We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel to your Saves list
Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel
Tabukashvili 15/4, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Thanks for great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed there with friends during our trip to Georgia. What can I say? Perfect place to stay in Tbilisi if you want to find new friends and get valuable advices regarding Tbilisi and Georgia. Hostel itself has huge common area and what is most important - very helpful and easy going staff which always have dozens of propositions how to spend your time. Definitely will stay there next time.
P.S. Special thanks to Misha and Peter who have helped us to organize our trip to Shatili. Hope to see you next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    8
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
16
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My pregnant wife, my 1.5-yr old daughter and I spent there a couple of nights. The last night we slept in the common area as about 2 AM we were to leave for the airport. I slept on a couch and was woken up by a drunken hostel owner who jumped on me. She was surprised I was startled...

After a couple of minutes our daughter woke up. She started to cry in an uncontrollable way. As we tried to appease her, the same hostel owner approached us and tried to soothe her by showing small kitties. It did not work and we asked the hostess to leave us so that we could calm our daughter down without further distractions. She declined. Then, she moved into saying that she was sorry because our friends must hate us for having such a child and our lives must be terrible. Next, she suggested that we hit our baby so that she would stop crying. Finally, she said that was enough for her and told us to get out of her hostel. All her statements were made with vulgar language and obscenity. We left the hostel shortly after 1 AM.

As we waited for the cab, the hostess came down to us and said she wanted to apologize. We mentioned we appreciated that but, at the same time, cannot forget how she treated us and that this is not the way to treat customers. Her reaction was that she did not treat us like clients but friends (!).

I understand crying baby can be quite a nuisance. Still, then, either tell customers children are not allowed or, if you want to throw someone out, do it without using obscenity and vulgarities. If you are a backpacker traveling with children, I suggest you pick another place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Hostel is a very nice place to stay in Tbilisi and meet other travelers.
The staff is very helpful with great recommendations of places to go and free maps.
We had a great time staying there, the common room and terrace are both very good to hang out and talk.
Even if you arrive in the middle of the night, there is always somebody at reception and they will arrange you a cheap cab.
The place was very clean and the 15 bed dorm was very comfortable.

I only have good things to say for this hostel and its charming staff.

Thanks guys

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Situated in the heart of Tbilisi this hostel is perfect for travellers looking for basic comfort, a good company and information about the region. The owners are sweet people with a passion for the Caucasus and they know where to go and what to do so you wouldn't even need your guidebook. Not to mention Irakli - the hostel's driver and a great personality,Plus there is this handsome tree in the yard talking to you through the open windows all night...magical, i will definitely go back.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Sweet place, awesome staff, comfy beds, awesome location, good memories.
Helped with organizing trips, showed Tbilisi.

Free maps, nights out, breakfast included, FREE laundry!!!
THANKS guys !! See you !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What an obnoxious and unhelpful staff (save Cody the American guy).
Come on guys, if you don't like what you are doing it's never too late for a change!!
Most of my friends I was travelling with had the exact same feeling about the hostel: take off your shoes and don't you dare bother the staff!
Otherwise, the hostel itself is alright: I never had to line up to take a shower; you can wash your clothes for free; the place is spacious etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Upon arrival in Tbilisi, I got picked up by the hostel's driver Irakli, who is an excellent fellow and a good welcome. When entering the hostel, I first was surprised by the spacious layout of the place. The rooms are quite big so there's no cramming or stumbling. In the heat of the summer though, the one fan in the room didn't cool or comfort at all, but I guess that's something you have to deal with when traveling in Georgia. The big dorm (15+ people) was awesome, huge and cooler than the rooms, with windows all around.
What I liked most of all though was the homely atmosphere. The reception is a couch in the common room and it's the same place where everybody just hangs out and has fun, and staff joined in regularly. Especially as a solo traveler, I liked the ease to get to know other people. Staff is plain brilliant and are a laid-back but very helpful and approachable bunch of people. The hostel is within walking distance of anything you want to see in Tbilisi as well as fairly close to 2 metro stops. Recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel

Address: Tabukashvili 15/4, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place run by travelers for travelers, we create a great atmosphere and in a funky and vibrant place in the very city center. We fell in love with Georgia long ago and now, we want to share the best about this country and the region with others! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.