We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best impressions in Tbilisi.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waltzing Matilda City Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waltzing Matilda City Hostel to your Saves list
Waltzing Matilda City Hostel
11, Al. Chavchavadze str., Tbilisi 0108, Georgia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20$ single room
Ranked #6 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Tbilisi
Tomsk, Russia
1 review
“One of my best impressions in Tbilisi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Really homey accomodation.
The owner Tatiana is nice, intelligent woman, "person of culture".
Human factor is more important for me that "fitness-facilities".
I'm so happy to find this place. For sure, I'll come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Владелец at Waltzing Matilda City Hostel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you, dear friend. We are happy to read this. Come back, please - the spring comes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

-very nice home hotel just in the center of Tbilisi
-cute atmosphere and friendly mistress
-you can have your own lunch in the shared kitchen
-you can buy some vine right here
-nice city and landscape view from the roof

in other words it's excellent place to stay for lowest price. recommended for backpackers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Владелец at Waltzing Matilda City Hostel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks, dear friend. I want to tell that we constantly try to improve quality of our rooms. So your following arrival you will feel even better :)
welcome, Tatiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Big comfortable rooms, beautiful view, the terrace has nice landscape. The woman who is dealing with customers speaks english, very helpfull and very kind. And the location is really central,just 5 min walk to main street Rustavelli.

Room Tip: The biggest room has a balcony to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Владелец at Waltzing Matilda City Hostel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
My dear friend, thank you that you remember and love us. We remember you too . Come again. We will have interesting conversation again . Regards, Tatiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sochi, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Cheap accomodation, you are welcomed any time of day and night, free and fast internet. You can easily get there by metro, the hostel is situated in the centre. You can invite guests. The only minus I noticed (but maybe it is a plus for others!) - smoking is allowed at 2nd floor, in common room. In bedrooms - no smoking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Владелец at Waltzing Matilda City Hostel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Google Translation
Дорогая Ольга, спасибо за отзыв. И ты права, конечно - у нас не курят в спальных комнатах в знак заботы обо всех гостях - курильщиках и некурильщиках. Тем более, что на нашей огромной площади есть для этого много удобных мест. Ты помнишь - я и сама курю, но даже себе я не делаю поблажек. Приезжай, покурим, сидя на нашем антикварном диване :). Татьяна
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the Waltzing Matilda for 4 nights total, with a 3 day break in the middle.
The location is very convenient, it is a two minute walk to the main street Rustaveli, and is located on the slopes of the TV-Tower hill, so you get an amazing rare experience while sitting on the hostels b-i-g balcony which overlooks Tbilisi, and at night the experience is even more intense!

There are a few options for rooms, we stayed in the 12-bed mixed dorm room.
The hostel is very big, and there is a lot of space, besides the room, where you can hang out, plan your trip [computer with free internet+free WiFi], take a few moments for yourself for thoughts, and if you want to organize a gathering of friends from other hostels or just some locals people you have just met, there is enough places to sit and chill, without worrying the other visitors will be disturbed.

The owner Tatiana is very friendly and might provide a very interesting chat, and will surly share an interesting story with you!

The price is one of the cheapest Tbilisi, and we have checked the matter very thoroughly. You get everything you need - fully equipped kitchen, great staff, laundry, 2 bath, 3 toilets.

Highly recommended for people who are looking for a cheap, cool and comfortable roof over their head! Great for meeting and conversing with other travelers\locals and backpackers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Владелец at Waltzing Matilda City Hostel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you, Daniel.It was very pleasant to read such about ourself . Come back! Regards, Tatiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hostel needs renovation. The look is very simple and I think they don't take enough care of the house and the rooms, but otherwise the house is quite big, has many rooms and air. We stayed there 4 nights and were satisfied. We slept well, though the road constructions infront of the house started very early...
You can feel free there, noone's coming to monitore you. You can sit all night long on the big terace and watch the city, the hill or the TV-tower and you can buy 0,5 litre of fresh and good wine for 3,5 GEL (1,75 EUR).
Especially nice is the owner Alina! Very very wonderful and cheerful lady.
I think this hostel if very OK for it's price and if you're interested of sightseeing anyway and not sit at the hostel all day (which is actually also possible to do on the great terrace) I recommend it!

