We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location + Delightful for Long-Term Stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeoksam Artnouveau City I

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yeoksam Artnouveau City I to your Saves list
Yeoksam Artnouveau City I
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701-1 Yeoksam-Dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-080, South Korea (Samseongdong / COEX)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 409 Hotels in Seoul
san diego, ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location + Delightful for Long-Term Stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I just got back from two weeks in Seoul, Korea. It was my first time staying in a residence "hotel" so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was very delightfully surprised by my stay here.

Location: 10 min walk up a hill to Yeoksam (exit 5) station, 20 min walk uphill and then downhill to Gangnam station + Gangnam area in general. My favorite station was Seolleung (exit 5) though, it was about a 10 min walk downhill with access to both the yellow and green line.

There are plenty of coffee shops around the hotel: Starbucks, Angel-In-Us, Coffee Bean, Dunkin' Donuts, Cafe Jess. Actually if you go anywhere in Seoul and there's not a coffee shop every other block, you're probably not in Seoul anymore. There's also a 24hr Lotteria + McDonalds. Little food stands just around the hotel that close around 12 am, and plenty of other restaurants. There's also a small grocery store in the building next over.

The Renaissance hotel across the street has breakfast and is also the stop for the KAL limousine that takes you straight to Incheon. I believe the buses run every half hour. The day my friend took the bus, the bus was about 20 mins late. I'm not sure how often that happens but just keep it in mind. Also, the bus does not pull up "inside" the actual hotel, there's a bus bench outside and the bus pulls up along the street.

Room: The room was very clean + spacious. We got the smallest room with queen bed and it was perfect for 2 people. I saw the room with 2 double beds and it looked a little cramped. The sheets were clean but a little thin. The bed is firm. Our room had the bed area along with a sitting room that had a couch and table. There's also a small loft that's great for storing luggage. There's plenty of drawers and storage areas. There's also a small kitchenette where the washer/dryer is located. The kitchenette contained an electric stove, rice maker, electric tea kettle, utensils, cups, pots, plates, bowls, etc. They also provide dish detergent and sponge. I do think you have to bring your own laundry detergent though. Also, the washer is pretty loud and it takes a while to actually dry the clothes but it gets the job done. There's also a refrigerator across from the kitchenette, but it's made to look like a closet so just open every door until you find it. They provide 2 bottles of water everyday. There is room cleaning everyday around 10am, but you can request a specific time for the come back.

Bathroom: Kind of cramped. The bathroom is clean though, no sign of grout or mold. The towels are also kind of thin. They provide shampoo and body wash. They thing I loved the most though was the strong water pressure.

Hotel: They were remodeling when I was there in beginning of June, so the fitness and business center was closed. The staff is friendly and mostly all speak English. They also just opened a dance club underground. When I was there it was the grand opening so although the lobby was loud and full of people, our floor was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    50
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
18
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A great spacious double room, living room, bedroom, bar, kitchen appliances. A fabulous buffet breakfast included. Due to time difference (16 hours ahead of my Colorado Springs), breakfast became the mail meal of the day. A short walk to subway, restaurants, Samsung Headquarters (if that matters to you). A beautiful decor, a la later 1800s Europe. Internet, command-control of all numerous lighting fixtures. Very happy with this accommodation.

Room Tip: Choose top floor, mini-suite, with breakfast included. You may wish to use Expedia to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Who'd expect a serviced apartment in Gangnam would be so decked out for the price? Not exactly budget level but US$190/night is pretty decent for what you get. Very "artnouveau" decor if you like that sort of stuff, almost bordering on gordy for the minimalist - need to check out their website for yourself. It's almost brand new in October 2012. It is clearly well-maintained and spotless.
Only gripe is wi-fi in the rooms is hard-wired only and costs a bit. However there is free wifi in the lobby but guess what? Everybody's got the same idea so it's generally slow. Nevertheless useable if you sneak down very early in the morning. There are 2 elevators which can take a while in peak times unless you want to walk. There are 25 floors!
Location is great especially for cheap eats around the corner. These range from BBQ to live seafood and other Korean staples. There is also a full-size supermarket just in the next block on Eonju-ro. It's in the basement. The local convenience stores like GS25 are good for buying and charging up Metro cards. Location to subway access is not too far unless it's pouring. Seolleung station is downhill and Yeoksam station is uphill over a small rise, roughly 500m in either direction (east or west accordingly).
The KAL limo bus for Incheon Airport stops literally just across the road at the Rennaisance Hotel. That's 15 buck one-way.
Just a reminder, it IS a serviced apartment so no room service or porters. And yes, the staff speak reasonable English.
Highly recommended and affordable.

