available in the room. We only stayed one night due to a layover, but the KAL bus took us right infront of the hotel, and the subway was conveniently located downstairs in the building. The buffet restaurant naru (?) was excellent but quite pricey. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Warm greetings from LOTTE City Hotel Mapo.

Thank you for your valuable review posted on Tripadvisor which is most appreciated.
Also we are pleased that you have a pleasure stay with us!
If you have a plan for traveling Seoul not layover, let us serve you again!

Thank you for sparing your precious time for us.

Have a great day.

James, Suh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    332
    42
    5
    2
See reviews for
118
135
79
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in late October 2012. Lotte City Hotel Mapo is a quiet understated higher end business hotel located in the Mapo-dong area of Seoul. Our room was modern and elegant, spacious, very clean and quiet and had a view of the main intersection and surrounding buildings.
Pros:
The beds are comfortable and linens very nice.
The bathroom was large and had a separate shower and tub. The rain shower head is a very nice touch.
The pool and gym area are very nice amenities and so is the self-service laundry. It makes it easier to pack less if there is a laundry facility.
There is also free internet which was great to have.
The staff is very courteous and professional.
The hotel is very convenient, the airport limousine bus from Incheon drops you off in front of the hotel. Other reviewers say it's far away from things though in my opinion not really. It is located with 2 subway lines connected underground so getting to the major attractions in Seoul in 20 minutes or less. There are also shops, restaurants and a Lotte Market downstairs that you can pick up coffee, pastries, drinks, dinner, if needed.
Cons:
Not really any.
If you want a reasonably priced higher end stylish business hotel in downtown Seoul then this hotel is an excellent option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Greetings to you!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback posted on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you have a pleasure stay with us!
Also, your review will absolutely be helpful to other travelers.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to LOTTE City Hotel Mapo in the near future.

Have a great day!

James, Suh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Hotel middle range with nice situation. But room too small, very simple, bad TV, bathroom without space and enough facilities. Kind service but little experiences and limited efficiency. Breakfast too limited.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Greetings to you!

Thank you for stay with us.
First, I would like to express my gratitude for your patronage of our hotel.
I apologize that the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.
We will do our best to upgrade our service quality and facilities.
I appreciate you for your advice again.

Best regards.

James, Suh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights Oct. 2012 as tourists from the Philippines. I picked this hotel mainly for its reasonable price, good reviews, nice looking rooms and connectivity between subways and buses. Satisfied my expectations pretty much, they allowed us early check-in, gave me the room type I preferred. The basement arcade with the supermarket and food shops were very advantageous. Didn't have problems communicating with the hotel staff in English. We took the regular airport bus (6015) going there then the KAL limo bus (6702) going to the airport, no hassles at all despite our heavy luggage, the bus stop was just across the hotel, no issues crossing the large intersection because of the pedestrian lanes. Overall quality was great, thanks to the Lotte brand. Thanks to TripAdvisor and it's contributors as well.

For the cons: these are relatively minor issues: Pillows were too soft, I had to fold one up so I can get the right cushioning for my head. Nothing much to see outside the hotel, didn't bother to roam around the area. It's a business hotel, so don't expect full service.

I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for alternatives from those rather expensive ones with smaller rooms around Seoul. I highly consider going back the next time around.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the glass decoration/divider, it's slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Greetings to you!

First, I would like to express my gratitude for your patronage of our hotel.
I appreciate for your valuable comments, and I'm happy to hear that you had a pleasure stay with us .
Also, I will defenitely discuss about increasing our pillow types with housekeeping team.
Once again, thank you for sparing your precious time for us, and I look forward to welcoming you back to LOTTE City Hotel Mapo soon!

Have a Great day!

James, Suh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very conveniently located hotel. The Lotteria superstore is in the basement, subway routes also run just under the hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. The coin operated laundry on the 4th floor is a blessing, complete with washing machine and tumble dryer. You can just start the cycle , go back to your room and return when the time is over.

Paris baguette, coffee shops, Bono-Bono sea food restaurant( with the best fish and chips I ate) are just walking distance. Hana hotel at the ground floor gives good exchange rate. The sitting area in front of hotel on ground floor is nice and peaceful. Limousine buses to airport run from in front of the hotel To Incheon every 10 to 15 mins and charge about 10 to 15 dollar per head depending on type of bus. We came from Busan by train to Seoul station which is just 15 mins away. Also conveniently connected to shopping areas of Ittaewon, Myeongdong, Namdaemun etc. Hotel provides one way shuttle bus to most of these places and offers you good maps.

