We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pro Ganjang Gejang Sinsa

Pro Ganjang Gejang Sinsa
27-1 Jamwon-dong, Seocho-gu, Seoul, South Korea
02-543-4126
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 12,951 Restaurants in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 107 Reviews
Price range: $26 - $77
Cuisines: Korean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I love Ganjang Gejang (Soy Crab) and I have eaten in many places in Seoul and United States.
This place is the best of the best I have ever been for Ganjang Gejang by far.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was brilliant and tasted authentic. Walking past the live crab tanks in the front yard, we knew we were going to get fresh crabs and that's really important when the crab is being served raw. We opted to share 2 crabs - one in the soy sauce and one in the spicy sauce. We were eating with such joy that they actually gave us some extra crab for free! we ordered white rice to eat with the juices but also couldn't resist getting a crab rice which was delicious as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Crab sashimi at Korea's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Have you ever had Korean soy crab sashimi? If not and you are willing and like trying new food I recommend this restaurant. Koreans and Japanese alike find that this is the best restaurant for Ganjang (soy sauce) Gejang (crab sashimi). Japanese love this restaurant so much that Pro Ganjang Gejang has opened up a chain store in Japan.

There is a trick to eating this delicacy, I would order the biggest size you can afford and one order. This dish is called the rice thief because each bite is salty, but balanced perfectly when added to a spoon of rice. The top shell will be given to you have to take a chopstick to get all the bits out of the corners of the shell where it is pointed. All this orange and yellow bits on the top shell pool in the middle of your natural plate and you spoon in as much rice as you want and eat out of the shell. This is supposed to be the delicacy part of the menu. If you don't want to do the work they have a crab rice that you can order as well.

After that attack the crab from hind quarters first since it has the most meat and break the crab into sections. Suck the meat out of the crab and eat with rice. Goes great with a beer.

This is Korean food done in Korea at it's best. Don't get confused with Pro-Kalbi restaurant, since the restaurant is so famous there are a number of signs with Pro in near by restaurants. You will know when you see the crab tank in the store front window and if you come from the main street it will be at the left corner after you enter the small side street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Pretty good but take care when ordering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal for our final night in Seoul and selected this place given its reputation.

Was a little hard to find as the name seems to be different from the name on this review.

We arrived and were directed to the third floor.

We ordered crab and were a little taken aback that it was raw. The restaurant was very understanding and changed it to a steamed crab. It was very tasty but nothing special.

We also had the spicy crabbie rice. This was delicious but be warned that the egg on top is raw. (It was delicious by the way and I had no ill effects).

The side dishes were delicious and plentiful.

Some of the things other people were eating looked amazing. Particularly a spicy crab soup that was kept warm on a burner at the table.

Would visit again but probably seek some local advice on the menu. Could be consideriled quite adventurous food for a Western traveller.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you are soy sauce lover like me and happen to enjoy crab meat, this exquisite Korean cuisine ("ganjang gejang") is definitely worth a try. Chunks of small crabs have been fermented in soy sauce and the resulting meat is fresh and succulent. Now this is something you can try only in Korea, nowhere else, including Southeast Asia.

PROS

1. TASTE, TASTE, TASTE

Quite an experience for a foreigner. A taste that you will remember for a very long time.

2. SIDE DISHES

Korean restaurants offer something called 'side dishes' - complimentary small dishes of condiments such as Kimchi and salad. Japanese have these as well, but not as many in number or quantities. The overall quality of this shop's side dishes is quite exceptional. If you run out of them, you can always ask for more.

CONS

1. ATMOSPHERE

This is not the type of restaurant you go dressed up, but still the overall interior leaves much to be desired. Very very humble place. You would not want to visit here on your first date.

2. PRICE

The price is certainly not cheap - $50 for a crab dish. It is one-of-a-kind experience though.

CONCLUSION

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to taste a very unique Korean crab dish. Although not for everyday experience, it is certainly worth a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pro Ganjang Gejang Sinsa also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Pro Ganjang Gejang Sinsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pro Ganjang Gejang Sinsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.