Room Tip: Face the Rennaisance Hotel, corner room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at Artnouveau City for 8 out of 14 days for business and vacation in August 2012.
This is a great location. The backside to the hotel has a wide range of really affordable eating and drinking locations. It is 5 minutes from COEX shopping center and has easy walking access to the subway. While a great location, there is little room for personal vehicles to pull up and stop for a few minutes. It is easy to flag a taxi to stop and pick up. Accommodations are built as a residence not a hotel. The key must be placed in the cardholder to activate lights, A/C, etc. AC is found behind the light which was confusing as two remotes are supplied. The bathroom is quite small and the shower is not easily accessible as the door opens inward and size of shower itself is small. While I consider myself a regular size person, I still found it was not convenient to go into and come out of. The bath tub is quite old and I did not feel comfortable taking a bath in it. While appears clean and tidy there were roaches. Staff will come up to kill or spray the room if requested. Staff speak English well and appear to listen well but may not interpret what you are saying well. Overall, you must remember this is not a hotel rather a residential accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking or non-smelling room. Ask for two room keys so you can keep one card key in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed for 25 nites, close to the office that I had a businesses. I stayed on 5th floor. The room is clean,equiped wtih kitchen stuffs. I have a suggestion regarding sizing of shower box. To have more space in it, I think soap and shampoo table shall change to wall mounted type of dispancer. Breakfast was good and has a laundry service too....with reasonable price. Close to subway train station and airport bus stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 11 nights last month.
Chose to stay here due to the length of my stay in Seoul this time.

I stayed on the 7th floor, smoking room, 1 bedroom suite.
The Location was good in Yeoksam, Gangnam which was close to most of my friends living in Seoul and very close to the Gangnam popular areas like COEX, Gangnam station, etc.

My suite had a loft and it was really great! Had a fully equipped kitchen, utensils, dining, etc.
The Toilet and shower room was a little tight but nicely designed still (had a seat bidet so i like it)

Had a 2 seater couch in the living room and coffee table facing the 40 inch LCD tv and had mirrored walls so that was nice.

The bed was comfortable but they only provided 2 pillows. That's fine but 4 would be better.
Room was cleaned everyday and the housekeeper was really polite and nice.
Room SCORE- 4.5

The Staff were very friendly and spoke native level english so I was very much pleased whenever I spoke to them.
Staff score- 5

Overall experience - 4.5

Would I stay here again? You bet.

Room Tip: Get the corner Suites, more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights for business in May 2012. The price is affordable and the location is good. The rooms are clean and look very nice but...it's not all that comfortable. The sofa was not very comfy but the bed was great. The bathroom was small and the shower had a door that opened inward so that if you are to large you will have much difficulty closing it once you are in the shower. The lights were very hard to fiqure out (leave your room keycard in the slot above the switch). A/C was also confusing. But I have to confess it is explained if you pull out the guest binder. Point the remote at the A/C unit on the ceiling to work it. It has a small kitchenette and plenty of storage. Breakfast was great. Long wait at the elevators in the morning. The staff were nice although not very friendly, kinda formal. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yeoksam Artnouveau City I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeoksam Artnouveau City I

Address: 701-1 Yeoksam-Dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-080, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yeoksam Artnouveau City I 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Yeoksam Artnouveau City I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artnouveau City Hotel Seoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeoksam Artnouveau City I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.