We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE CHURCH!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tsminda Sameba Cathedral

Tsminda Sameba Cathedral
Elia Hill, Tbilisi, Georgia
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Attractions in Tbilisi
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
236 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
752 helpful votes 752 helpful votes
“THE CHURCH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As one looks at it, only one thing comes to mind - THE CHURCH! It looks majestic and one can feel the power standing next to it.

Very beautiful walls outside the cathedral, very beautiful doors carved with images of the saints.
Only in this church I felt myself like I was realy in a church.

The grounds are well kept and tidy. Everything is clean and beautiful. Neat lawns, grass, flowers. A lot of roses of different colors and varieties of species. I loved it. It is the only church that I was impressed. All the rest of the churches in the country despite their antiquity, looks abandoned.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    52
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A big church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If nothing else, the sheer size and scale of this cathedral (the 3rd largest in Europe, probably by volume) is impressive. The grounds are well kept, and if one is looking to sense the awesome and holy, you probably will. Lots of icons to look at, and the model of the Temple Mount in Jerusalem is kind of neat. I was eager to hear some of the famous a capella singing the Georgian Orthodox Church is so famous for. To my dismay, the singers were quite off pitch. Maybe the regulars had laryngitis.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savion
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Get there in weekend- Saterday or Sunday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

When finishing your tour in this relatively new impressive cathedral, walk down the stairs and when facing the gate, to your left, try to see if there are men with traditional clothing. Talk with them and learn about their organization and goals- these nice guys will allow you to take their photos willingly and these are nice ones.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An awesome church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wow, this is an impressive building. It isn't very easy to get to, as you mus drive through some neighborhoods. Once inside the front gates, the grounds are very well manicured, and the architecture is very well done. I only visited the inside of the main floor, but still was very impressed. It is a beautiful, modern structure that must be visited, if in Tbilisi.

While there, one person in my group sought out a bathroom. Apparently there aren't any within the main building itself. Somewhere outside the building was a small bathroom facility. We had to ask staff for help finding it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
“biggest modern Georgian church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

it is not old, but it is bright, Georgians are proud with it. it contains several floors, which are situated behind main hall. and several other little churches. to say shortly, it is complex.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsminda Sameba Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Tsminda Sameba Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsminda Sameba Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.