We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel British House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel British House to your Saves list
Hotel British House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Tbilisi
washington, dc
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“friendly home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

i am a mature traveler with large experience, who is picky about hotels but not overly so, and who does a great deal of reserarch before traveling so is rarely disappointed in the hotel chosen.
/
i stayed at the british house a number of times on my most recent (and my first ever) trip to georgia. tbilisi is great, as is the hotel british house. the rooms are large and beautifully furnished as in a home. the place is comfortable and was quiet. the baths were clean and large, the delux ones have a tub.
/
the reception is english speaking and so very friendly and endlessly helpful - spending huge amounts of time on my many and interminable needs and situations. the breakfst is typically georgian and delicious. and served at ANY time - book night before. conversation in the comfortable little lobby area with the people on duty (24 hours a day) is a good way to meet and get to know georgians. the place is immaculate and it is a pretty good location at the western end of the center - but at the opposite end form old town. there is THE HILL. if you are young and strong, you can walk up this to the hotel, or there is the 78 bus from across from the philharmonic ant the bottom of the hill (to the second stop and then one block downhill to the hotel), or if you are taking a taxi home from a restaurant, of course it is not an issue. it is obvoius why this place gets such high marks - it seserves them. stay here.

Room Tip: any room is fine, expensive ones have tubs. the street isn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
40
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

During my four-night stay in the late October I felt as if I was living in a caring family's house. This small hotel is very clean, its atmosphere homey and the service warm but professional. The staff organized on my request a concert ticket, and a day trip to the Kazbeg region for which Levan was my excellent driver-guide. So, I am very thankful to Tamar, Irakli and Irakli, Levan, and to the lady who cooked me breakfast. You all greatly contributed to my first visit to Georgia being an extraordinary experience. So much so, that I am already thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent a lovely overnight in Tbilisi at the British House. The establishment is personal - with honest, considerate care for their guests. A good breakfast, clean environs, and extra help with our questions (and baby bottles!) we are planning on returning. It has personality and charm - and represents a good alternative to both "back packer guest houses" and "the marriott". Not cookie cutter, not a party-house - A unique, quiet, simple hotel with a breakfast that just keeps coming!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is near the central avenue Rustavelis in a neighborhood with the qualities of a genuine old oriental city. The service is quick, friendly and reliable, and the hotel itself charming and peaceful. The travel and trip service is excellent. I immediately found a driver-guide,Levan, who took me to the somewhat hidden historical places I came to Georgia to see, and only those I wanted to see. La rareté absolu. Thanks to British House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great hotel, wonderful staff.
Stayed there for 5 days. Loved the hotel and staff, great location. Would return again.
Thank you for the pleasant stay. Georgia is a special place, everyone should visit (:

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the staff who display a wonderful attitude to guests at all times.
The location means it is a bit of a hike from the bottom end of Rustavalli but the metro
is easy to use.
The hotel can arrange a variety of tours with English speaking drivers.
Rooms do vary a bit and the two at the very top could be a bit of a stretch for older folk or those with heavy bags,although the staff will always offer to help.
There are good nearby restaurants and food shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on vacation in late spring 2013 and overall I would reccomend this hotel. The rooms are big and well kept, the staff are pleasant and speak excellent English, and breakfast is plentiful.
Staff did make a mistake in the calculation of my final bill which wasn't handled well initially, but eventually was resolved and the manager was very apologetic about the error.
Overall, a good place to stay in a great city

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel British House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel British House

Address: 32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tbilisi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tbilisi
#4 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel British House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British House is a finely decorated four star hotel, located in the most elegant neighborhood Central Tbilisi, which is recognized as the most ecologically free area of the city, in close proximity to embassies, government offices, business and entertainment centers. The hotel is owned and operated by a citizen of Great Britain - Mr. John Etchells. It combines tasteful, cozy atmosphere and service of high European standards with original Georgian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel British House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel British House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.