Being a strict no-egg vegetarian my only request to the Hotel is to add a little bit more variety for vegetarians in buffet breakfast in addition to only fried potatoes every day. Vegetarian fried rice or noodles would be good.

Room Tip: Choose the road facing rooms to sit and enjoy the view when you have time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Greetings to you!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback posted on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you have a pleasure stay with us!
Also,we have noted your comments regarding the vegetarian foods, I will discuss this with our restaurant to seek ways of further improvement.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to LOTTE City Hotel Mapo in the near future.

Have a great day!

James, Suh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The deluxe rooms in Lotte City Hotel are somehow small but very clean, modern, and high-tech. The bathroom is spacious and the bed is comfortable as well. I say the rooms are high-tech because you practically do everything with just a click of a button. Even the toilet bowl has a lot of button functions in it. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rate of the hotel was average for a 4-star hotel. There's free wi-fi at the lobby and you may connect to the Internet in your room if you have an LAN cable.

The hotel is conveniently located because the subway station is just beside the hotel. There are not many food shops around the area but there is a grocery on the ground floor. The airport bus is also just in front of the hotel and it usually arrives every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing Lotte city hotel mapo.

First, I would like to express my gratitude for your patronage of our hotel.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our modern style room and wi-fi.
(actually you can use wi-fi in your room as well)
It will be great if we can have more chance to serve you!
I'm sure that your valuable review will be helpful to other travllers.
Once again, I appreciate you for your wonderful comment.

Have a great day!

James, Suh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Lotte City Hotel. The lobby is quite large and welcoming (check-in is upstairs from the ground floor, accessible by escalator), and is both modern-looking and comfortable, with comfortable seating areas available. The front desk staff was friendly and they communicated quite well in English.

Our guest room, decorated in warm brown hues, was clean, spacious and quite cozy-feeling. The view was so-so, but we weren't there for the view. The king bed was very firm, but comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, very large and modern and featuring an electronically controlled toilet/bidet with seat warmer (a blessing during a cold night's visit, I can assure you). The glass-enclosed shower's water pressure was great, with abundant hot water. The room had both a safe and small refrigerator/mini-bar, along with free wi-fi and satellite television. Complimentary bottled water was provided, and there is an electric tea-kettle, which I always appreciate.

The location of the hotel was perfect -- it's a little more than an hour's bus ride from Incheon Airport (depending on traffic), and was very easy to locate. The hotel also sits quite handily right on top of the subway station, so one needn't even go outdoors to catch it if the weather is bad. (There are also restaurants and some shopping accessible underneath the hotel, which is truly convenient for busy and hurried travelers.) The area is home mainly to businesses, so it is pretty quiet at night.

We did not have a chance to make use of the hotel's many amenities, such as the restaurant and fitness center, as our visit there was too brief, but I would definitely return there and recommend it without hesitation to any business travelers or other tourists looking for a nice, convenient, comfortable and very reasonably priced hotel in Seoul.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottecityhotel-mapo, 제너럴 매니저 at Lotte City Hotel Mapo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Warm greetings from LOTTE City Hotel Mapo.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review posted on TripAdvisor, which is greatly appreciated.
We were pleased to read that you had a pleasure stay with us, and we are now considered your preferred hotel in Seoul.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Once again, I appreciate you for sparing your valuable time for us!

Warmest regards.

James Suh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotte City Hotel Mapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte City Hotel Mapo

Address: 109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-Gu, Seoul, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotte City Hotel Mapo 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte City Hotel Mapo is a room-specific premium business hotel for both business customers and tourists at home and abroad. It has an advantage of using very convenient public transportations including an airport railroad and subway, and has an easy access to downtown Seoul and tourist attractions within the city. In particular, it is located with 10 minute``s drive by car away from the financing and business district Yeouido and the Seoul Station and very close to Seoul`s major universities like Yeonsei University, Seogang University, Ewha Woman's University and Hongik University. You can enjoy yourself with rest at leisure and successful business by virtue of our differentiated service and newest facilities as good as any five star hotels including business conference rooms, a fitness center and an indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Lotte City Hotel Mapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte City Hotel Mapo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.