Room Tip: We liked private 4-person room in the back of the house - it's big, you can open windows and sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Владелец at Waltzing Matilda City Hostel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Google Translation
Милая Эста из Эстонии (помнишь, мы так тебя называли :) ), спасибо за отзыв и замечания. Хочу сказать, что после твоего отъезда и до настоящего времени мы понемногу реконструируем и совершенствуем наш хостел. Хочется верить, что когда ты приедешь к нам снова, ты будешь приятно удивлена. Целую. Привет молодежи :). Всегда ваша, Татьяна
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in June 2012 while on a leisure trip. Location is good and staff helpful but not much else to recommend. If you do not fancy very basic accommodation (in the real sense of the word) you should look elsewhere. The environment in this hostel is really ugly not to say dangerous to the health of its guests; it urgently needs a complete overhaul starting with the smelly, dilapidated areas grandly described as "bathrooms". The bath tiles oozed water from beneath when they were stepped on and the plumbing facilities are similar to the Victorian age. There is plaster falling from everywhere, dirty mirrors and a general smell of urine. As for the rooms, they are like army barracks with very bare furniture and a hard mattress.

In my case, I found that going to sleep was particularly difficult as the window had to be kept open (no aircon in a 35 C heat) and there was a ruckus in the street below every single night, making it extremely hard for me to get some rest. On the whole, I would say that this hostel is good for maybe one night (and only in desperation) but not much else.

I am really sorry to say this as the staff was really helpful but the structure is just hopeless.

The street itself is like a warzone (like much of Tbilisi), and it is on a very steep slope downward to the river so one wrong step and you could tumble down like a snow ball for about a 100 metres. Also, the tarmac is irregular and requires careful walking (especially at night) or a twisted ankle might be the likely result. So make sure that your hotel is on a level street (unless you're into abseiling or mountain-climbing)

On a general note, the general state of disrepair of buildings and streets in Tbilisi is simply a big. big nightmare. Refurbishment of many areas is gradually being carried out but in my view, it will certainly take some time to make the city offer proper accommodation to tourists. Strangely enough, despite the disastrous state of infrastructure in the city, prices for rooms in certain hotels in Tbilisi can be high and do not reflect the real sad situation. So proceed with caution and make sure to verify, to the best extent possible, the facilities offered by the hotel of your choice.

Final tip: strongly recommend that you choose accommodation very carefully in this city. It is worthwhile paying an extra penny to ensure decent accommodation in a good hotel rather than ending up in a filthy toad hole like this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waltzing Matilda City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltzing Matilda City Hostel

Address: 11, Al. Chavchavadze str., Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Наш хостел расположен в самом центре Тбилиси недалеко от Оперного театра. У нас очень уютно - так считают наши гости, которые чувствуют себя здесь, как дома. Мы занимаем площадь 507 квадратных метров. В нашем хостеле много свободного места для отдыха, в том числе открытая терраса с видом на город. Комнаты солнечные. Просторные. Стоимость одного места в общеи комнате - 17 лари. Мы можем также предложить вам изолированные комнаты (от1 до 10 человек). Это стоит немного дороже, но цена весьма умеренная. В праис включены бесплатные чаи. Кофе, сахар, вы можете пользоваться интернетом, стиральнои машинои и кухнеи. Есть место для бесплатнои парковки. Вы можете забронировать места, написав нам прямо на электронную почту. Мы ответим вам подтверждением бронирования и ответим на ваши вопросы. Если вы прилетаете днем, до нас вы можете добраться на автобусе No37. Остановка - Оперныи театр. Переидете через подземку и проидете наверх по улице Александра Чавчавадзе до дома No11. Белая подъездная дверь, синии козырек. Если вы прилетаете ночью, вам придется нанять такси. Мы за дополнительную плату можем прислать за вами машину. Приезжаите, мы всегда рады принять вас. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Waltzing Matilda City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waltzing Matilda City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.