We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat views, worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narikala Fortress

Narikala Fortress
Tbilisi, Georgia
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 35 Attractions in Tbilisi
Type: Ancient Ruins, Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Neat views, worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The best part was riding the atrial tram up to the fortress. Has beautiful views of the city and definitely worth the time, plus it's only 1 lari ride each way. ( you can use your metro card if you have one) the fortress is more of a site from below in the city, especially when it is lit up at night. Don't mind the tree that looks like trash, I believe it was a wishing tree :).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    67
    26
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Yes, a must visit, not a waste as other suggested”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

During last visit to tbilisi I missed this attraction but not this time, I totally disagree with other despondent visitors about being a boring, this is a historical site not to entertainment people, yes you can take cable car or you can climb a steep hill and enjoy view across whole city. Yes it has old ruins and a church but still a very accomplishing visit. Sulphur baths are worth the dip if possible, that's the reason King moved his entire reign here... I am no historical expert but if interested you can search the actual history of this site.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Boring don`t waste your time. View is nothing special, you have to buy a useless card to go up there, only thing I liked about the trip is the church.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of Tbilisi City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is the highlight of our trip in the city. We've spent a wonderful afternoon about 1 - 2 hours, from Metekhi Church where you'll also find the Monument to Gorgasali and walked down towards the area to take the cable car to take us up to Narikala Fortress, with a fee (included in our package tour). From there, it's a walk uphills to see the monument of the Mother of Georgia / Kartlis Deda, see the beautiful view of the entire city and as well as the Botanical Garden and surrounding mountains. It's quite a tricky walk on stoned paths and stairs, so make sure you have a comfortable footwear to explore the fortress. It's such a beauty being up there and I bet it's more at night, as we didn't stayed til sundown.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Floodlights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Its a beautiful castle only at night, when floodlights are on! Don't bother to go up as it is pretty cold in winter and nothing much to see! However, if you make the effort to go up, then take your camera with you as you can have good shots of the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narikala Fortress also viewed

 

Been to Narikala Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narikala Fortress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.