We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urgh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tbilisi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Charm
Save
You added Hotel Charm to your Saves list
11 Chakhrukhadze Street, Tbilisi, Georgia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Tbilisi
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Urgh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We extended our Tbilisi stay by one day and wound up here when our much nicer hotel was full.

Our room was on the ground floor, and the person on the front desk talked loudly on her phone all night (which was not even on vibrate!)...she woke us up probably three times. The construction was also very, very loud, though it ended at night.

The best part of the hotel was the doorknobs (actually charming!) and the shower that looked like a space ship - except that it didn't dispense hot water for about half of the time. Wifi signal was good. Breakfast was okay, but served in a kind of a dungeon.

We paid about $65 US for a very large room and breakfast, and it still felt like a bit of a rip off.

Everyone we met who worked there was very nice...but man this place needs some work.

Room Tip: Don't sleep on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
5
28
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

For $40 a night, I got a dirty room and a bath that I shared with the other guests and the owners. I was covered with bites in the morning. I hope they were mosquitoes. The pillows and bedding were definitely held over from Soviet times. I could tell by the design and how worn they were. I can't imagine how many dust mites are in a pillow from before 1991. The owners had the room next door and blasted the same song over and over for many hours throughout the night. Then the guests roared in and had their own noisy party. The worst was when I went to pay. The sweet housekeeper was the only one awake at 9:30 AM. I had asked about paying in dollars and they had agreed. But the housekeeper did not have change in dollars. She went to wake up the "manager" and he just gave her Lari. And not the right amount,either. I said I did not want Lari as I was leaving. "That was all she had", she said. Then she needed change from me in Lari. The manager did not keep $20 in change in the hotel. The poor lady had to spend 15 minutes on the street looking for change for me. It took me 30 minutes to pay, and the whole time the manager was upstairs getting his beauty sleep instead of taking care of customers. If you stay at this place, you can expect very poor service, a dirty room and bath and a mediocre breakfast. I am sure there are many wonderful guesthouses with great hosts in Tbilisi. This is not one of them.

Room Tip: I had to share a room with owners on the top floor. I do not recommend this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went here as the place we wanted Skadavelli guesthouse was full and this place is close by. The cost was much higher 100GEL. The hotel was not clean and we woke up with many bed-bites all over our bodies. There was a party going on most of the night by hotel owners and what seemed to be friends of theirs and the noise was awful so we got very little rest/sleep which was bad as the next day we needed to be refreshed for an early start and long day travelling. The bathroom is dirty, dark dank and unappealing. The place is misleading to travellers as from the outside it looks great- bottom line is don't stay here

Room Tip: go to skadevelli instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Surprised this hotel is still open for business; disappointed that we mistakenly stayed here in June. The hotel is in the middle of a zone of construction involving 100% of the buildings on all sides; the hotel itself is under construction. The hotel interior has been badly neglected: dirt, pealing paint, mold, and outdated mattresses. The AC made noise, but only lowered the room temperature by one degree. We moved to a different hotel that met all of our needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Location isn't everything; Hotel Charm is in a part of Old Tbilisi that is undergoing extensive, and extremely-long term, renovations. The hotel is, as has been noted, in the middle of a construction site (which isn't as interesting as it might seem; in fact the steep trench you have to maneuver to reach the unmarked doors of the hotel effectively rules out the hotel for large numbers of people). The hotel, however, is well-located: you are walking distance from many of the more interesting sights in town. There are also good, many good, cafes and restaurants nearby. There are also many other hotels within walking distance of Old Tbilisi that aren't on dilipated streets and in a construction zone.
There are interesting pieces of furniture and curious art scattered in the hotel's public areas. The rooms thermselves are badly in need of updating: beaten up furniture, old sheets and blankets, and very worn towels do not add up to charming, rather, overall, the hotel has a depressing feel about it. I might also add it isn't cheap: the prices are not clearly determined, but a standard double seems, seems, to start at around 80 US (including taxes). For Tbilisi, this is a bit on the high side.
The breakfast is served downstairs. It isn't bad, simple but filling. Usually they'll offer eggs (scrambled if you'd like), various cheeses, meats, breads, jams, etc. Turkish coffee is well-done.
The staff is helpful, when asked, but they won't go out of their way to offer advice, etc.
I'd skip this hotel; Tbilisi has lots to offer at more reasonable prices and in equally good locations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We like the Charm and the ladies who run it (one speaks English but is not always around) but they really need to replace the mattresses in the rooms on the upper floor (and maybe the bedspread with what looks like a burn hole in it). It is a family run place, more a B&B than a hotel, well located in the old city--which is a huge draw. Please note that a taxi can only reach to within one block of the hotel, and that staff have to unlock the door for you to enter or exit. No water is offered in the room.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel is in the rabbit-warren maze of "neighborhood" streets in the Old Town area. The area is undergoing a lot of renovation, but still retains a centuries-old atmosphere. Despite the back-alley appearance, the area is very safe. The hotel is full of charm, as its name suggests. The largest room, once the living room, holds a white Steinway grand piano and a fireplace. It also has a space-age shower that would please any honeymooning couple! Our room on the second floor had a romantic decor, with "Romantic and Sensual" soap in the bathroom! Aside from the construction noise outside the window, the hotel was quiet. Our hostess Nino speaks English well, and provided excellent service. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the piano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charm

Address: 11 Chakhrukhadze Street, Tbilisi, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is situated in the heart of Tbilisi’s old town. Its antique interior, warm and friendly atmosphere and unbeatable location makes guests return to us year after year. This family-run guesthouse offers a unique mixture of comfort and genuine Georgian culture. Breakfast you enjoy in a beautiful environment of ancient antiques and our second-floor terrace offers a splendid view of Tbilisi’s old parts. This hotel always makes the greatest effort to meet your individual needs, to create a memorable stay for you in Tbilisi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charm Hotel Tbilisi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.