We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tibilisi hostel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tbilisi Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tbilisi Hostel to your Saves list
Tbilisi Hostel
Makhati Turn 22 | Avlabari, Tbilisi, Georgia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
“tibilisi hostel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

i have been traveling a lot and i have to say that this hostel is one of the unique ones . the hostel is very nice , good people come and go and the owners are friendly and aid a lot in evrything they can do. deffently recomended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
9
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spent 4days in this amazing hostel and hung around with the manager and receptionist for quite a while. "Unfortunately", I dont have better words to describe them than PURE AWESOMENESS :) Judge yourself whether thats something positive or negative :)

When you are into partying, meeting open minded backpackers who have stories to share and at the same time a little bit of a big family feeling in a hostel, than this is your TOP CHOICE i guess :)

Dorms are spacious, beds confi, toilets clean, the courtyard is painted in all different colors, travelers left their memories in pictures or phrases on the wall, its a very laid back atmosphere and if it gets too laid back for you, the staff will start serving you awesome home made chacha, show you the coolest bars and give you the best recommendations for food n stuff in the city! :)

The staff is just purely awesome, go visit them and enjoy your time!!! :)

Special thanks goes to Badri <3 :)

Room Tip: Walls are thin upstairs, if you are a light sleeper, take a room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Right from the start, this is an amazing place to stay while you're in Tbilisi.

It's only 2-3 minutes' walk from the Avlabari metro station and mashrutka stop, there's a nice market down the street where you can buy fruit and vegetables (AND HOME-MADE WINE!!!), and there are heaps of nearby shops, selling everything from booze and cigarettes to fresh meat and haircuts.

I always felt right at home here - Badri and Rauf go out of their way to make sure people have a great time, from introducing you to chacha (forget growing hair on your chest, this stuff will make you grow hair on your eyeballs!) and Georgian wine to translating Georgian or Russian, to taking you out on the town, to giving amazing travel advice, these guys will look after you.

I always managed to get a reasonable night's sleep here, while also managing to party the night away more than once.

;)

There's also a really diverse range of travelers who stayed here, and I made heaps of friends, both from Georgia, and from further away.

To put it simply, I'm definitely coming back to Tbilisi, and when I do, I'm definitely staying here again - meet me there for the chacha party!!!

Room Tip: Bigger dorms are more fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This what you search in a hostel, a great common space, good place to make some new friends (especially on Chacha nights)

The beds are good and the prices are low.

The staff will help you out to get the best Georgia experience!

Room Tip: The hammock in the garden is the best option :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for couple of days after finishing a rally called Caucasian challenge. It was a time I found myself to digest what went by with in a sort span of time. This place give me the perfect set up for me to unwind and prepare for my long journey back home to India. It's run by great people. Even though I did not do much in Kitchen, what seems to be it is a social kitchen. The Hostel keepers keeping them self busy maintaining the spot with cleaning and repairing works. We would surely meet lot of different types of people from different places in the world. Worth staying

Room Tip: I stayed in bunk beds and was quiet clean and good.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A unique place in the world of hostels! If you're in for simply a good time with friendly, openminded people. This is the place where you want to be. You won't be offered great luxury but as for a scenic view, cosy terrace and nice atmosphere. Always able to help you out with all your questions and if you don't know where to have a drink, they will take you to some nice place. A great way to discover Tbilisi, I can guarantee. No doubt, if you're in for a party, this is the place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

You'll not find another hostel like this in all of Georgia! Unlike the other hostels in Tbilisi, it's in a more residential area. This only adds to the experience. In the summer, grapevines create a canopy over the common area, and a spiral staircase leads up to a balcony with a beautiful view of the city. The owner- a very helpful man who speaks English well (in addition to a couple other languages)- loves to create a social environment in which people from all walks of life can laugh and learn. I have fond memories of sampling wine and Georgian chacha into the wee hours of the morning with more nationalities than I could possibly enumerate. All this being said, this is not the Radisson. However, I highly recommend that you make this a part of your Tbilisi experience. It's an unorthodox stay in a refreshing environment that you won't soon forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tbilisi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tbilisi Hostel

Address: Makhati Turn 22 | Avlabari, Tbilisi, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a very authentic and typical neighborhood for Tbilisi. Just in 100 steps from us there is a market where you can buy ecologically clean food straight from farmers… Enjoy the cozy atmosphere even while being so close to the centre, noise and pollution of the city will never bother you, so it is a great opportunity to relax and enjoy the view of the whole city from our terrace or chill out in our green and nice yard.We have a supermarket and bakeries open for 24/7 near the hostel were you can buy food and snacks at an affordable price cook in our common kitchen We can give you real travel suggestions, not the ones like in the tourist information and agencies.Be not a guest, but our flat mate. Feels good to have your own home on a long travel Tbilisi Hostel is located 485 steps away from Avlabari Metro station,what is 1 bus/metro stop from the Freedom square (main one). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Tbilisi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tbilisi Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.