We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, hands down best in the price range” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte City Hotel Mapo

Save Saved
You added Lotte City Hotel Mapo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lotte City Hotel Mapo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-Gu, Seoul, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Enjoy Free Breakfast!
Ranked #16 of 388 hotels in Seoul
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, hands down best in the price range”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Surprisingly, Seoul doesn't have a great deal of mid range hotels. Those on offer are generally horrible business hotels (IBIS), love hotels (be careful, there are a lot masquerading as hotels on this site), or just downright average. There are some amazing top range hotels of course -- the Park Hyatt and the W being the obvious choices, and if you want to spend over $200/night there are also some good options to be had closer to the center of Seoul.

So why choose the Lotte City Mapo?

1. It is almost brand new, and has been furnished to a very high standard
2. The location is great -- equal distance between Hongdae, Gangnam, and Namdaemun (the three main areas of Seoul).
3. Convenience -- under the hotel is a supermarket, several food shops (including Paris Baguette, for all your western-style bakery delights), and TWO subway lines. The hotel is also the first stop when you take the airport limosine bus (and the stop is right outside)
4. 3 Computers with free internet in the lobby

Also, don't be concerned about the location like I was -- taxis in Seoul are VERY cheap, and are abundant. Even a 20 minute ride only costs $8 or so, and this location is the geographical center, closer to *everything* than if you took a hotel in Gangnam or Namdaemun.

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    297
    36
    4
    2
See reviews for
103
120
70
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Having stayed at a few other places in Seoul, I will certainly stay here for all my next visits to Seoul. The location is great, and when the AREX line has the new stop at the hotel completed, direct travel from the airport will be available. Now it involves going via one of the university station which is fine... one train transfer only. This hotel is so well linked with the subway, it makes travel around Seoul so, so easy. The supermarket is great and very convenient. I loved the bathrooms.. awesome. And the bed was super comfy and the pillows were super soft and basically.. I can't wait to stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights in May. The location is excellent as there is a subway station in the basement and is serviced by the airport limo and KAL limo buses. However many taxi drivers do not seem to know where this hotel is as there are a few Lotte hotels in Seoul and this is probably the newest one.

I did not explore the vicinity but there are some nice restaurants and a Lotte supermarket in the basement.

The subway is an interchange between 2 lines and will get u anywhere in Seoul.

Overall very pleased as I got a very good deal through hotels.com

Negative: free wifi in lobby but not in rooms. Service staff is not pro active but it's not a big deal since I did not have any issues.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I am currently booked into your hotel for the second time for a period of 20 days and I am unable to find out how to get my shoes cleaned... I have contacted the hotel desk twice about this, the first time I was told that I would have to clean them myself and that there was a shoe claning kit in my room (unfortunately that wasn't true) and the second time I was told that there was a shop outside the hotel that would do this and when I went to look for this I could not find it - the doorman directed me to walk two blocks down the street...

This is poor service.

I would appreciate it if you would resolve this as a matter of urgency. Quite honestly, I can't believe that a hotel that focuses on business travellers does not have a shoe cleaning service!

One other issue - you also do not have an overnight pressing service. When a business person arrives in the evening after an 18 hour flight, they need to have their suit and shirt pressed for the next morning. Every single person in your hotel has this need. The best that you can offer is to do it yourself at at the laundry room!

This is poor service.

Your hotel caters for business people. Every one of them needs an overnight pressing service when they first get there. And they do NOT feel like doing it themselves after an 18 hour flight at 9pm in the evening (which is usually around 4am on their body clock!!!). Poor service!!!

Not to mention your error message when you try to use you web site to "Fill in inquiry" (contacting your front desk is a waste of time...) - it says "It is not a correct. Please check again" without giving any explanation as to WHY "it is not a correct"... It looks like the only way to send you this message is via Trip Advisor...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Beautiful room with very nice bathroom. Delicious breakfast buffet. Very clean and convenient to subway lines. We could get anywhere very easily. Quiet and safe. Easy to use large safe in room. Had one 110v plug by desk in room and front desk had converts to use for free. Did not have wifi in rooms which would be nice. Usually only one pc worked out of three in the business area.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Our room was comfortable, not large but well equipped including safe, great walk-in shower, comfortable bed, tea/coffee-making facilities, super loo.
Free internet access on three PCs, friendly, efficient reception staff.
Great dinner buffet including steak, sushi, tempura, huge range of hot & cold dishes, nice draught beer. Not cheap by Seoul standards (49,000 won at the weekend) but so convenient and busy with local families at the weekend (a good sign).
Nothing very exciting around the hotel, but subway station underneath so access to the rest of Seoul is easy. Also small shopping centre underneath including supermarket and a range of restaurants. We bought fruit and yoghurt and had breakfast in our room - hotel breakfast was a bit pricy for us on room-only rate. Overall very good - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayapura, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

A very nice hotel, although there isn't a huge amount of things to see and do in Mapo the subway station is practically beneath the hotel making it super easy to go anywhere in Seoul.

The arcade below has a good selection of places to eat and a supermarket. Didn't try the Hotel restaurant but the menu looked good. Biggest downside would be that there was no room service and the breakfast closed a bit too early. That aside I had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotte City Hotel Mapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte City Hotel Mapo

Address: 109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-Gu, Seoul, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 388 hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotte City Hotel Mapo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Lotte City Hotel Mapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte City Hotel Mapo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.