We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had higher expectations, but overall good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vera Steakhouse

Vera Steakhouse
Vera Park, Tbilisi, Georgia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 237 restaurants in Tbilisi
Price range: $20 - $41
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chisinau
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Had higher expectations, but overall good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place had good meat dishes, but don't expect something more than basic. During summer there is a wonderful terrace and service is good, as a matter of fact everywhere in Georgia. Recommend it for summer dining, been there at least three times and I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    10
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OK place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I do not think that it is exactly steak house. Perhaps fired or grilled meat house, but not a steak house. Do not get me wrong - food is OK price range is OK, service very good. But that is it. If you do not expect much - you will be rewarded with pleasant positive surprise. If you expect steak - no. It is OK meat: not more, not less. Place will kill your hunger with good food and size of dish. Interior is nice. Service attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar, Montenegro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You really get what you paid for - as well as stuffed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Big portions, flavorful everything, best khachapuri we've had in Tbilisi. Friendly yet non-intrusive service, nice wood interior. The food tastes fresh and their prepared spinach side was a very pleasant surprise. Don't worry that it costs more than most other places around town, it's really worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russian Black Sea Coast, Russia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks for Georgia, a country better for wine than for steak or fresh seafood dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

VERA STEAK HOUSE

After spending several hours walking last Saturday with my best Georgian friend through the poorly financed Tbilisi Botanical Gardens, and not being let into the green house with flowering plants nor into the Kew Millennium Seed Bank nouveau architecture “herbarium” in the botanical garden, because they are both closed on Saturdays and Sundays [the herbarium is saving thousands of original flora seeds from Georgia like Noah’s Ark preparing for the Flood], we worked up quite an appetite in the botanical garden and headed directly like two wolverine carnivores for VERA STEAK HOUSE in Vere Park. It was my first visit there, ever, even after having lived in Tbilisi for many years.

Long ago during communism Vera Park was very popular and quite dynamic and the Chess Palace for chess champions was just one of many dynamic venues in the park. Now the building looks like a forgotten and abandoned three story communist swimming pool, but Vera Steak House is in the cornerstone corner of the old chess building and quite renovated inside.

Look for a modern Bavaria draft beer sign outside the door, to find the place. It is clean and unpretentious inside, but well managed, despite its foos ball table propped right in the middle of the main open space! I guess at night after many steaks and fresh foreign draft beers and sizzling fire cooked meat, some guys might play foos ball.

The waitress was very knowledgeable and fast in her service, very unusual for Georgia. She seemed a little bit Russian in serving style, but was a blond Georgian woman. The good management seems a bit Russian-Georgian too. I guess at one time many Russian dignitaries, expats, engineers, museum experts, etc, came here to eat with the steak loving population of Tbilisi, that is, with their many Georgian friends.

I ordered a Newcastle draft beer and it came almost immediately, and I did not have to wait for the steak to arrive before they served the beer, as waiters are trained to think is good service in other Tbilisi venues. It had a nice frothy head on it and was remarkably fresh beer and cold and clearly from very clean draft beer pipes [I learned to check out how clean the pipes are for von Fass beers while living in Germany].

My lunch partner ordered white wine by the glass and it was a 2009 Marani Tsinandali and she was pleased with it. You have to wait 20 to 25 minutes for the steak to be fire cooked in the large bartenders pit, on a long tray full of hot coals, so we had some time to drink and talk about our walk earlier through the Botanical Garden. My Castilian steak looked small when it arrived but it was of very good quality of meat and perfectly cooked, medium rare as I had asked [“medium” is enough to tell them].

I cut into it and it was truly the best steak I have eaten in Georgia. First of all, don’t jump to conclusions too quickly, for steak is usually not so good in Georgia, maybe only one or two butchers in the last few hundred years have been trained in different cow parts, and therefore most steaks here are just like road kill fried up for you, even in good restaurants. Most beef dishes in Georgia for a couple of thousand years have always been boiled beef plates, for disease control reasons I presume. So it has never mattered here much-- how you hack up a cow ---and how you boil it.

One of those rarely trained native butchers supplies Vera Steakhouse, and the house steak chef knows how a steak should be properly cooked, to preserve its juices and to give it a bit of fire scorched taste on the outside. My Castilian steak was 300 grams [11 ounces] and 27 GEL [$17] and small by USA servings comparisons, but the fries and spicy carrot salad was great accompaniment to the charbroiled steak pleasures.

My friend, she ordered the 350 gram 37 GEL filet steak and she smiled through the whole digestion of her piece of carnivorous delight.

After this we chatted and ordered one more beer and one more wine, and then looked at the menu again. We were divinely pleased but not yet full, so we splurged and ordered one Texas steak between us, the most expensive cut out of the three pieces we ordered, and while waiting another 20+ minutes as we heard the flames attacking the meat nearby, we conversed about her two talented daughters. The Texas steak was very rare “medium rare”, and my customary veggie oriented friend plunged into her fire branded slab of steak with relish, and ate maybe 65 percent of it to my slower 35 percent effort lagging behind her. She said “usually I don’t like meat so much, but here it is really good!” I agreed. This restaurant is not better than a good steak house in San Francisco or New York City or Philadelphia or Boston, but it is good, and that is incredibly rare here in Georgia, so worth paying over $40 each easily, to get full and have a few beers or wines. You can’t find this experience anywhere else in Tbilisi, except the Oval, on touristy Shardeni Street, and it costs TWICE as much there, with soccer and rugby games televised on dozens of flat screens all over the otherwise elegant and formal dining hall. At Oval the steaks are shipped in from Nebraska, much like a friend of mine orders via Fedex his raw steaks on dry ice from Nebraska, for his own home cooking in Washington DC. So this prime dry ice preserved steak method and related methods, even though it is exquisite, is not as attractive to me as some fresh meat from Georgia, from the local people who know how to find it, butcher it, and fire it up. I only compare the character of the meat at Oval to here because here is maybe the only place in Georgia [that I know of], that with reliability knows something about the steak business, using only domestic animals from Georgia.

A large contingent of U.S. GI soldiers came in, loudly anticipating good foamy draft beer and super steaks, because after a few months of their rotation here, they are starving for something they can relate to, more than yet another Caucasian mountain range dumpling that is nearly palm sized and full of soup broth that spills all over your shirt as you bite in, and in one flavor only, which is in addition the prominent national dish here, called hingali. [In all fairness however, i have an Irish friend here who loves hingali so much he only eats it and it alone when he spends restaurant money outside his home].

As we left the steak house and exited Vera Park, only minutes away by foot we saw an old Russian Orthodox Church and a nearby very aged Georgian Orthodox Church, which were a nice sight for our after-dinner conversation, the two churches have not yet been redeveloped into modern versions of the often replicated tourist prototype Church or historic building the old government had been implementing here without constraint for the last several years. It is quite nice to enjoy something in its original and unadulterated form, not a remake, nor a spotless sleek showpiece, so the churches went well with our meal that was likewise, old style and authentic, in the Vera Steakhouse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

i ordered chichen steak, and it was ok.
prices are a bit too high.

Overall a decent place if you like meat

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vera Steakhouse also viewed

 
Tbilisi, Georgia
Tbilisi, Georgia
 

Been to Vera Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vera Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.